We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beutiful Cathedral in Georgia”

Tsminda Sameba Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Tbilisi and Mtskheta Private Tour
Ranked #3 of 179 things to do in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Siauliai, Lithuania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Most beutiful Cathedral in Georgia”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

You must visit this Cathedral twice at night and day. Illumination at night is something undescribable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Egle_Lithuania_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    263
    85
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Cathedral for the Catholicos Patrarch of Georgia”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

During my first visit to Georgia, Sioni Cathedral was my first church to visit and attend services!
I watched Sameba Cathedral being built and was able to make my third visit this year and attend the June celebration of the Feast of St. Nino, Equal to the Apostles. His Holiness, Ilia II served the Divine Liturgy with numerous bishops, priests, deacons, servers and the superior choir!
You must see the cathedral during a divine service. Great acoustics! A wonderful addition to a beautiful capital city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Sameba Church is a must see place in Tbilisi.
It is huge, impressive and very beautiful. A garden around the charch is also gorgeous.
Every time I enter the cathedral I feel the positive energy of it.
Would recommend to visit it.
Make note that women should wear a knee long or longer dresses and a head cover when they enter the church, Man should wear pants (No shorts are allowed).

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Liana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotrkow Trybunalski, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Little disappointment”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

You just cannot miss the Sameba with its golden domes. It is seen almost from every view point in Tbilisi. The building itself is new but it represents and old traditional Georgian sacral style (both exterior and interior). The old churches in Georgia are rather small comparing to cathedrals in Europe. Sameba is not. Personally I could admire it from the distance. My Georgian friend told me that it was build on the the site of an old Armenian cemetery. And people were protesting against it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziemowit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nogent france
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a new church in the old style”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

it is very interesting to visit as it seems an old church and it is a new one with space and icons

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rvrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsminda Sameba Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Tsminda Sameba Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing