We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in a great location”
Review of Courtyard Tbilisi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Tbilisi
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A very good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is what you expect from good courtyard, a good business hotel. Clean, updated rooms, knowledgable and helpful staff, and a restaurant with more or less the same menu you would find in any Courtyard. I thought the staff was more friendly than a Courtyard in another country, but that is probably just the hospitality and kindness of Georgians in general toward Western travelers. The location is beautiful on the Freedom Square. The parking is secure. Lots of good local foods in the area. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Ask for a room that faces the square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTogonidze, General Manager at Courtyard Tbilisi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about Courtyard by Marriott Tbilisi. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Looking forward to hosting you during your next visit to Tbilisi.

Sincerely,

George Togonidze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    149
    43
    13
    4
See reviews for
34
42
25
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have stayed here a few times before, and the hotel got worse in just about anything. There is no more room service - so you can not order food or drinks to the room. Food is mediocre.

The worst part was internet connection - one of the worst I have ever experienced in hotel chains.

However the staff is very nice.

I am a regular visitor to Tbilisi, so next time I will certainly choose a different hotel (Marriott Tbilisi is my favourtite).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airwav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batumi, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I know the Courtyard in Tbilisi very well as I worked on its construction from start to finish. I have also stayed in the hotel and know many of the staff whose service is impeccable. However I would like to point out that the professional photo is not from the hotel. The church in the background is not visible from the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Freedom Square have the best view but comes with a little traffic noise. Rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caicos_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTogonidze, General Manager at Courtyard Tbilisi, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about Courtyard by Marriott Tbilisi. The opinion of our
guests is very precious for us and we strive to make the stay of our guests as comfortable
as possible. The photo you mentioned is indeed taken in one of our guestrooms. The view
in the photo with Sameba Cathedral can be seen from specific rooms located on the top
floors of the hotel. Please make sure to request a room on the top floor during your next
stay in Courtyard and we will do our utmost to provide you with this kind of room.

Sincerely,

George Togonidze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rooms are clean and organized with everything you need for a quiet stay while on business in Tbilisi. Breakfast buffet is good with a nice variety and selection of fruits, sides, and omelettes made to order. I only ate at the hotel in the mornings, but the restaurant staff was pleasant and quick to answer any questions. I used the hotel's airport car service for pick up and drop off which was quick, and reliable. The hotel's location on Freedom Square is ideal and easy to get to and from. The staff at the counter during check-in and check-out were friendly and helpful and will share lots of information about the surrounding area (where to eat, what to see) if you ask. I passed by the Marriott (just down the road) and although I heard it is supposed to be bigger and nicer, the Courtyard was exactly what I needed and provided good value for my hard earned money. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Freedom Square offer a great view, but the noise from the street/square may disturb you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackRowSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTogonidze, General Manager at Courtyard Tbilisi, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole staff of Courtyard by Marriott Tbilisi let me thank you for choosing our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear such nice words about our property. Hope to host you again in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

George Togonidze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here because my usual Marriott was booked. While i was not disappointed with the room, which was considerably larger than my usual Marriott room down the street, it had an excellent view of Freedom Square and was essentially a suite. Courtyard is the lower cost/amenities Marriott so no stocked minibar and an inferior breakfast. That said, it is convenient for work, has good conference rooms and is several blocks closer to the Old City, which is a favorite of mine. No complaints about the staff. A good option if the "other" Marriott is booked.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front of the hotel for a view of the square. The windows seemed double pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decoamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTogonidze, General Manager at Courtyard Tbilisi, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such kind words about our hotels. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to learn that although a loyal guest of Tbilisi Marriott Hotel, you enjoyed you stay at Courtyard as well. Looking forward to your next stay in either of our properties. For your next booking please contact us in advance and we will do our utmost to make sure your request of being accommodated at Tbilisi Marriott is satisfied.

Sincerely,

George Togonidze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our experience with both of the Marriott hotels in Tbilisi was utterly substandard and we will never recommend these hotels to anyone or book a room at their properties for any of our subsequent trips to Georgia.

We arrived on schedule to the Marriott Tbilisi after a late evening flight in from Azerbaijan only to be informed that the hotel had overbooked for the night and we were to be moved to their lower class sister hotel down the road. We had booked the hotel a month and a half in advance at my corporate rate and confirmed our reservation several weeks prior. The front desk told us that they had called ahead to the other hotel to ensure that we were taken care of and that they would pay for our transfer. We had purposefully booked the Marriott Tbilisi instead of the Marriott Courtyard because of the prime location and higher quality property, but we had no choice but to move to the other hotel since it was almost midnight and it would be difficult to book another hotel at that hour.

When we tried to check in to the Marriott Courtyard, we were then informed that they were not familiar with my company and would not offer the same corporate rate for their hotel. The front desk receptionist was rude and unhelpful. She refused to look up my corporate code and insisted that we pay the same rate we were quoted for the higher quality Marriott Tbilisi, even though the difference between the two rates is more than fifty dollars a night! The amount they would have overcharged us was almost 300 dollars by the end of our stay, which is enough to pay for several weeks at a local quality hotel in Tbilisi. It was only after I was given temporary internet access to find our previous reservation and could show that our corporate rate did apply at the Courtyard (at 50 dollars less a night than what they were trying to charge us) that the front desk changed what they would charge us. We immediately informed them that this was not satisfactory service and that we would not be continuing our stay at either of the Marriotts after the first evening and we would be transferring hotels.

Breakfast the next morning was bland and service was slow at the restaurant, and the room was barely three star accommodations.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Excellent location right at Freedom Square. Very modern hotel with excellent and attentive staff. Always stay there with my travel groups and we never have a problem. Easy walking distance to the old town and many of Tbilisi's best restaurants. Also nearby to a number of excellent museums (e.g. history and fine arts).

Great buffet breakfast as well.

No need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.4 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#8 of 131 in Tbilisi
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#4 of 131 in Tbilisi
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 131 in Tbilisi
632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
#5 of 131 in Tbilisi
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel British House
Hotel British House
#3 of 131 in Tbilisi
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tbilisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tbilisi

Property: Courtyard Tbilisi
Address: 4 Freedom Square, Tbilisi 0105, Georgia
Phone Number:
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#10 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Tbilisi 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Tbilisi offers visitors a grand view into Georgian culture with its fabulous location at Freedom Square, right in the city center. From the hotel, stroll to galleries, gardens, museums and the Rustaveli Theatre and State Opera House, all within walking distance. Our 118 spacious guest rooms feature many amenities including oversized work areas, hair dryer, safe and individual climate control. During your stay, enjoy these and other services such as on-site parking. And, dine at La Brasserie, which serves international fare and remarkable Georgian wines. Our fitness gym offers top equipment, sauna, indoor pool and whirlpool for unwinding after meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tbilisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tbilisi Hotel Tbilisi
Tbilisi Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing