We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectular for fine dining”
Review of Rangoon Tea House

Rangoon Tea House
Ranked #23 of 1,094 Restaurants in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Burmese
Description: Rangoon Tea House is a modern recreation of an old, colonial-era restaurant set in the heart of Yangon. The cuisine is inspired from that of local tea shops, whose traditions stretch back to when Burma was a part of British India when Rangoon was the second largest migration port in the world. That translates to the menu where you can find Mohinga, biryani, and chocolate samosas!
Restaurant details
Description: Rangoon Tea House is a modern recreation of an old, colonial-era restaurant set in the heart of Yangon. The cuisine is inspired from that of local tea shops, whose traditions stretch back to when Burma was a part of British India when Rangoon was the second largest migration port in the world. That translates to the menu where you can find Mohinga, biryani, and chocolate samosas!
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Excellent quality of meals. Ribs from Naga Land is my favorite. The restarurant is quite pricy yet it's worth it to go and have a goood time there. Lunchtime is quite noisy though. But Breakfast times are very pleasant with nice and quiet environment.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 633kaungmyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,304 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

This is an upscale version of local tea shop with a twist of modern culinary skill. You can have traditional tea shop snacks such as Samosa, Prata and even full lunch or dinner dishes. A must try new menu item is claypot rice with Shan sausages and pickled cabbages. And of course complete your meal with a cup of Burmese sweet tea or Faluda dessert.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank seanlin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

We actually saw this on one of the maps the hotel gave us. However it was listed as a cafe because of its 'tea shop' name. We looked on tripadvisor and thought we'd try it for dinner. It's on the second floor and the signage for the place is subtle, but the best thing to remember is that it's next to Sharky's restaurant. If you look up you'll see a white lit up sign with a teapot on it. The restaurant is a colonial style with an industrial twist that works wonders. The menu is fantastic. We had the Biryani both nights because we loved it so much. The tea leaf salad and samosa salad were delicious as well. I was feeling adventurous and tried Mr. Aung's Chai Beer, very unusual but tasty! This restaurant was our favourite in Yangon.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank LisaF4716
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Excellent place to take a break when exploring downtown Yangon. Their coffee is excellent, as is their Mandalay Rum Sour! One would wish a few more vegetarian options on the menu, but the ones that are there, are very nice, whether it is the Aubergine Curry or the Vegetarian Biryani. Several of the traditional Myanmar salads are also very tasty. I have enjoyed my frequent visits, allowing me to catch up with news, mail etc. via internet.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ulla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I love the tea, especially the Cho Pawt. The food menu is okay, I've had tried plenty of them, but the fried squid gotta be my favorite. Butterfish grill is nice, daggertooth mohinga is okay (not a big fan of mohinga :P), and their pork bun is very interesting. The ambiance is relaxing, I spent all afternoon just to work there, and the waiters are great too.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Dian Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Rangoon Tea House also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Rangoon Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.