We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Tbilisi
Post
Inbox
Search

“Wonderful dinner, pleasant environment”
Review of Sormoni

Sormoni
Ranked #4 of 1,382 Restaurants in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Description: Kitchen Working Hours: 11:00 - 22:30 Restaurant "Sormoni" Working Hours: from 11:00 am till 02:00 am
Restaurant details
Description: Kitchen Working Hours: 11:00 - 22:30 Restaurant "Sormoni" Working Hours: from 11:00 am till 02:00 am
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

Service was excellent. Enjoyable and interesting mix of flavors. Bread is warm and homemade. We also enjoyed the mushroom salad. The chicken had a green sauce which I enjoyed although I dont know the name.

The restaurant seems bit out of the center so was out of walking distance from the old city area.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SormoniTbilisi, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Sormoni, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Thank you dear guest for taking time to write a review for us here at "Tripadvisor".
We always try to create an amazing experience for our guests, so your opinion for us matters.
We are happy to hear, that you had a pleasant time and are pleased with our cuisine, wine and decor!
Best regards,
Team Sormoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

I would really recommend this restaurant. Although quite far from the city center, you can easily reach it by metro.
We stayed in the courtyard and we were nicely and quickly served. Food and drinks were both great!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Fede Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SormoniTbilisi, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Sormoni, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Thank you dear guest for taking time to write a review for us here at "Tripadvisor".
We always try to create an amazing experience for our guests, so your opinion for us matters.
We are happy to hear, that you had a pleasant time and are pleased with our cuisine, wine and decor!
Best regards,
Team Sormoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Great service, great, food and a very
special evening! Assorted grill was amazing. Very beautiful place. Don't miss!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank IreneTs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SormoniTbilisi, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Sormoni, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Thank you dear guest for taking time to write a review for us here at "Tripadvisor".
We always try to create an amazing experience for our guests, so your opinion for us matters.
We are happy to hear, that you had a pleasant time and are pleased with our cuisine, wine and decor!
Best regards,
Team Sormoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

tasty traditional kitchen with great service.
one of the best places one can visit. would recommend both for friends and families.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank dgugunava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SormoniTbilisi, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Sormoni, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Thank you dear guest for taking time to write a review for us here at "Tripadvisor".
We always try to create an amazing experience for our guests, so your opinion for us matters.
We are happy to hear, that you had a pleasant time and are pleased with our cuisine, wine and decor!
Best regards,
Team Sormoni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

We visited on the basis of previous review but we have no idea how this restaurant achieved such high ratings. It was a tremendous disappointment.

We arrived and were seated in the main indoor area because they do not have a non-smoking area on the garden outside. Though the garden looked quite nice from what we could see, on the Inside the decor was almost non-existent. It was a bit cold inside for me - which was very unusual as I typically like it far colder than the average person. They had a solo singer performing bland '70s and '80s easy listening style music in both English and Russian, but the problem was that he kept the volume cranked extremely high - so high that my dinner companion and I had to shout to hear each other and even worse with the waiter whose English was limited.

The English and Russian menus were of little use. They lacked any descriptions of the food whatsoever - just the type of meat for vegetable in question followed by the Georgian name for the dish which nobody could understand. For example "Beef Kharcho" - and that's it. If you're Georgian maybe that's ok because presumably you know what "Kharcho" is - but folks using the English or Russian menus presumably may not be familiar with these dishes - a description is definitely needed.

Our waiter didn't write anything down and then repeatedly forgot items and made mistakes, then lied when we asked about it. For example, we ordered water and one salad to start then looked over the menu for a bit. The we ordered another salad, which came in 10 minutes or so. But the water and the first salad never came. When we asked if he'd forgotten, the waiter said, "No, no, it's being made" - then he ran to the terminal 3 meters from us and we watched him enter missing items.

We asked the waiter several times to not include parsley or cilantro in any of our dishes and we even put it in Google translate to ensure he understood. Then our first two dishes came with cilantro (salad) and a giant mound of parsley (the kebab with red sauce). I ate the salad but balked at the kebab with parsley. The fish soup had one large piece of salmon with bone in it. Not terrible, but not particularly tasty. The waiter took it back and returned in 2 minutes with the same kebab but in a fresh sauce. I tried the kebab and the meat was cool on the outside and warm on the inside and the sauce was ice cold. Not lukewarm but cold. Obviously the sauce had come directly from the refrigerator. I called him back and he told me that kebab in Georgia is served by putting a warm kebab in cold sauce, I told him that sounds very strange and asked for the manager. She came over and we had to switch to Russian. The manager agreed with everything the waiter said about serving kebabs cold, but agreed to warm mine. I later checked with several knowledgable people who told me that claiming a Georgian tradition of serving kebab in ice cold sauce is absurd and simply a lie "Why would we make the kebab hot just to put it in ice cold sauce? Tthat's silly." In the end, we gave up and went to another Georgian restaurant where the food was excellent.

Honestly, I cannot see how this establishment ever earned top marks fairly - it just doesn't make sense. I've been to several other Georgian restaurants in Tbilisi nothing comes close to the low level of service and dishonesty we received at Sormoni.

I strongly suggest folks consider other alternatives.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sormoni also viewed

 
Tbilisi, Georgia
Tbilisi, Georgia
 

Been to Sormoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing