We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassadori Tbilisi Hotel
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Tbilisi
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, good value for the money”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

There is something very special about Ambasadori – one may say it has some kind of old – times charm! The rooms (or at least some of them) have a beautiful view of the river and presidential palace across it. Location is very central, however Tbilisi itself is very compact and taxis are cheap. Yet the location is better than for Radisson, Holiday Inn and Sheraton. Some of the rooms are noisy as the hotel faces a busy road. People have complained about the size of the rooms – this was the reason I opted for a double even though traveling alone. I would say that even though the room is not big it is adequate in size. As an added bonus it had a balcony. Breakfast is served on the top floor, the food selection was not bad. The nice thing about the breakfast is that you can enjoy it outside – there is a nice big balcony for that. I tried the room service once and it was all right. However, when in Georgia – try to eat out as it is a true culinary paradise! Wifi is free and works fine. They also have a pool but I did not had a chance to try it. Overall, it was well worth the money and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
23
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel should have everything in its favour. It is in a perfect location. It is a very attractive property with a really good lobby area with comfortable seating overlooking the river with views across to the president's Palace. The rooms are pleasant with excellent bathrooms with old fashioned (distressed) tiling, large mirrors, big baths and every amenity. My single room did not have a balcony or even a view but it did have a very fine patio area which would have been shared with the next room if there had been anyone there (see photo). I liked it very much.
BUT they do not seem to have a clue about treating their guests with a welcome and hospitality.
The lady on the night shift looked like she was undergoing a torture session instead of being doing her job. No smile for sure, no eye contact, zero anything from this lady. Surely a square peg in a round hole.
I asked her at 2015 (0815pm) where the bar was. She told me that it was downstairs but was not open. What! This is meant to be a four star hotel. I would not care except that they should, at a minimum, have said that they would find someone to give you a drink. If I had a drink there before dinner I may well have gone on to have dinner in the hotel. Instead I walked out and went to the back of the hotel where the very special Hangar Bar is located (Irish Pub) which had the staff who had everything that the hotel was deficient in. Hugely welcoming. Loved this place.
Tbilisi is a great city. Go there and even stay at the Ambasordori but for hospitality, friendliness and good food go to the Hangar
One exception to the staff attitude was the young man who opened the doors and generally welcomed you. Unfortunately I don't know his name but he should be an example to the rest of the hotel staff with his cheery smile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubaidaveDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The location of the hotel is marvelous: just in front of the river, next to the oldest church in town in the heart of the old Tbilisi. Yet, Tbilisi is such a small city that you are nevertheless close to these places regardless of your hotel if you are in the old city. The terrace that overlooks the river is very nice, and so is the nice work they have done with the windows that enhance the look over the Church making a fusion between the two places that is a reflection of very good taste.

The rooms are extremely small, with basic decoration, and with bathrooms that are just ok. Not really a 4 start hotel. Breakfast is poorly displayed, there is not real coffee, but Nescafe, and everything is cold. The overall service is more of a three star hotel. We decided to pack and leave and move to another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hotel Ambasadori is prominently located in the heart of Tbilisi overlooking the river, some 100 meters from the Old City. It benefits from the best location to discover the city with numerous places of interest reachable within a walking distance. The room we stayed was relatively big equipped with comfortable big double bed. Mini bar was very well supplied and room service available 24 hours a day. The only minor complain concerns the wake up call ordered for 3.15 a.m. (to reach very early flight) never hapened... Fortunately we had a backup solution and managed to wake-up and receptionist seemed surprise that we were making a complaint out of it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The location just cant be better. Between the Old town and Rustaveli, at the river, looking at the presidential palace. Wow. Hotel clean, tastefully furnished, staff friendly, changed our room from twin to double without hesitation. Good choice of food for breakfast.
Downsides: the breakfast room has tables for 5 only... but not enough of them. So like it or not, you will have to share your table with strangers. Some of them (Russians mostly) smoke at breakfast! We opted for a cold terrace instead :-( Last out of 3 mornings there was no hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Not really either average or very good, but reasonable hotel. My room was of average size, clean and very quiet and the breakfast slightly better than average. Had some problems with the room air heating system which I found rather crude tending to be either too hot or too cold. The hotel were not helpful in sorting this. However, unlike some other reviewer's experiences, I had several openable external windows/doors on my room. The bathroom was slightly tired, which made it look dirty (although in fact I think it was quite clean). The location is absolutely excellent, being across the river from the president's palace. The wi-fi (free) was very patchy - it seems the hotel has not invested in powerful enough routers as the signal in my room came and went.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Came to Tblisi for two nights and I have not been able to sleep because my room was simply too hot. Because of the construction of the hotel the rooms do not have outside windows. My colleague had similar problems because her room was far too cold. The staff were apologetic and having sent several technicians around failed to solve the problem at all. Furthermore the room stinks of cigarette smoke that seems to come from neighboring rooms. Definitely would look elsewhere for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#6 of 131 in Tbilisi
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tbilisi
Courtyard Tbilisi
#9 of 131 in Tbilisi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 131 in Tbilisi
634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cron Palace Hotel
Cron Palace Hotel
#10 of 131 in Tbilisi
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citadines City Centre Tbilisi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadori Tbilisi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadori Tbilisi Hotel

Property: Ambassadori Tbilisi Hotel
Address: Shavteli St., 17, Tbilisi 0105, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tbilisi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambassadori Tbilisi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the renewed Ambassadori hotel with 121 rooms, beautiful terrace, magnificent views, comfortable rooms and service with high class standards which will create unforgettable experience for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ambassadori Tbilisi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasadori Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing