We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A little out of the way, but very clean and friendly. Don't expect the Ritz. Hotel is located up a large hill with rickety buildings and streets nearby. Not very comforting for single female guests as it's dark and dingy nearby. Very much a time warp circa 1970. Breakfast is real basic and shower in room is again terribly basic.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shota1, General Manager at Hotel British House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Hotel British House.
First of all, we are very grateful and thankful for your stay .We will always be happy to welcome you in our city and our country.
We would like to inform you that during your stay there was construction for paving the road and for that reason, the street lightning of some road sections was off, but at the moment all the repair works have been completed and the street lights have been restored.
We would also like to inform you that our city is one of the safest in the world and especially our district, which is full of embassies and various international organizations.
We are also very grateful that after the mentioned review you found time to write one more feedback about our hotel, which is more positive.

Best regards,
General Manager of hotel British House
Shota Margishvili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Hotel British House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 353 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Mid-range, small hotel. Feels a little like a bed and breakfast. Staff were very service orientated but English was not always excellent- at times it was difficult to communicate. Room was very beautiful with a lot of attention to detail, many ornaments and shandeliers. Room was very large and had 6 windows and a small balcony. The view is pleasant and is of the street corner. The building is very old so the style reflects this. In an effort to retain this style, the bathroom is quite old too and so not the best if you want a good comfortable shower. Breakfast was in a very English style, with fine china and tea but Georgian food. The variety was fine but there was a lack of condiments- some jam or honey would be nice with the bread and some sour cream or preserves would go well will the crepes. Close to Rustaveli metro, cafes etc. Staff made a special effort to fast track the laundry service as I was only there one night and leaving early in the morning.

Room Tip: This hotel is probably better value for 2 people as the rooms are very big with several rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The staff did everything in their power to make my stay comfortable despite problems with the city water system. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was great. Centrally located to Chavchavadze Ave (turn up the hill just after the central concert hall with Tbilisi State U at your back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

There is a Chinese saying with the literal meaning, "To send coal in the midst of heavy snow." It is used in the context of someone lending a helping hand when one is in trouble.

I am eternally grateful to the hotel staffs who did exactly just that! It was a cold and frigid winter in Feb 2012. There was a last minute disruption to our itinerary and we had no place to stay. I emailed the hotel staff and she gave me a prompt reply and even offered a room upgrade with no extra charge because the room I wanted had already been taken up. I was offered a business suite for that matter.

The hotel staffs, from the janitor to the hotel manager, are extremely helpful and friendly! I can see they work to the best interest of their guests and make everyone's stay enjoyable and forgettable. I must say that one must drop by to stay at this hotel if they are in Georgia. Any trip without a stay in this hotel is a trip that is incomplete. Those rooms exude the Victorian era charm, while being equipped with all the high tech stuff (A flat screen LCD and Free Wifi). A good place to read an English classic, brew a pot of good coffee and relax in what seems like a mini-Georgian museum.

The biggest drawback is its location as you need to climb a super steep slope from Rustaveli Metro station. Take a taxi from the airport as the yellow bus 37 stops along Rustaveli Avenue and you are going to have a hard time getting the luggages up the slope. (Advice for budget travelers)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

One of the most welcoming, warmest hotels we have visited, absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bettina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Small, cozy. Good location and amazing staff. They are ready to help you at anytime. They have a reputation about their hospitality and they try to improve that reputation. You can eat your breakfast whenever you want :) They provide airport pick up (very convenient for late night arrivals)

Room Tip: room no.5 is big and comfortable
Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank immencrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Traveled on business for one week and this hotel lived up to its reputation. Staff were always friendly and helpful. For the business traveler -- WIFI was fast and always on. Great location. Restaurants for dinner within short walking distance. Don't think they had an exercise room, but nice hiking/running paths up the mountain are close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 132 in Tbilisi
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 132 in Tbilisi
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#4 of 132 in Tbilisi
617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
#5 of 132 in Tbilisi
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#20 of 132 in Tbilisi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: $83 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing