We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''a small hotel with a lovely decorated breakfast room''”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“''a small hotel with a lovely decorated breakfast room''”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We felt incredible atmosphere of a real Georgian hospitality once we were in the hotel. We've never seen such amazing, extremely helpful, welcoming, acommodating staff anywhere in Tbilisi. its like staying at your best friends house. The rooms are clean and equiped with everything you might need. varied and deliocious breakfast in a very nicely decorated breakfast room is available at any convinient time. there is a small patio full of plants and beautiful flowers. The hotel is centrally located near the Rustaveli street. We will certainly be back if in the area again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLuke77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    62
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
103
69
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at British house for 4 nights while visiting our son and his girlfriend who happen to live just a block away. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. The room we had, looked as though it had been recently revamped and was tastefully and thoughtfully done. The breakfast served in the dining room was excellent each morning. The location is central and only a few minutes bus ride to downtown area and most places are within walkable distance. By far, the best part of this place is the staff and it's very warm and inviting ambiance. We would certainly recommend British house for anyone wanting accommodation which is both reasonable priced and has charm and character.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland,TX Sunny Brook lane 77584
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have traveled to Georgia a few times, and this hotel was the best by all means. Staff is very professional and friendly. They provide all the services you need. Rooms are clean, and the breakfast is delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to other tourists.

-Zura Snovely

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a great deal of air flow and are very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

FIrst visit to Tbilisi & would not consider staying anywhere else if i return! British House has the combination of gorgeous rooms a good location ,and an incredibly clean and relaxing environment.The staff are extremely friendly and help you with everything you need to know about local dining and sightseeing gems.Staying at British House is like staying with friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I just stayed at the British House hotel with my husband. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Often the hotel rooms don’t look like their pictures but in this case, the hotel really was as beautiful as we saw it online. The price was reasonable. We are more than pleased with our stay. The receptionists and all the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast selection was good. The hotel always had a calm, family atmosphere, which was very relaxing. All in all, this hotel was excellent and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UsaMr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013


As a seasoned traveler I stayed at the British House hotel for one week in March. I enjoy the personal touch and less corporate feel that one can find at smaller owner run properties.
British House did not disappoint in any way.
Our suitcases were carried and put in our room for us while we receiving our key. The quality of the beds, pillows and linens was excellent. Our room was tidied up as well as cleaned each day and the bathroom was immaculate.
A word about breakfast, the food was superb. Foodie heaven with a traditional Georgian breakfast theme. I wouldn’t go into detail just make sure you wake up hungry!
Lastly, I'd like to say a great big thank you to our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we received 5 star service from the moment we arrived until our departure. We did not have to ask - as our needs were anticipated and the service far exceeded most luxury hotels.
If you like the idea of staying at a generous "friend's house" then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giantme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabriz, Iran
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

While checking ranking of Tbilisi hotels at Tripadvisor i found this property at the first even strangely ranked above Marriots and Radisson Hotels, so i booked it.
However i can say that is just a Hostel with small room, old and not much clean bathroom.
There is no place to be called restaurant. However breakfast was being served in a room.
Cost was very competitive according to other downtown hotels in Tbilisi however i am hesitating to name this place as Hotel and can think about less than 2 stars.
There is only 10 minutes walking distance to Rustaveli avenue however if you try to navigate there by car it is difficult.
There are many resturants close to this place such as Mc donald.
I wont repeat my stay at this place if i plan again to visit Tbilisi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShotaMargishvili, General Manager at Hotel British House, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts about your stay at
our hotel.We always pay careful attention to the reviews our guests provide so we can work to improve the experience of our future guests.Since the time of your stay, we have renovated the room in which you stayed and we upgraded the bathroom as well.
We are a boutique hotel, and as is typical of most other boutique hotels, we do not have a restaurant but we do have a breakfast room, where we strive to serve Georgian style food in a friendly environment for all our guests.
Thank you again for your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Shota Margishvili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 124 in Tbilisi
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 124 in Tbilisi
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#14 of 124 in Tbilisi
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#3 of 124 in Tbilisi
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#15 of 124 in Tbilisi
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Property: Hotel British House
Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing