We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Hotel British House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have traveled to Georgia a few times, and this hotel was the best by all means. Staff is very professional and friendly. They provide all the services you need. Rooms are clean, and the breakfast is delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to other tourists.

-Zura Snovely

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a great deal of air flow and are very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 364 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

FIrst visit to Tbilisi & would not consider staying anywhere else if i return! British House has the combination of gorgeous rooms a good location ,and an incredibly clean and relaxing environment.The staff are extremely friendly and help you with everything you need to know about local dining and sightseeing gems.Staying at British House is like staying with friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I just stayed at the British House hotel with my husband. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Often the hotel rooms don’t look like their pictures but in this case, the hotel really was as beautiful as we saw it online. The price was reasonable. We are more than pleased with our stay. The receptionists and all the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast selection was good. The hotel always had a calm, family atmosphere, which was very relaxing. All in all, this hotel was excellent and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UsaMr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013


As a seasoned traveler I stayed at the British House hotel for one week in March. I enjoy the personal touch and less corporate feel that one can find at smaller owner run properties.
British House did not disappoint in any way.
Our suitcases were carried and put in our room for us while we receiving our key. The quality of the beds, pillows and linens was excellent. Our room was tidied up as well as cleaned each day and the bathroom was immaculate.
A word about breakfast, the food was superb. Foodie heaven with a traditional Georgian breakfast theme. I wouldn’t go into detail just make sure you wake up hungry!
Lastly, I'd like to say a great big thank you to our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we received 5 star service from the moment we arrived until our departure. We did not have to ask - as our needs were anticipated and the service far exceeded most luxury hotels.
If you like the idea of staying at a generous "friend's house" then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giantme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

While checking ranking of Tbilisi hotels at Tripadvisor i found this property at the first even strangely ranked above Marriots and Radisson Hotels, so i booked it.
However i can say that is just a Hostel with small room, old and not much clean bathroom.
There is no place to be called restaurant. However breakfast was being served in a room.
Cost was very competitive according to other downtown hotels in Tbilisi however i am hesitating to name this place as Hotel and can think about less than 2 stars.
There is only 10 minutes walking distance to Rustaveli avenue however if you try to navigate there by car it is difficult.
There are many resturants close to this place such as Mc donald.
I wont repeat my stay at this place if i plan again to visit Tbilisi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShotaMargishvili, General Manager at Hotel British House, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2015

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts about your stay at
our hotel.We always pay careful attention to the reviews our guests provide so we can work to improve the experience of our future guests.Since the time of your stay, we have renovated the room in which you stayed and we upgraded the bathroom as well.
We are a boutique hotel, and as is typical of most other boutique hotels, we do not have a restaurant but we do have a breakfast room, where we strive to serve Georgian style food in a friendly environment for all our guests.
Thank you again for your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Shota Margishvili
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Georgia is all about the people. Yes it is beautiful, yes the food is great but its the people who make it a place you just have to visit. And I can assure you that in the British House you'll meet the best of the famous Georgian hospitality. the hotel is a bit off of the beaten path but starting from the moment of booking you will be threaten perfectly. As soon as i booked i received a personalised email asking if i need help with transportation. THe arrival might be a bit shocking. of course its not the Marriott with all its flash. you feel like you are arriving at your friend's house. you will be shown to a decent looking room with old but stylish furniture. But soon you'll realize you are in the best place possible. the family who owns british house is amazing. they will help you with everything, set everything up, make sure you always have everything you need from taxi to a breakfast at 3 pm. the rooms will be clean and the stuff will be just amazingly nice to you. without any doubts i would choose this hotel again over any big-time holtels i know. it just feels like staying with your friends or family. I absolutely loved all the little signs of appreciation from the hosts. I wish all hotels would threat their customers like this. definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff at Hotel British House was very friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful in arranging an airport transfer for a very early flight, as well as preparing breakfast before the flight. A nice, clean, and comfortable feel to the rooms. It was very easy to use the near-by metro and explore Tbilisi from the hotel. Good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 136 in Tbilisi
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 136 in Tbilisi
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#5 of 136 in Tbilisi
647 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cron Palace Hotel
Cron Palace Hotel
#10 of 136 in Tbilisi
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boombully
Hotel Boombully
#14 of 136 in Tbilisi
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: $73 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing