We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, over-priced, but good location”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed January 11, 2013

One of three hotels we stayed in in Yangon (see May Shan and Winner Inn for comparisons), this was the least impressive. We paid $100 for an OK room with very little in it apart from a decent bed. Poor bathroom, view of the flyover, overall rather depressing. Staff were, as almost everywhere in Yangon, helpful and friendly. This hotel is 5mins walk to the train station - we chose it because we had an early train the next day (and there wasn't much choice!) so location was perfect. It's also an easy walk to main market, Sule Paya and Indian and Chinese quarters. We checked in at 9pm after late arrival of a flight from Pagan and ended up having to eat in the hotel restaurant, where in between over-priced Chinese staples were fantastic cheap Indian veggie options, so one big plus about this hotel is the ability to get a great meal after normal restaurant hours for about K1500! (£1.50) Maybe it's a misprint they've not spotted?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yangon is more expensive for accomodation than other places so your choices are limited if you are on a budget. Panorama is adequate. The TVs in both rooms that we had (once when arriving and once when leaving Myanmar) did not work, once we did not have toilet paper, the cleaning of the rooms is barely sufficient, water pressure is weak, etc. At the same time, it is quite central to various sites and does provide working AC and hot water and the staff are friendly and try to be helpful. I would suggest elsewhere if you find it for a similar praice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rs_london2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is a midrange hotel in a street afrond a dark black viaduct. just the higher rooms have a view. nice but sober breakfast. nice room and bathroom. nice loby with two internet computers, slow wifi in your room. 85 us is too much compared with Bangkok. some cafe's restaurants nearby. walking distance from the centre. helpful people at the reception for getting cheap taxi's to the airport. modern supermarket around the corner. under the viaduct are people who care for your feet.

Room Tip: the higher rooms the better for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

-currently staying
-requested nice aircon because of past experience
-aircon is ok but need repairman to fix TV and flush(toilet) after check-in
-rates up more than double than two years ago for the same room with same facility
-would be nice to treat equal foreigner or local

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed our time at this hotel. Yes it was dated and rather musty but the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and the staff was pleasant and helpful. I loved the pots of Indian tea and the fresh fruit on the buffet. I also enjoyed the amazing massage I received just out in the parking lot (outside the hotel) from a woman who spoke no English but definitely knew her stuff! Ask for an inside room as the traffic noise is very loud when facing the street. I also always bring a small bottle of verbena or lemon spray which neutralizes the ubiquitous mothball odour in the bathrooms. (used for cockroach control) The area is really interesting to walk around, lots to see.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 754SueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a comfortable and conveniently located hotel within waking distance to good food and sites. The rooms are simple, dated but feel classic and somewhat charming. The bathroom is similar. Smoking is allowed inside, which contributes to an overall musty, dingy atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was tired and served in a stark room. Good wifi was available intermittently in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank npj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our rooms were clean, good showers, best internet access during our stay in Myanmar. Location was good, close to the market. One thing I found odd, we stayed there at the begining of our trip and had a hot water pot in the room, which I love because I get up early so I have my instant Starbucks VIA using the electric hot water pot. When we returned at the end of our stay there was not a hot water pot in the room so I asked for one and they would not bring it. They would bring a pot of hot water when you requested it but for some reason they absolutely would not bring the electric pot to my room. Not a big deal but odd since I knew they had them... Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, we had a late flight on our last day and they allowed us to have a late check out.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 9th floor, it's where they keep housekeeping and the phone rings all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MishNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#55 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#42 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#64 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asia Plaza Hotel
Asia Plaza Hotel
#72 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Yangon
Central Hotel Yangon
#70 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $45 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Panorama Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing