We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of Funicular

Funicular
Ranked #10 of 732 Restaurants in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Georgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: High above Tbilisi you'll find the city's most stylish centre for fine food and drink: the Funicular Restaurant Complex. Located in a much loved and carefully restored historic city landmark, the Complex enjoys stunning views across the city. Equally dazzling is the range of five separate wining and dining options on offer. In our restaurants fine dishes are cooked on the spot for you, using only fresh and sustainable ingredients.
Beira, Mozambique
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It was the first time I went there since the restaurant (re-)opened. I had to go there twice because the food was so good. The view is excellent and a heating system enables you to sit somewhat comfortable outside even if it is a bit colder.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    220
    66
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, average food”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This restaurant has the best view over Tbilisi. Come here at night and you will be stunned. We were lucky to have a great live jazz performance too. The food is mainly Georgian, and overpriced in my opinion. We had a very tasty salted quail, but all the rest was disappointing, especially the chocolate mousse which was terrible. Apparently, Georgian restaurants are very bad in pastry. The pastry place downstairs is quite bad too. But the service was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bad service ”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We wait more then 40 minute for a dish, the management didn't agree to cancel it, the taste was average and they took tip without our agreement.

Helpful?
Thank Eyalmo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Today's meniu: Glass of wine and spicy view of Tbilisi”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Trip to Funicular was well deserved from our side. We took a trip to this place by walk and even when we reached the top and felt funny - we've been the winners, and Chela waitress gave as an award. Finally a good English, lovely wine and some food. Sadly some, but it's the truth. Places like this needs extra, but beeing a turist it's for sure a place to visit, even not for food...
In the end of the day, if u need to compare, it probbably gonna be a place where I'm gonna come back...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deivydas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Slow ride up Slow ride down”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Must try it at night as you slowly reach the top of the funicular and are ready to fully enjoy the view of Tbilisi's night lights as you witness the woods and fancy villas as the train climbs up. Once on top can enjoy one of the cafes and amazing views on the city. Its a must. (Sometimes there may be electricity cuts)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prefectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funicular also viewed

Tbilisi, Georgia
Tbilisi, Georgia
 
Tbilisi, Georgia
 

Been to Funicular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing