We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Trip of A Lifetime ... Flat Out Excellent Private Tour

My husband and I worked with John Graham to schedule a private tour of the Tusheti and Khevsureti... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
StThecla
5 reasons John Graham Tours should lead your group through Georgia

John Graham led our large choral group through Tbilisi, Kutaisi, and Kazbeghi over 9 days but... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
tofumidget
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
24
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
24
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews folk songs winning smile comfortable hotels encyclopedic knowledge ancient sites alpine meadows personalized tour orthodox christian west georgia fellow travelers food and wine georgian music toast an amazing experience take pictures beautiful country georgian history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 24 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019

John Graham of John Graham tours has found his calling! As a participant in his Silk Road Artisans Tour of the Republic of Georgia 2019 I was fortunate to benefit from his extensive knowledge of the history, culture, language, religion, performing arts, handcrafts, liturgical chants, cuisine and viticulture. Everywhere he took us we were welcomed with open arms because we were with “Johnny”. He is well liked and respected by the locals for promoting (and preserving) Georgian culture. John is also a gifted liturgical chanter who filled the ancient monasteries and churches with his resonant voice.
I highly recommend joining one of John’s tours for a very unique travel experience. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank DayTrip601962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Our tour, called “Silk Roads,” was fantastic. Not only was everything in the itinerary provided, it was all pre-arranged and paid. We guests did not have to worry about any logistics. Our job was just to enjoy ourselves and appreciate this fascinating country. The food was always delicious, the activities very interesting, the countryside beautiful. In the background the snow-covered Caucasus mountains provided constant beauty. But our tour was mostly about hand-on activities: we learned Needle-felting, the properties of jet jewelry-making, the cultivation of tea plants, Georgian cooking, wine tasting from traditional underground clay vessels, the art of the sword-smith, ceramics, and more. In many of the monasteries and ancient churches we visited, John and sometimes others chanted traditional chants connected with Easter, as this was the season. We learned why the older stone churches have better acoustics for the chanters than newer, cement-block churches. We also saw churches from every century from 6th onwards, some with magnificent frescoes. John filled each day with history and culture, so our experiences were surrounded with information. Every day was filled with adventure — it was absolutely wonderful. We met such lovely people, and John himself made us all feel so welcome, and comfortable.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank 37_Frederica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018

We enjoyed touring a place where the destination is still so unusual, not many fellow travelers have experienced the locale. I don't think I have yet seen a Rick Steves' travelogue from Georgia. Be the among the first!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank barbdefoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

Personable, beyond knowledgeable, and talented John Graham takes such good care of his guests - from first class accommodation and meals to buying lozenges for sore throat and serving champagne in real glass flutes at picnic lunches.. In our "Walking in the Caucasus" tour, he facilitated an amazing experience of unforgettable places and people. His encyclopedic knowledge of Georgian history - both religious and political, culture, music, and language (he is English-speaking by birth) makes his tours unique, meaningful and extremely educational. Sing Georgian chants with him in medieval monasteries, toast with him at supras, and walk hiking paths surrounded by mountain splendour: John aims to show his guests only the splendid, unusual and remarkable. Don't like travelling in groups? No worries - the personal way John approaches his guests helps to make a collection of individuals into a group. If you really love to travel, you must see Georgia and you must see it with John Graham!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

John Graham Tours went beyond my expectations and is a MUST when planning to explore Georgia and the gems she holds within in her treasure trove!! John was a fabulous host with attention to detail to his large group of just over 30 "guests". Born and raised in America, John's love for his new home in Georgia and her beauty within it is apparent. He's a master in Georgian history and its current state of affairs, enlightening us as we travelled the country. We enjoyed scrumptious traditional Georgian cuisine and the most delicious wines I have every tasted!
As a faith based tour we marvelled at the ancient sites of the churches, monasteries and fortresses. We were further elevated spiritually by the singing of John and his two companion tour guides, Giorgi and Tornike. The trio, all skilled and trained musically sang in the traditional Georgian chant at each site that brought our visits to life. We were also priviledged to have our hearts warmed by their singing while we dined at lunch and supper. On multiple ocassions OTHER TOURING GROUPS, as well as local Georgians would leave their tables and gather around ours to take pictures or videos. Yes, they were that GOOD!!! We visited museums, UNESCO sites, trekked through Vardzia Cave Complex above ground, Prometheus Caves below ground, a jeep ride or optional hike up to a monastery on a mountain top, we attended a comedic play about the traditional life of Georgian families, and so much more.
John was attentive and quick to respond to the needs and special requuests of his "guests". Giorgi and Tornike were also attentive and always ready to lend a helping hand. These two gentlemen treated us to soft singing accompanied by the playing of a unique string instrument on the longer bus rides.
I'll conclude by saying, I'LL BE BACK GEORGIA !!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews