We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for French Food..”
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
Ranked #14 of 1,110 Restaurants in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range: $18 - $150
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Le Planteur is located in an heritage house of 1902 by Inya Lake in Yangon. The restaurant allies Asian twist of flavors including new accents in modern European & Indochine fine dining. Crossing the gate of Le Planteur, you get the experience of a real time travel. In the garden or in the dining room, Le Planteur offers breathtaking scenery and stylish surroundings.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

I first visited this restaurant at old place and then they moved to a more beautiful location and the view of the lake is so romantic. they couple it with really fine dining and the food quality is super.....

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank PrinceMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 430 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2016

This restraunt features French food which are authentic. The amazing view of the lake, the service and the food has earned them a Michelin star in my mind.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank ukyilwin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Want to feel like a French envoy visiting Rangoon in 1920? Want to enjoy great food which doesn't only tastes good but also looks great? This is the place to go.

We had a great evening with a surprise finale. Finding the restaurant took the taxi driver some time but arriving at Le Planteur is immediately felt good. We were seated on the top floor in a great atmosphere.

We decided to go for a four course meal and accompanying whines. The food was great and the wines a treat. The personnel is very helpful and no when to be there for you and when to dissolve in the background.

After a very tasty dessert we were tired of the day visiting some of the Yangon highlights. We were brought home as a service of the restaurant in a great British classic finishing the great evening out in style.

All in all a great experience!

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Myself and my girlfriend dined out at Le Planteur on our first date after a visit of the Shwedagon Pagoda. It was a truly lovely romantic evening spent at this gorgeous setting eating outside overlooking the Inya lake, It was really fine dining at its best.
Everything about Le Planteur was beautiful from its elegant decoration and setting to its extensive fine wines and delicately presented food. We had the 6 course set menu and the food was absolutely divine, each dish that came out was some of the best food id ever eaten. They had an extensive wine list and cellar too which we snuck a quick peak of underneath the old heritage building.

The service from the staff was highly professional and attentive as you would expect from such a fine dining establishment, but also very warm and friendly, which made for a very relaxed atmosphere, they made us feel very much at home. We enjoyed it so much that we were the last to leave the restaurant, but we never felt rushed by the staff, they just let us enjoy evening and take our time. Made for a truly fantastic romantic evening out in Yangon.

Now finding the place was a little tricky, described as like going on a treasure hunt, but well worth finding. If you ask any of the Taxi drivers they should know where it is.

The price although high for this part of the world, it was well worth it for such great food and service in a beautiful location you can’t fault it, perfect for a special occasion.
A must visit for anyone in Yangon or Myanmar for that matter.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank leifstarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

We went for dinner. It is a beautiful restaurant with a lovely view to the lake and a nice big house.
I ordered the wagyu beef with polenta in the side it was excellent. My husband ordered the fish menu; lobster ravioli with truffle and the salmon very good! For dessert the mango and coconut ice cream parfait is very good and the french wine is very good too! The service was excellent the chef Gil very thoughtful, It made our day in yangoon better!

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank esittonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.