We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total rip off!!”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total rip off!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We started badly at our arrival in Yangon ( no hotel reserved due a flight schedule change). Our first option for hotel was full, so, they recomended to come to this one. For our surprise, the hotel price was more that the double that can be seen at website/guidebooks. Due lack of rooms available in town we had not choice but to accept the price.
The hotel is mediocre, the food at the restaurant is mediocre and the service slow.
The room ( and especially the toilet) was the dirtiest that I have ever seen for that price.
If this guys think that they can compete in south east Asia with this prices, they should think twice. I would recomend for that price a nice resort in Thailand rather that to throw your money in a place like this.
Now you are warmed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos-miguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    82
    144
    26
    8
See reviews for
16
89
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. It is a hotel with large rooms and a large bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable. It had air con, fridge, tv,etc. The breakfast was quite good, consisting of a buffet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The desk will help you organize quick taxis around Yangon. There is a department store around the corner.
The best part of the hotel is also the distant view of the Schwedegon Pagoda. I was on the 8th floor out of 10 floors. Try to book a room as high as possible, also to relieve yourself of traffic noise, Though it wasn't too bad anyway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible for he view of the Scwedegon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

hi guys...rates have shot up in yangoon over the last 2 yrs...v stayed at almost 90 dollars a day double occupancy...rooms are ok..neat n tidy...breakfast is just fine...
but if u r on business..then i its good..since its right at the middle of activities...offices, port, theartres, restuarants, shops...
if u r on holiday..i suggest to go in for a better option!
cheers :)

Room Tip: look for a room at a higher level...else u might find urself b.w 2 buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashantgvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Though within walking distance of Scot Market, the Traders landmark, and other central activities, the Panorama Hotel is awkwardly set behind a viaduct and the street outside is in really rough shape. The hotel itself is decidedly average and caters somewhat impersonally to a business/ tourist clientelle. Furthermore it has jacked up its rates alarmingly with the last few years and is now definitely overpriced. That said, everything worked, which is quite unusual in Myanmar, and the upper level room we had (sixth floor) was quiet, and the restaurant is always open to serve acceptable food. Not a repeatable experience, but one can do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Try for a upper level room for a better view and greater quiet. Check that everything works in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

One of three hotels we stayed in in Yangon (see May Shan and Winner Inn for comparisons), this was the least impressive. We paid $100 for an OK room with very little in it apart from a decent bed. Poor bathroom, view of the flyover, overall rather depressing. Staff were, as almost everywhere in Yangon, helpful and friendly. This hotel is 5mins walk to the train station - we chose it because we had an early train the next day (and there wasn't much choice!) so location was perfect. It's also an easy walk to main market, Sule Paya and Indian and Chinese quarters. We checked in at 9pm after late arrival of a flight from Pagan and ended up having to eat in the hotel restaurant, where in between over-priced Chinese staples were fantastic cheap Indian veggie options, so one big plus about this hotel is the ability to get a great meal after normal restaurant hours for about K1500! (£1.50) Maybe it's a misprint they've not spotted?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yangon is more expensive for accomodation than other places so your choices are limited if you are on a budget. Panorama is adequate. The TVs in both rooms that we had (once when arriving and once when leaving Myanmar) did not work, once we did not have toilet paper, the cleaning of the rooms is barely sufficient, water pressure is weak, etc. At the same time, it is quite central to various sites and does provide working AC and hot water and the staff are friendly and try to be helpful. I would suggest elsewhere if you find it for a similar praice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs_london2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is a midrange hotel in a street afrond a dark black viaduct. just the higher rooms have a view. nice but sober breakfast. nice room and bathroom. nice loby with two internet computers, slow wifi in your room. 85 us is too much compared with Bangkok. some cafe's restaurants nearby. walking distance from the centre. helpful people at the reception for getting cheap taxi's to the airport. modern supermarket around the corner. under the viaduct are people who care for your feet.

Room Tip: the higher rooms the better for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Plaza Hotel
Asia Plaza Hotel
#60 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#77 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#31 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panorama Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Panorama Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing