We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and wine!”
Review of Shemoikhede Genatsvale - CLOSED

Shemoikhede Genatsvale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wine!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always eat there. It is a must when i visit Tbilisi - i always enjoy their wine and their porc meals!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fechlewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Follow the locals”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I always try to eat where locals eat when I travel and this is the case here. It's good local food at reasonable prices. Service can be sometimes patchy and slow but staff is generally friendly and will try to help you if you don't speak Georgian, as is my case. Will go there again for sure. The branch in Leselidze in the old town is my favorite.

Helpful?
Thank JGioP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Where locals take people they really like.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want excellent Georgian food and not just a restaurant meant to impress visitors, then this is the place. The one on the north side of the river is newer, bigger and I thought nicer, but all offer great food and excellent value. The one near Freedom Square is very popular and a bit smaller and the one in Batumi was also good, although inside the smell wasn't so pleasant, so we sat outside. Try the various kinds of khinkali (tip: always order khinkali in 5s!) and the corn bread is great. Of course cheese, xachipuri, pkhali and salads of all kinds and a carafe of Georgian wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No service at all”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Do not go there alone! They let me stand by the bar with a beer more than half an hour before giving me the worst table in front of the entrance. Other guests got their table before me even if they have arrived after me. Nobody is giving me the menu or ask if I want something. Finally I am able to order. The food is just OK, not more. When it is time to pay, I have to fight the waiter for some sauce I odered but never got. I did not want to pay the 10 % service charge, because I dis not get any service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juhani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice place. Know what to order and you'll have a fantastic experience.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place is great. It's one of the restaurants of the GMC group. It is very inexpensive and has delicious food. Try the various Khinkali. I love the ones with mushrooms or meat. The khatchapuri is also very well prepared. I also always get a "georgian" salad on the side. Just delicious. I'm not a super big fan of the mains, but after the appetizers there's little place left. My favorite thing is the very low price of good wine. You can have a whole bottle of good saperavi and it won't dent your pocket.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pablotheagave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shemoikhede Genatsvale also viewed

Tbilisi, Georgia
Tbilisi, Georgia
 
Tbilisi, Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing