We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OUr Best meal in Yangon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Planteur

Le Planteur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $150
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: WE HAVE MOVED TO 80 UNIVERSITY AVENUE. Le Planteur opens a new restaurant on Inya Lake, at 80 University Road. Le Planteur (Inya Lake) upgraded even more to the next standard of finesse in quality, standard and ambience!! And so, Le Planteur (Inya Lake) remains faithful to its concept, in a stunningly attractive venue!! It is an exciting and wonderful evolution and change for Le Planteur - but the things you and I love about Le Planteur have not changed. A new Chef arrived at Le Planteur! The team is proud to welcome Chef Gil Dumoulin who will be in charge of the fine dining restaurant.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OUr Best meal in Yangon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

the wagyu beef steak with foie gras was perfect- a local bottledRED MOUNTAIN red wine was exquisite- a pleasant surprise- grape vines flown in from France. If you should have only One (1) great meal in Yangon -this is the place:-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    238
    90
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Garden dining under the stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The large outdoor garden at the rear of the restaurant was a surprise to see in Yangon. Combined with dining under the stars and the fine food, it was an enjoyable experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Yangon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

An atmospheric colonial style French restaurant in a beautiful garden setting: this is a must when visiting Yangon - fabulous food and a great wine list - overall a truly memorable evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly nsw
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful garden restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The restaurant is in a large garden displayed beautifully with soft lights and parasols. The tables were large and well ordered. It seemed to me that the night we were there the staff were on a training course. No real problems but only half of the table had their drinks order given them. Another had her entree before she received her aperitif. This is not a criticism, i think they are doing well considering the country is just opening up to tourists. The food was quite nice as were the wines which you could order by the glass or bottle. Not all at our table of 8 were happy with the standard of the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyManlynsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Le Planteur is some distance away from the city centre, but the management offers a complimentary car service in an ancient Vauxhall or Morris. On arrival you are shepherded into a beautiful garden and looked after by a bevy of black-uniformed staff. No one seems to be in charge, but everyone seems to know their job. However, our waiter mistook an order for carrot soup with orange and ginger with pumpkin soup. Sometimes one can be too clever in taking orders from memory! I was, however, in no pain, as a large glass of Chivas Regal at 5 dollars was cheaper than a bottle of water at 6 dollars. The carrot soup was exceptional, as were my wife's scallops. For the main course my wife had "fabulous" giant prawns in alight sauce, while I chose a strip loin of marbled Japanese beef with a light pepper sauce. This was competently prepared with a gratin of potatoes on the side. Personally I like some peppercorns to be rolled into the steak, and the quantity of sauce was somewhat meagre. Still, this seems to be unarguably the best restaurant in town and the atmosphere was superb. As we waited for our car to deliver us home, we were allowed to inspect the wine cellar, a magnificent collection, particularly of French Bordeaux. Our bill before service came to 172 dollars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Horace4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Planteur also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Le Planteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing