We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel close to a grocery store”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #52 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Decent hotel close to a grocery store”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed our first night in Myanmar - and we really appreciated that the hotel made our rooms available from early morning (we checked in at about 8-9 am). Another positive was working (and free) wifi - in a country where western cellphones still don't work, this is the only way to get to communicate with the rest of the world from Myanmar.
Hotel itself is quite big, our group was dispersed throughout different floors and the general conclusion seemed to be that the higher the better - I myself was on 2nd floor with a horrific view to some sort of a yard - ended up not even opening the shades as a result thereof.
Otherwise, rooms were clean, A/C worked, drinking water provided and even refilled. Breakfast was nothing special - however there was some very nice fresh fruit.
Just to note that there is a very well stocked grocery store just around the corner from the hotel (right side when you leave) - this proved to be our popular source of Myanmar - the local beer of choice :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KachkaUmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    84
    144
    26
    8
See reviews for
16
91
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the only good hotel available to us during our trip to Myanmar last year. Most of the hotels were fully booked and we were offered Panorama instead. We requested to stay at 8th and 9th floor. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The buffet breakfast was so-so, not so much choices. Overall a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kakku2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour arranged by a local agency as well. This is a budget hotel, so that is fine if this is what you are expecting. The staff was nice (they gave us breakfast boxes when we left very early) and it was relatively clean, but the food at the restaurant was not good, the free breakfast is not really worth it, and there was absolutely no water pressure in the shower. It is not a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guizzi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The local travel company who arranged for my tour could not book me at the other hotel that I wanted to stay at. But they could book me at this hotel. I spent two nights. The very first night in Maynmar and the very last night in Myanmar.

I do not know the room rate that my travel agency had negotiated with this hotel but I could say that it is not expensive.

It takes approximately 30 minutes to and from the airport. And less than 10 minutes to Shwe Dagon Pagoda. And a short walk to down town market area. Although I did not go to the market area.

The reception, the bell boys and the other staff members were welcoming. The check-in was quick and hassel free. In fact when I returned after 7 days for my last night they had my passport info from the first night stay and did not ask for the passport. The reception desk exchanges the currency both ways at good rates without the fuss of requiring the crisp new bills.

My single room was on the fifth floor and it was facing the back of the hotel. I did not hear any street noise. The room was spacious and well furnished. The bathroom was clean and had all the necessary toiletries. The bed and linens were also good. The A/C in the room worked well. A small TV had international channels. Teak wood closet and furniture were in good condition.The hotel does have an elevator.

Since the site seeing consumed most of my day time, I opted to have dinner at the hotel. The menu had items from Chinese, Indian. local and wetsern cuisines. The overall food was good and moderately priced. The beer was served cold and was refreshing.

Since I had to catch early morning flights, I did not have breakfast at the hotel but they did provide me with a box containing two boiled eggs, banana, bread etc. They could definitely improve up on this package though. This is the only negative comment I have for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor and away from the front street to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here as part of a locally arranged tour. Rooms were clean and functional and toilets were clean with basic amenities such as toothbrushes. What was somewhat annoying was the constant noise as we were assigned a room right next to the main road / highway and the constant honking of car horns and traffic is never ending.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Its no great shakes but clean and comfortable stay. If you are just staying one night for an internal flight to Bagan or Lake Inle the next day it's really worth it at around 95 USD as there is not much to offer in terms of mid range in Yangon. The more established chains are taking advantage of the opening up of Myanmar and are unreasonably hiking up the prices to 250 - 300 USD per night for what is still a mediocre stay.So in terms of pricing versus the more established chains it is well worth the money. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is located in downtown. Sakura Tower (the highest building in Myanmar) is just close.
I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The building and a room is not new, but all people working for reception and maintenance were friendly. When I was going to charge battery for the camera, I found it was difficult to insert BF type plug to consent and called, then a maintenance man came to check and brought an extention code with five consents to meet BF type plug.
The next day, when I came back to my room, two towels were fold like opposite cranes and put on the bed. The third day, I had to leave at 7.00 a.m. and at the previous evening I asked reception people to prepare breakfast box at 6.00 o'clock, she (one of the maintenance people) brought it to my room. After I finished eating breakfast in my room, I came down to the reception. I waited for a driver to pick me up to Nay Pyi Taw, but he didn't come at the appointed time (7.00a.m.). While I was waiting, a porter helped me so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Asia Plaza Hotel
Asia Plaza Hotel
#61 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#36 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#58 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#43 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#77 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panorama Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and JovagoAsia so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Panorama Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing