We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family hotel in the heart of Yangon”
Review of Majesty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Majesty Hotel
Ranked #32 of 173 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in March 2014. It is a very small hotel in North of Yangon, 15-min drive to Shwedagon pagoda.
I highly recommend it: as soon as you enter, you feel that you are part of the family. Warm welcome. It is very clean (this is not the case in most of the hotels in Myanmar), rooms are nice. The breakfast is good (continental and myanmar food), made by a very nice lady who will explain you what she is making.
Good valur for money in a very expensive city.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Mimie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Majesty Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed there for 1 night between 2 flights as is close to the airport.
New hotel, very clean and spacious room.
Breakfast offer was limited but good.
There are plenty of restaurants in the nearby area which bustling at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at Majesty hotel in mid-February. It was really like staying in someone's house, which is something I like as it allowed me to see more than the inside of yet another hotel room. There are four levels with rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor and the dining room at the top. The room, bed and bath towels were very clean. It came with a TV, refrigerator, kettle, a teabag and sachet of coffee, soap, shower cap, even a toothbrush+ toothpaste set. A bottle of water is provided and there is a water dispenser on the 2nd floor sitting area. The bathroom has a large bathtub and a hand-held shower head.

I had the best breakfast of my stay in Burma here - a tasty slightly spicy omelette with vegetables, and chicken congee with condiments (chives, tofu salad, and fried garlic/onions/chopped up dried prawns), followed by dessert of agar jelly made with coconut water and topped with the flesh of young coconut. There was also the usual fruit, toast, jam,butter, fried eggs. The cook was a warm, obliging lady who, when I asked if there was mohinga, the national dish often eaten for breakfast, said no, but if I wanted it, she would make it. I declined of course as she was busy enough.

The house/hotel is off Insein road, a major road with lots of eateries and shops frequented by students from the nearby Yangon university. Within a 5 -7 minute walk are a number of eateries including a food court, a Chinese restaurant, a well-known local noodle house YKKO, and a bakery/eatery that serves Western meals and local food. The latter is patronised by local youths in jeans rather than longyis, and sneakers rather than slippers.

One tip is to bring a torchlight if you are going out in the night as the lane into the hotel is not well lit and the parts of the pavement on Insein road are uneven or broken.

The other tip is that if, you experience one of Myanmar's electrical black outs, you have to press a button on the side of the electrical box next to the air conditioner, before you are able to turn the air con on again. It happened soon after I checked in so the owner, a very nice man, came up to show me where to press the button. But if it had happened in the middle of the night, and you didn't know about it, it could spell a warm night.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

private owned hotel inbetween airport and downtown. quiet but close to the mainroad. absolute friendly and personal runned by the owners family. rooms clean, quiet, aircon is working properly, sat-tv on flatscreen, bathroom clean with warm shower. breakfast plenty, european or local as you like. owner offers help in all situations like looking for taxi, fix the price with the driver, organizes trips and helps with bookings to other sightseeingplaces or even airlinetickets online-checkin and reconfirmations. wifi in the room is also working constant and properly. all over best what you can get for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: upper floors maybe less risky for moscitos, but door and window is secured. breakfastroom is on the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friedrich w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Run by a husband and wife team, both of whom speak good English and

are keen to help, this is a well priced hotel with very clean European

standard rooms and comfortable beds and flat screen tv. Modern

bathroom with bath and shower over. Breakfast was a disappointment but

all in all a very good value hotel for Yangon these days, and even though it

was in the middle of the city it was not too noisy. They do not serve

dinner, but there are plenty of restaurants on the main road near the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at this hidden away hotel,15minutes from airport n 10minutes to city centre;Very clean
and great service for tourists who needs information on their travel in Mynamar,Mr Nay is a problem solver,arranged us transportation at very very reasonable price to Bago,compared to hotel rates in the city,I recommend this hotel.Why pay over 100USD in the city when Majesty hotelhas all the 4 stars qualities,large rooms,high ceiling,hot water available all time,mini bar well replenished at budget rates and of all spotless clean towels n bedsheets which is rare elsewhere.The breakfast is at the terrace which is a change for us;
Thank you M.Nay and staff for all the great effoft service given to us and other guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOLECREEK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Clean, big rooms, helpful staff. However, in a very noisy part of town, with a major road passing nearby. Aside from that, very obliging , friendly owners, with good level of spoken English. A good stop gap in Yangon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the street, to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Summer Palace
#111 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yangon Hub
Yangon Hub
#21 of 92 in Yangon (Rangoon)
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wai Wai's Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Wai Wai's Boutique Bed & Breakfa...
#22 of 92 in Yangon (Rangoon)
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Varsity Apartments
The Varsity Apartments
#27 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel June Business Bed Breakfast
Hotel June Business Bed Breakfas...
#52 of 92 in Yangon (Rangoon)
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
San Yar Shwe Pyi Hotel
#72 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majesty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majesty Hotel

Address: 105/B Yadanar Myaing Street, San-Yeik-Nyein, Off Insein Road, Hledan | Ward-1, Kamayut Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11041, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $37 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majesty Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family-run B&B that started operation in November 2013. We always try to give our guest excellent personalized service. Our hotel is located near Hledan flyover and traffic point which is a famous place to experience local food and daily life of people. We are close to Yangon University, Inya Lake, Junction Square shopping mall, coming-soon 5-star Novotal Hotel and American embassy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and JovagoAsia so you can book your Majesty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majesty Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing