We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in the atmosphere of the royalty”
Review of Karaweik Palace

Karaweik Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Culture Show at Karaweik Palace Yangon with International Buffet Dinner
More Info
$58.80*
and up
Private Half-Day Yangon Walking Tour
More Info
$81.25*
and up
The Real Yangon Day Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Karaweik Palace is a truly unique building and a landmark of Yangon. A multi cuisine A La Carte Lunch from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM with Myanmar famous "Daung Lan Gyi" set for those who wants to dine like the ancient royal families and enjoy an evening international buffet with an amazing cultural show from 6:00PM to 9:00 PM.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner in the atmosphere of the royalty”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This boat like restaurant need prior reservations. The food is buffet with a good variety of western and local cuisine. You will enjoy the traditional dance of the various ethnic groups in Myanmar - very colorful and unique. Worth the money to cap off the trip to Yangon

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KayseeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    125
    101
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Landmark of Yangon”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have to agree with most of the reviews, Karaweik Palace is not that bad, if we are not paying for the buffet and the show.

My family and I visited Kandawgyi Lake in late morning, and found the area was nice for a walk. Karaweik is just like a quiet sitting duck on a side of the lake. The structure looked nice with a clear reflection from the water. We found a nice place for taking photo on a bridge on the right of Karaweik. We had a nice lunch at one of the Thai food restaurant beside Karaweik.

If you think that paying a huge amount of money for the buffet and cultural performance is too risky (both budget and satisfaction), then you can just pay USD2 to enter the garden, walk around, take photo, perhap take a lunch, and leave.

Visiting Karaweik and taking photo with it is a must. It is a landmark of Yangon afterall. But going for the food and the show is optional. None of my family members regreted to miss the food and the show so far.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LS_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yangon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dinner”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Woooow...I sure did love the dinner, the puppet show and Burmese cultural dances. Is very appropriate for evening dinners. The service was really great......

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzzette_Flemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Don't be deceived by the dazzling glamour.

20000 kyats is simply exorbitant for substandard food and boring performances. The restaurant is enormous, with only 3 or 4 waiters running like headless chickens. Used plates piled up on each table. Food at the buffet area was not replenished fast enough and ran out due to the huge crowd of guests. Ice-cream melted and did not look so appetizing at all.

Performances were mainly Burmese traditional dances.

I would say it was the worst food we had tasted in Yangon during our 4-day visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank kchmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't go in for food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pretty from the outside but the park fees and mediocre food (which supports the government) make this a pass. Even the show couldn't take the sting out of giving the money to the Military.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank medraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karaweik Palace also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Karaweik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing