We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Awe Inspiring Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Mary's Cathedral

Saint Mary's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half Day Yangon City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An Awe Inspiring Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This Cathedral was quite different to any others that I have visited in Europe, Asia & the Pacific.
The interior reminded one of Spanish Mission style similar to the Cathedral in Geraldton, Western Australia in which the brickwork is laid in coloured bands. There was nothing to dislike there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dalger1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    174
    64
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The exterior of the church is breathtaking, with the red and white bricks and the size of the church.
Inside, there are stained glass panels depicting the various mysteries of the rosary, and some of the saints. Many statues too.

We attended an English mass at 8.15am. It is a Roman Catholic church. The service was familiar but they do love their Latin songs! Sermon was in a mix of English and Burmese, and slightly over twenty minutes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank puddlepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Must visit. The church is very big. Seeing the stained glass with your own eyes is much more beautiful than in any picture.

Helpful?
1 Thank KarnPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Church”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We joined the Saturday mass and had been asked and confirmed by some people if we are Catholic Rome. It was awkward but still we enjoy the mass very much. We didn't had time to take picture inside the church as they closed the church just after the mass is finished.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosebyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This a beautiful structure in the middle of town with 2 tall bell towers. We went inside during a mass. Beautiful stained glass windows inside.
Worth a look.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary's Cathedral also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Saint Mary's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing