We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Villa Mtiebi
Ranked #25 of 132 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very nice hotel with reasonable price in old city. The neighborhood is mostly old houses, but safe. It is not far from the river, main square, clubs and metro station. The breakfast is great. Rooms are spatious. The staff is friendly. After leaving Tbilisi, we felt it was like home on the return from Armania.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuneyt360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Villa Mtiebi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very good location and beautiful building, also inside. There is free wifi, breakfast was quite good because there was also joghurt, cerials and salads among the usual stuff.
They advertise sauna and swimming pool but they are now "under renovation". We took a look downstairs and there was no renovation going on. We made a complaint and wanted some discount but the receptionist didnt even want to call to the manager. So BIG minus about that! Free drinks would have been ok to us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraHamalainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We booked the hotel very much on the basis of what we had read on here, and were very pleased with it.
The location was great - despite much of the old town being in a poor state of repair, there are several streets which have been done up beautifully and have good restaurants and bars very close to the hotel.
Decent hotels in Tbilisi seem to be astonishingly expensive, and so at EUR 75 a night for the two of us we thought this was very good value indeed.
The advertised swimming pool, gym and sauna were apparently being renovated, which was a shame. However it didn't spoil our stay at all.
Free wifi in the room was a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is situated in the heart of the old town amongst dilapidated old wooden houses-you really feel you’re living in the midst of Georgian people rather than in a city centre hotel. Looking out from our room we looked into the house of a family right opposite. The location is great -its one block back from the river and 5 minutes away from most of the bars and restaurants.

The room was large, very clean and well decorated. It was however a little dark and as we were on the ground floor it was difficult to keep the curtains open. There is free internet in every room via a cable if you have a laptop but I’m not sure if the hotel has wifi. The bathroom was fine with a good hot shower but the towels had seen better days.The hotel is on a quiet street but you do hear occasional car horns and people talking as they walk by. The rooms are set around a large indoor atrium which is a surprising feature - you have no idea its there from the outside.

Breakfast was included in the price - the usual bread, cheese, ham etc but all was fresh and very tasty -worth getting up for.

One of the quirks of the hotel is that you don’t get a front door key. You need to ring to be let in which means someone has to man reception at all times. After a flight arriving at midnight and a three hour time difference we therefore rolled in at 3.30 am on the first night. I think we woke the lady night receptionist up but she didn’t seem fazed by this.

Some of the staff speak English quite well, others a smattering, bit they were friendly and helpful.

The room price of 75 euros was fair for a central hotel in a capital city but we asked them to book a taxi from the airport and at 36 dollars I thought this was expensive. We got a taxi to Armenia for $90!

In summary- excellent location, clean room and tasty breakfast. A decent choice I felt.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The Villa is located in the old city, therefore the sorrunded buildings are still not renovated. They are looked odd and very old biulding which were not maintained the last 100 years. Nevertheless the site is safe, we walked at nigth without any problem. The staff are flexible and very helpful. The room was clean and the fireplace in the hall was absolutely fantastic! Whenever we sit next to it they put extra wood in it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunderszem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I arrived at my originally booked hotel in Old Tbilisi and was horrified by how disgusting and ratty it really was. Luckily I arrived in Tbilisi in the early afternoon, with enough time and light to scout out another place to stay during my visit to Tbilisi. After searching the listings in the Lonely Planet guide, I eventually ended up here at the Villa Mtiebi, just right across the street from my originally booked hotel.

Villa Mtiebi was everything my originally booked hotel wasn't: Clean, nicely renovated, charming, and professionally run. VIlla Mtiebi is well-located in Old Tbilisi. The building seems rather recently renovated and contains just 9 rooms surrounding a charming central atrium courtyard where breakfast is served and where you can sit by the fireplace in the evenings. They offer free wifi and a wonderful breakfast.

My few complaints about Villa Mtiebi are: The beds could be higher quality and/or more comfortable. However, compared to the higher class competition, Villa Mtiebi is a great value for the money in Tbilisi. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BklynFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Great little hotel. Reasonably prced. Professional service. Very comfortable with a tasty continental breakfast buffet. Really enjoyed my 5 night stay and could easily wander the streets in the old town. Well placed for restaurants etc. The staff organised day trips with a taxi / driver who would wait for you. Much cheaper than tours with more fun and flexibility to stop when you wanted. Very clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank convoykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
No12 Boutique Hotel
No12 Boutique Hotel
#16 of 132 in Tbilisi
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boombully
Hotel Boombully
#9 of 132 in Tbilisi
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Tiflis Boutique Hotel
Old Tiflis Boutique Hotel
#21 of 132 in Tbilisi
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Citadel Narikala
Hotel Citadel Narikala
#80 of 132 in Tbilisi
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shota Rustaveli Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kopala
Hotel Kopala
#31 of 132 in Tbilisi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Villa Mtiebi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Villa Mtiebi

Address: Chakhrukhadze St., 10, Tbilisi 0105, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: $55 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Villa Mtiebi 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town, ancient district of 1600 year old capital of Georgia, Tbilisi. Boutique Hotel Villa Mtiebi is only walking distance from downtown, business and government center of this south caucasian metropolis. Hotel design is a unique blend of old Georgian and modern European trends, created by architect Emil Davitidze and Nika Gogava. Renovation in the 21 century preserved original style and ambiance of this 19 century building. Local and imported marble, natural stones and wood were widely used in the renovation of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Villa Mtiebi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtiebi Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing