We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Services!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days and were upgraded to a suite that was beautifully furnished in historic Georgian Traditions that was more like a home than hotel room. The breakfast is as large as you want, with adequate buffet, and a range of Georgian Cuisine on offer each day. The cosy reception is also very supportive in arranging taxis, & advice on local tourist sights & excursions. I should also add that the hotel is fully Wi-Fi equipped with no extra charges, unlike some larger well-known hotel chains! In fact the British House Hotel is more akin to a "boutique guest house" with exceptional personal & attentive service by the staff.

The hotel is in one of the older residential sectors of Tbilisi, but still close to Rustaveli Avenue, and many of the shops & tourist sights. In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the British House Hotel, and would happily stay there again, and to recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the upgrade to the hotel suite if you're staying for any length of time if you...
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CyberSecureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Hotel British House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 354 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at the British House hotel for 4 nights in August and it was such a delight. Despite the somewhat dated decor, the staff and the experience of staying in a fantastically unique hotel was worth it.

The staff helped orient me to Tblisi and went our of their way to help me find the best cloisonee shops and designers in town. I can say that the staff at the British House hotel were really some of the kindest and warmest I have encountered anywhere in the world!

I walked over to Betsy's (which is a few blocks away) and saw that is was also lovely place to stay, but the small hotel feel of the British House was much more my speed. All in all a great experience. I'll be back!
Ann H, Toronto Canada

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AMHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This cosy - and somewhat quirky - little establishment is a short distance up a rather steep hill from Rustaveli Avenue, Tbilisi's main street, in the city's Vera district. The room was well equipped (although the TV reception was a bit dodgy) and the bathroom was modern and very clean. I found the bed a bit short but slept diagonally. Laundry and minibar were very reasonably priced; the free internet worked perfectly. There is no lift but staff helpfully carried bags up and down the stairs. I now understand those reviews which say it felt more like staying in somebody's home than in a hotel: from a technical point of view, the British House has all the elements of a hotel but it feels more like a cross between a private house and a large B & B. The staff must be among the most friendly and consistently helpful I have encountered anywhere (and certainly in Georgia) and one was made to feel very welcome and at home. Once I had got over the aesthetic shock of the decoration (uniformly brown brightened up with a few Christmas trinkets and plants, both real and artificial), I realised that lodging in the British House was a much more authentic Georgian experience than staying in one of the international chains.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent 6 nights at this lovely hotel over a period of 2 weeks, coming and going and it was almost like coming back home after a trip to the mountains or to the sea. The hotel is situated in a residential quarter off Rustaveli avenue and not far from the Opera House and close to Mtatsminda park. We stayed in two different rooms and both were spacious and nicely decorated with good shower facilities. Air-conditioning is modern and not noisy so you can leave it overnight (which is important in Georgian summer!). In the morning a hearty breakfast (including everything you can think of - pancakes, khatchapuri, scrambled eggs, salads, ham and cheese, cakes and more) is served by friendly and efficient staff and breakfast hours are flexible (from 7:30am to noon). Breakfast is included in room price. Transfers to and from the airport could be arranged as well. All members of staff are very attentive and pleasant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarinaN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Ok, so had a short business trip in Tbilisi, and the choice was British House.
They have an airport pickup service, so after getting the first good impression at the costumer friendly passport control the driver was there in the waiting area. I got to the hotel around 3 AM, needed some sleep, and asked what is the breakfast time. The receptionist asked - when do you want to have breakfast ? Good start. The rest continued with similar approach.
Generally very good impression.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJ31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were a group of three families and stayed there for a few nights in January 2011. This is not a luxury hotel, but a very friendly one. Staff are really nice and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean and the location is good. The breakfast was in Georgian style which we didnt like that much but it was ok. Generally we were extremely happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: They have limited number of room. The one on left hand on the first floor is quite big because it wa...
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank_Jr_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I spent 5 nights at Hotel British House with my son. Thanks to the efficiency and cheerfulness of the staff we both felt absolutely at home here. I would happily recommend Hotel British House to any visitor and have no criticisms to make whatsoever.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prof_Tashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 132 in Tbilisi
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#6 of 132 in Tbilisi
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#4 of 132 in Tbilisi
622 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
#5 of 132 in Tbilisi
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#21 of 132 in Tbilisi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: $83 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing