We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LIKE IN FAIRY STORY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ambassadori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ambassadori
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Tbilisi
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“LIKE IN FAIRY STORY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

When you will be in Georgia, try to reserve room in this hotel. This place looking like old castle and you will feel that you are in fairy story all the time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    36
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
22
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Rooms and service of five star standard. Great old town location

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sten123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Awesome location - walking distance to everything in Tbilisi. Authentic building which makes a big difference for the atmosphere as opposed to the chain hotels. Overall, hotel is very well kept, with a great view of the city from the balcony where the breakfast is served. Breakfast is delicious :) Free WiFi and hospitable staff. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astorianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

After some confusion about early check-in, they upgraded our room for free to a deluxe suite and we had a wonderful time there. Very comfortable, nice style, centrally-located long the river right across from the presidential place. Friendly staff, decent breakfast. The roof-top pool is very small.

The only small thing was that our balcony had a lot of sitting water on it from the night before and you couldn't go out on it without getting your feet wet and smelling some mold. But a minor issue compared to the overall experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PavlodarSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

There is something very special about Ambasadori – one may say it has some kind of old – times charm! The rooms (or at least some of them) have a beautiful view of the river and presidential palace across it. Location is very central, however Tbilisi itself is very compact and taxis are cheap. Yet the location is better than for Radisson, Holiday Inn and Sheraton. Some of the rooms are noisy as the hotel faces a busy road. People have complained about the size of the rooms – this was the reason I opted for a double even though traveling alone. I would say that even though the room is not big it is adequate in size. As an added bonus it had a balcony. Breakfast is served on the top floor, the food selection was not bad. The nice thing about the breakfast is that you can enjoy it outside – there is a nice big balcony for that. I tried the room service once and it was all right. However, when in Georgia – try to eat out as it is a true culinary paradise! Wifi is free and works fine. They also have a pool but I did not had a chance to try it. Overall, it was well worth the money and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel should have everything in its favour. It is in a perfect location. It is a very attractive property with a really good lobby area with comfortable seating overlooking the river with views across to the president's Palace. The rooms are pleasant with excellent bathrooms with old fashioned (distressed) tiling, large mirrors, big baths and every amenity. My single room did not have a balcony or even a view but it did have a very fine patio area which would have been shared with the next room if there had been anyone there (see photo). I liked it very much.
BUT they do not seem to have a clue about treating their guests with a welcome and hospitality.
The lady on the night shift looked like she was undergoing a torture session instead of being doing her job. No smile for sure, no eye contact, zero anything from this lady. Surely a square peg in a round hole.
I asked her at 2015 (0815pm) where the bar was. She told me that it was downstairs but was not open. What! This is meant to be a four star hotel. I would not care except that they should, at a minimum, have said that they would find someone to give you a drink. If I had a drink there before dinner I may well have gone on to have dinner in the hotel. Instead I walked out and went to the back of the hotel where the very special Hangar Bar is located (Irish Pub) which had the staff who had everything that the hotel was deficient in. Hugely welcoming. Loved this place.
Tbilisi is a great city. Go there and even stay at the Ambasordori but for hospitality, friendliness and good food go to the Hangar
One exception to the staff attitude was the young man who opened the doors and generally welcomed you. Unfortunately I don't know his name but he should be an example to the rest of the hotel staff with his cheery smile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubaidaveDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The location of the hotel is marvelous: just in front of the river, next to the oldest church in town in the heart of the old Tbilisi. Yet, Tbilisi is such a small city that you are nevertheless close to these places regardless of your hotel if you are in the old city. The terrace that overlooks the river is very nice, and so is the nice work they have done with the windows that enhance the look over the Church making a fusion between the two places that is a reflection of very good taste.

The rooms are extremely small, with basic decoration, and with bathrooms that are just ok. Not really a 4 start hotel. Breakfast is poorly displayed, there is not real coffee, but Nescafe, and everything is cold. The overall service is more of a three star hotel. We decided to pack and leave and move to another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tbilisi
Courtyard Tbilisi
#8 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
No12 Boutique Hotel
No12 Boutique Hotel
#10 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.6 mi away
Hotel River Side
Hotel River Side
#6 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#16 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadori

Property: Hotel Ambassadori
Address: Shavteli St., 17, Tbilisi 0105, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tbilisi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassadori 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the renewed Ambassadori hotel with 121 rooms, beautiful terrace, magnificent views, comfortable rooms and service with high class standards which will create unforgettable experience for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ambassadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasadori Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing