We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile if you want to pay your respects!”

Aung San Suu Kyi House
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worthwhile if you want to pay your respects!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went to see Aung San Suu Kyi's home out of respect for a great lady and a national treasure. After reading a few of her books I felt compelled to go try and catch a glimpse ot the iconic woman herself. Got a view of what we thought was her son leaving the property.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    86
    177
    74
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Out of respect for the Great Lady I had my photo taken outside the iron gates of the home in which she was kept under house arrest but apart from those gates you cant see anything. Of much more value and interest is the museum dedicated to her father, General Aung San, which is located in the family home that Suu Kyi grew up in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
325 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Knowing Myanmar History and Aung San Suu Kyi is What Makes it Worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

You will be disappointed if you are expecting anything more than a steel gate. But that's the beauty of it. Isn't it? A woman, who may be the next President of Myanmar, was bound to this address for years without any communication to her husband or children. Had been awarded a Nobel Peace Prize but was unable to claim it for this steel gate that surrounded her. There's something poetic about the way the steel doors caged her physical body but not her spirit, not her thoughts, not her determination. What more could a tourist ask for of the physical embodiment of a repressive regime that she rose and is rising above than two bulky, gray, locked steel gate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Asoupcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Had to be done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nothing really to look at, and we knew that, but it was something that had to be done, and I'm so glad we stopped off there for a photo-shoot. We also went to her childhood home which is now a museum dedicated to a father, General Aung San, it is small but you can go inside ant get a feel of it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuaHinGovernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An important site but hard to see from the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Street traffic often prevents you from stopping to look at the home she was held under house arrest of over 15 years. It is an important historical site for the country but the high walls and traffic whizzing by make it difficult to achieve the contemplative state it deserves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelindaMSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aung San Suu Kyi House also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Aung San Suu Kyi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing