We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious shortcoming”
Review of Betsy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Betsy's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Curious shortcoming”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This boutique hotel perched on a hill overlooking Tbilisi is clearly popular with expats, companies and NGOs. Some at least of the rooms have fine views over the city and are generally comfortable and well-equipped with one major exception cited below. There are free Internet and wifi, even a modest swimming pool. If a cutting from the New York Times in the lobby is to be believed prices have changed little in 14 years. It is a steep walk up from Rustaveli and given local driving practices a dangerous one, especially at night.
But like other commentators I wish I could like this place more. A hotel of this quality and price should offer individual toiletries, not combined soap and shampoo dispensers worthy of a fifth rate French motel chain. Breakfast, frankly, is on the mean side. Reception is not always especially friendly. Maybe $6 is a bit steep for a glass of wine in a country awash with the stuff.
A shame really

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    132
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
67
26
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jönköping
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed at Betsy hotel during business trip in late March. Overall impression is very good;

clean and spacious rooms. Mine had a small balcony with a panoramic view of the city. Cleaned every day. Clean and modern bathrooms, minisafe etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A nice swimmingpool in the area. It was unfortunately too cold for us to take a swim (march). Its a nice walk to city centre and old town. Takes roughly 20 minutes. Taxi to town is about 10 Lari which is very cheap. Minibar and a restaurant. Didnt try the evening meal but the breakfast was alright. You can order what you want. Free wifi (good connection). Cozy lounge area overlooking Tbilisi. A well catered bar. Airport transfer. Overall a good stay and Ill definitely stay at Betsys next time Im in Tbilisi.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lima83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

There aren't many decent options in Tbilisi and I really wanted to like this place. I've needed to travel to Tbilisi several times and have stayed in several hotels. The Courtyard is a nice, sterile, very Western oriented place, but costs twice as much as Betsy's so I thought I'd try here. I'd give this a lower rating, but honestly I don't have another better option.

Although I was pleased that I was given a lower rate than the rack and a room with a city view, other things made this a disappointing stay. There is construction going on next door and in the hotel all day. On a Sunday and when I asked about it, I was told they would stop. This just meant the jackhammers went one floor down rather than right next door.

As I was working in my room, a guest came right in using a key given to him by the front desk. As a solo woman traveler, naturally this is alarming. When I called the front about this problem they said "sorry." Thank you, but for a hotel that appears to be at perhaps 30% occupancy, the mistake is pretty bad.

Like I said, I wanted to like this place - cheaper than the Marriott Courtyard and more comfortable rooms than more moderate budget places like British House or VIP Hotel. I just can't say that I would stay here again, but unfortunately, don't know what's much better in this city.

I will note as others have that the hotel is a stiff 10-15 minute walk uphill from Rustaveli.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

i had a meeting at Betsy's in May-2010, and i felt in love with the hotel. when i saw the rooms from inside, they were not big difference from any 5 starts hotels plus an excellent view of Tbilisi from the top, 2 min walking distance to McDonald's (center).
i stayed for 3 nights at Betsy's.

they have a nice home made breakfast, milk, tea or coffee, home made cake, omelets all types, jam, bread all kinds and honey, as well as a collection of cornflakes/serials. which is more then enough.

Dinner is nice they have 3 plates you can chose one, meat, chicken and vegetarian.
The staff is very nice, and they speak fluent Russian and English. they have souvenir shop near the reception, from where you can buy a Tbilisi map.
easy way to tell taxis how to find the hotel tell them at the top of Makashvili street.
the price is excellent for what you get, of clean air, city view, excellent staff, hygiene and a place where you can meet friends at the bar. (Fridays they have a happy hour, free food, beer half the price)

Tbilisi tips on how to live:
1-Taxi service, you have to bargain. if they ask for 10Lari directly know it is a 4 or 5 Lari ride, and you will tell him 5 if he says 7, just turn your back and walk to another one.
6 Lari is the maximum amount you should pay from one end of Tbilisi to the other.

-Mcdonalds to Betsy's 3 Lari (steep uphill)
-Airport to Betsy's 25 Lari (from locals they take 15 Lari)
-Betsy's to Chardin (street with open air cafes) 4-5 Lari

2- Buses (yellow) #105 passes by Betsy's for only 0.4 Lari, and you should have the exact amount in coins (0.2 + 0.2) or you will not be admitted into the bus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ESaliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2010

It was a nice room but the check in people were mean and lazy! the whole hotel is somking so you can smell it if you have the room smoking next to you. It was nice that you got a free breakfest and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveUSA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed in Betsy's Hotel for about 2 months while I conducted my business in Tbilisi and could not imagine a more comfortable place to lay my head outside of my own home. The staff was absolutely lovely and the general feeling of the hotel offers any guest the warmth of a home away from home.

The location is great, as it right up the hill from all business areas and places of interest, making my daily commute quite easy. The views from the Hotel are fantastic and give you a grand feeling of being on top of Tbilisi. The Friday happy hour offered a wonderful opportunity to network with the local and international community and is the perfect place to get real inside information on Tbilisi.

The food was really good and the Breakfast especially reminded me of being in charming bed and breakfast in Vermont.

The hotel's services and amenities provide any guest, whether in Tbilisi for business or pleasure, with everything you may need.

Everything from the blazing fireplace in the bar, to the BBQ friendly swimming pool out front make this lovely boutique hotel the ideal place to stay with passing through Tbilisi!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neoyorqunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I was at Betsys at a business trip to Tbilisi. The conference facilities of the hotel were very good. So where the rooms and the friendly service. The distance to the centre of town was ok, but quite steep downhill. Food is included in the prize, for breakfast ok, but the dinner was disappointing. With the excellent national cuisine of Georgia it is a pitty to have international food at the hotel. After trying it once, we decided to go to town for dinner. (you really dont want to miss Georgian food). The other minus was the smoke in the bar. The bar is really nice with chimney and a fantastic view of the city. But like too often in Georgia, there is too much smoke, so that i could not enjoy it too much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiemgauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
1.4 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#15 of 124 in Tbilisi
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel British House
Hotel British House
#3 of 124 in Tbilisi
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 124 in Tbilisi
443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#4 of 124 in Tbilisi
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 124 in Tbilisi
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Hotel

Property: Betsy's Hotel
Address: 32 - 34 Makashvili Street, Tbilisi, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betsy's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betsy’s Hotel has a prime location just a few steps-literally-from Rustaveli Avenue known as the center of Tbilisi nightlife, culture and commerce.Centrally located on the lower slopes of Tbilisi’s landmark Mtatsminda Mountain, Betsy’s stunning views over the whole city gives you a great sense of orientation for Tbilisi’s layout as you plan your movements about Tbilisi, the capital.Even if you are just reading a book or enjoying coffee on the balcony, our unique vantage point guarantees your full enjoyment of the true colors of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Betsy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsys Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing