We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed bag”
Review of Vere Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vere Palace
Ranked #113 of 136 Hotels in Tbilisi
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed for three weeks at this hotel . The location is good and it was quiet. Although the public spaces are very elegant, unfortunately, the rooms are quite shabby, peeling wallpaper, mold in the bathrooms, etc. Although the maids were very attentive, the housecleaning was not thorough. Most wakeup calls were late, or not made at all. The door personnel rarely cracked a smile.
However, I'd like to point out that George and Rati Ratiano, at the front desk, were very helpful and courteous to me during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriecornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family spent 4 nights at Vere Palace hotel in Tbilisi in July (we came from Southern France). The hotel was recommended and booked by our Georgian friends, they said it's a very nice hotel. It's true, the hotel building is good, decoration is nice, fresh flowers in the lobby, nice piano music at the lobby during the evening... although some furniture in the room starts to be old, but it's no problem. But the service in this hotel is almost inexistent, except two places: (1) at breakfast, the service is really good; the responsible, Irina, and her team take a lot of care about the guests, and (2) massage, it is great, we recommend it - 25 euros an hour. For the rest, it's incredible how such nice hotel can propose such a bad service. For example:
- when we came to the room, we noticed that the mini-bar did not work, that the safe (coffre-fort) is closed, and that there are no hangers (cintres) at all. We noticed all this immediately to the reception desk. The mini-bar was repared the next day, which was good with +38° outside! But the safe remained close the whole 4 days (in spite our notice at the reception, because we really needed it) and the hangers remained absent. This is something very basic in terms of service...
- we left in the afternoon one day, and asked the reception to send someone to clean the room. "Of course", said the receptionist, but the cleaning was done only the next day.

We recommend this hotel only if you need zero or cloze to zero service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Vere Palace and it left me mixed feelings..!It is a nicely located hotel with heavy decoration, nice swimming pool for relaxing and gym and helpful personnel in most cases....But...when i arrived there late midnight there was a dead cockroach just after the room door.....and i had to notify once in the morning and once after i returned from meetings, before it was removed...next day afternoon!!!also the mini bar....was not working and the water bottles were not replenished....so i found myself without water in the mini bar the 3rd day....and had to go down the bar and take a bottle...!!P.S the room was cleaned and bedsheets/towels made up every day but nobody seemed to notice the mini bar or...for the first day the cockroach..!!!anyway. if they improve the cleaning issues and care a little more about amenities...it might reach its 4 star category that claims!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

On a quiet side street, this hotel is elegant (for Georgia) in a kind of old fashioned way. The lobby is large and elaborately decorated. The rooms are huge. The breakfast buffet is quite large with perfectly acceptable (if not inspired) food.

HOWEVER the beds are big but, for a Westerner, not especially soft and the fitness room machines are the kind of thing you are supposed to buy for homes, not gyms that get regular use.

The best part of the hotel is the rooftop terrace bar and pool (which is up stairs on the very top of the hotel). In nice weather, you can look out over the city, drink or swim. If you stay here you should definitely spend some time on the roof.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Upon arrival, the hotel seems quite nice with a mixture of classical European style furnishings, which seems a little over done. Once you enter into your room you will notice why. I requested a room change because my first room had an overpowering musty odor, the carpets were stained and the furniture just seemed dirty. The next room had less of an odor but the carpet and furniture were just as stained and dirty and the bed was awful – hard and lumpy. To make matters even more uncomfortable there was no A/C. It’s as though they spent all their money on appearance and stopped short with comfort. So far it’s my only experience with a Georgian hotel so I don’t have much to compare. On the plus side it sure looks nice from a far…

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

As several other reviewers have said, the rooms at Vere Palace could use a bit of updating. The carpets are worn, the wallpaper is dated, and the furniture is a bit beaten up. But, the rooms are very spacious, spotless, and the bathrooms were extremely modern.

Contrary to what others have said, the staff was extremely helpful and attentive, and the lobby is absolutely lovely. Breakfast (included with our stay) was also nice, although the variety could have been a bit more extensive.

For us, the location was absolutely perfect, since the people we were visiting live around the corner. Otherwise, it's not quite as centrally located as some other places, but it's still in a very walkable location.

If I return to Tbilisi, I would definitely return to Vere Palace!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Dear sir, Am Samuel Sabina Efua and Ngo Yap Merveille Majoie We are two female footballer we are coming to visit Georgia, we just got the information that we need an invitation letter before coming… we book our ticket for Sunday ,please Sir Can we get the invitation from you??after then we can book for your Hotel,,,this is my email {evengnesamuel@gmail.com}Hope to hear from you

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
1  Thank Even S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
1.3 mi away
Museum Hotel Orbeliani
Museum Hotel Orbeliani
#37 of 136 in Tbilisi
47 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel S&L
Hotel S&L
#86 of 136 in Tbilisi
4 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cron Palace Hotel
Cron Palace Hotel
#11 of 136 in Tbilisi
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Citadel Narikala
Hotel Citadel Narikala
#84 of 136 in Tbilisi
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#87 of 136 in Tbilisi
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kopala Tskneti
Hotel Kopala Tskneti
#102 of 136 in Tbilisi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vere Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vere Palace

Address: 22/24 Kuchishvili Street, Tbilisi 380079, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: $96 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vere Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vere Palace is located in the Vere district of central Tbilisi within walking distance of Rustaveli Avenue and its renowned Opera House, Symphony Hall, Theatres, Cinemas, Museums, Business and Trade centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vere Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vere Palace Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing