We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, family mood, hidden street in great location”
Review of Wai Wai's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wai Wai's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a really well-rested night there just on the day before returning home after 10 days of Mynmar. The breakfast is great, (Mohinga for breakfast is a speciality, guaranteed). The owner Wai Wai is a very kind and friendly person :) Good English too, and quick response either by phone or email. Support this place, a recent venture, and a sure fair price (Oct. 2013, 35$ double room w/BFast) for a spacious room with air con in such a welcoming B&B stay (only 5 rooms) in a house. It's a quiet street in a residential area and barely any traffic. Crows crow a lot during the afternoon and there were a couple of termites on the furniture, but to complete surprise to the owner, who has probably taken care of it by now.
It's just off Pyay Road to the north, making it easy to get taxis everywhere in the city, as well as being close to the airport.
Amidst the hotel racket of Myanmar, this is surely a pearl.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDCMCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 258 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I came across Wai Wai's Place by chance but I'm pleased I did. I stayed at her place, which is effectively a homestay, for 4 nights. Rooms are basic but clean and spacious with aircon. The house is on a quiet street near the university and and not far from Inya Lake and Aung San Suu Kyi's house. But staying here is not just about the rooms but the person who runs the place.

On the first day Wai Wai picked me up from the airport and I was later invited to her birthday dinner with her friends. It was a great introduction to Yangon and some of the people that live in this country. Wai Wai is a busy lady (she works for an NGO, looks after her neice, and is setting up other businesses) but always looked after me. This means from serving breakfast to helping me get a a cab at 5.30am.

This is a fantastic place to experience Burma's hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TGandhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in Wai Wai's Place for two months this summer, and I can say without a doubt that it's a really great find. Wai Wai, the owner, went out of her way to make my stay feel as comfortable as possible, it was like living at a host family.

Since it was the rainy/monsoon season with an ongoing discount, I paid $400 a month staying in a single room, with my own private bathroom, hot water, towels, air conditioning, wifi, breakfast and laundry included. Service was impeccable, Wai Wai was very hospitable in ensuring that all her guests felt at home. The house is equipped with a washing and drying machine, and they will even iron all your clothes for you. Perfect for business people who needs their shirts to be in crisp condition.

During my stay I had problems being woken up by mosquitoes in the middle of the night and Wai Wai bought me a mosquito net to drape over the bed and I had no problems since.

Breakfast is very fulfilling, usually with a plate of fruit, a choice of eggs and toast or local noodles. She also holds dinner parties from time to time, where she cooks local Burmese food and it is a great time for guests and friends, both locals and expatriates to meet and mingle together over some drinks and a lovely meal.

As mentioned by other reviews, it is located in a very safe and quiet area, close to restaurants, shopping malls, banks and everything you would need. Going downtown is convenient and inexpensive. Make sure you have Wai Wai's business card with you so the taxi driver drop you off exactly at the gate. If not, it's a short 3 minute walk from the main road where you normally would hail taxis.

You are free to use the kitchen as well if you would like to cook, it is very well stocked and equipped with refrigerator, electric and gas stove (in case there's a power cut), and even an oven. There is an insanely huge international supermarket nearby called Marketplace by Citymart which has everything you need. Wai Wai will be happy to give you directions or accompany you on the trip.

I was very lucky to have Wai Wai take such good care of me, and get to stay in such a quaint house. It is more of a private run home stay, and there are only 4 rooms in total. This way you actually get to meet some of the other guests staying there, and you can go sightseeing or just even grabbing a bite to eat around the corner together.

No point in staying in a hotel with a gem like this in Yangon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I left Wai Wai last night and can't help to recommend how perfect our stay was right after returning home.

Although she doesn't have a website, Wai Wai replies emails in a day or two. Our flight was after midnight yet she picked us up from the airport. The guesthouse is located in an upper-class residential area so it's safe and undisturbed, in between the airport and downtown. Taxis were cheap and easy to catch so accessibility was never a problem. The downtown was also noisy and dirtier so we preferred this tranquil location and comfortable environment.

A double room was US$50/ night (including airport pick-up, air-con, wifi, breakfast, towels and shower gel). Both the room and bathroom attached were spacious, neat and clean. Wai Wai's hospitality and sensitivity made us feel at home. She helped us to arrange taxis for the lowest price whenever we headed out and took us to a bank nearby with better exchange rates. She prepared delicious and varied breakfast, changing between simple western style (fruits, toasts and egg) and sometimes local noodles. She suggested where to visit and invited us to a party.

One of us became ill and we had to stay for an extra night but rooms were all occupied. Wai Wai kindly offered us mattresses and pillows to stay in the living room without charging us a penny. She then transferred us to an air-con room for my sick friend to rest for the next day. We could not ask for more.

Accommodation is unreasonably expensive in Yangon with mismatch quality. In terms of service, value, cleanliness, location, rooms, this place is a perfect choice for any short or long visits.

Room Tip: There is one single room on the ground floor for less accessible visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Reachdastars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

At a time when making big profits from foreigners and tourists in this country has become the norm (there exists a sanctioned 2 tier system of pricing for accommodation, entry to sites, transport etc) this lovely guest house is going against the trend of unrealistic hotel pricing by charging reasonable rates for an experience beyond that of a large impersonal hotel.
Wai Wai's Place is located in a quiet street close to Junction Square, the University and Pyay Rd. It is about mid way from the airport to downtown. Taxis are plentiful and cheap, so it accessible to just about anywhere in Yangon. The guest house is clean and comfortable. There are 4 rooms: one single downstairs, $20 a night; and 3 rooms upstairs - 2 double rooms at $30 a night and 1 family room (1 double bed, 1 single bed) at $35 a night.
All rooms have their own facilities (including hot showers), air con, and the tariff includes breakfast, laundry and WiFi.
Wai Wai, the owner, is friendly and helpful, making you feel part of the family. She is an excellent cook, and you may be able to score a cooking lesson!
Being the savvy business that she is, Wai Wai also has a 2 bedroom, fully furnished apartment close by, which is available for short term rental. Finding a rental lease for less than 6 months is almost impossible, but she has sensed an opportunity to fill a gap. This apartment will become popular with foreign workers who are here for just a few months.

Room Tip: Depends on if you need single, double etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean and big rooms, friendly owners, we couldn't ask for more in an unfamiliar country. We are in luck to find this newly open guesthouse and waiwai and her partners helped us a lot during the stay. Not to mention switching on the wifi from her phone to hotspot for us as they will be getting a broadband wifi in end of June. A very cute niece to play with and of course good and warmth service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bryanshih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.9 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#7 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
498 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Wai's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Wai's Place

Address: No. 4/A Thukha Street | Junction of Thukha St and Shan Kone St, Myay Ni gone, Sanchaung township, Yangon ., Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $26 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Wai's Place is nestled in the lively area of San Chaung, an ideal location to discover Yangon. Our place is not far from the city center (just 2.2 km away) and it normally takes about 25 minutes to reach the airport. The Shwedagon Pagoda is located at 10 minutes walking distance from Wai Wai's Place. We provide breakfast and arrange transportation. We have 19 rooms spread over 5 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wai Wai's Place Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing