We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice nice n nice !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice nice n nice !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I and my 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived hotel in early morning and after checking in. We were escorted to have breakfast on 7th Fl. And it was complimentary. We didn't expect it so we appreciated. And breakfast was not bad.
The hotel location was great !! Every where seemed not far from the hotel. Local shopping mall just 2 mins by walk. Big market (I forgot the name) just 3 mins. Scott market less than 15 mins. To Sule pagoda just 7 mins. Shwedagon and Botataung also cheap by taxi.
The room was a bit small but very clean. House keeping guy did a great job.
Every staff was super kind, so friendly and very helpful. They gave us many info. Also helped us about the bus and taxi. We bought sarongs (didn't know how to call in Myanmar) and wanted to wear to Shwedagon. 2 girls helped us to wear sarongs. We were thankful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jidee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    199
    97
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
176
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location in China Town, Yangon and Sule pagoda is just few meters away.
Room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is well prepared on the top of the hotel however the seats are limited that someone has to wait.
Staff has a good attitude and willing to serve and help but with limit knowledge on Yangon information. It is better to get the information from Tourist Information Center at the corner of Sule Pagoda just opposite the City Hall.
On the 19th street just one hundred meters away is a great place to hang around for drink and dinner at night.

Room Tip: Higher Floor is better to keep you away from the noise of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Din34eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean, friendly, accessible to all major sites. Breakfast was adequate, location very safe ,superior room was a corner room .ac was great, room was quiet. We were celebrating 44th wedding anniversary and hotel had beautiful cake and champaigne waiting for us. Nice surprise. We arrived after midnight and hotel was waiting for us. Very reassuring in new city. In 2 weeks in country we used hotel 3 times as base for in country travel .our issue came when we asked for assistance in arranging bus to Ngwe Saung . We were told no bus for day we needed it . We had reservations and needed to get there. We asked about car and driver for round trip( 5 hour trip one way) they found car and driver 350.00 USD. We hesitated but agreed when told again no bus when we need to go.we arived without incident at destination and soon met traveler who also just arrived by bus from Yangon.acbus, ,lunch break ,2 toilet stops in 5 hours...cost 10.00USD. We were very upset to say the least. After returing to yangon 3 days later. The hotel ofered no explanation,and acted like they had no idea what weweretalking about. There was NO.LANGUAGE ISSUE...350.00 USD vs 10.00 USD. When we asked other drivers in taxiswe were given price consistantly of 200.00 USD. QUITEa markup for hotel especially when bus was only 10.00 USD.. THIS TOO BAD toto have this happen especially since all else was good .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Mingalabar! Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel with regards to the location, room, facilities, breakfast and the nice surprise.

Our guest relations team has communicated with you back-and-forth having heard about this issue and even though we understand the issue has not been completely resolved, we hope there is a more mutual understanding about the occurrences. We place integrity and honesty as high priorities to excellent service within our staffs and the problem arose from mis-communication and mis-understanding about the precise times and dates of your following vacation. Our team here also researches thoroughly the best rates for our guests and as you can also research with online agencies, local agencies and forums, the rate provided by our staffs for a private vehicle was reasonable. Please be assured that our hotel takes no mark-ups from agencies and our travel partners, so the rates we provide are directly from these agencies.

Once again, we apologize for this inconvenience caused and this motivates us to work hard to ensure such occurrences do not happen again. Apart from this, it is great to hear that other aspects of your stay went well and we would like to show that we can improve upon the weaknesses mentioned - looking forward to welcoming you in your next visits to this beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

As a solo traveler this was a bit out of my price range (but where isn't in Yangon), however I felt the extra money I spent was fully justified. I arrived at 7am and although check in time was 2pm and the hotel was full, they managed to get me into a room at 9.30am for no extra cost. And I spent the two hours waiting in the 'restaurant' on the top floor gorging myself on endless supplies of crispy bacon and baked beans. Staff were great, wanted to watch a specific football game so they changed the channel so I could watch it in my room. Location also great Soi 19 in the evening is a cool place to be to meet people and try local food, 3 minute walk max.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall is good. Better than expected. Staffs are very helpful & good service mind. Breakfast is well prepared but the dining room is rather small. Noisy atmosphere but it's normal in central Yangon. Highly recommend for a middle-budget stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmMilikar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in March 2014 and loved it so much that we returned to stay in the penthouse! Wonderful breakfast. Small rooms, but clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful with advice and travel arrangements. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Penthouse has 180 degree view, and worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This small hotel in downtown Yangon Chinatown has extremely friendly & helpful staff; nothing was too difficult for them. When we needed a taxi they were there to hail one for us, whenever we returned they were there to welcome and carry our bags. The air conditioning worked well without a fault and the free wifi was always accessible. We stayed 5-6 nights broken into 1 & 2 night stays and were able to leave excess luggage safely at the Hotel. The rooms are not large but extremely comfortable, very clean and quiet considering that amount of traffic and life in the street below. Breakfasts are in the top floor with a great view across Chinatown and the hotel staff cater well for westerners taste, something we have only found in more expensive hotels in Myanmar. The only drawback for us was that taxi drivers could not find the Hotel. Finally we asked the staff to write in Burmese the location of the Hotel and that together with our own growing familiarity with the location helped!! Would recommend this Hotel as great value for money and tops in terms of friendliness and cleanliness. Thank you to all the staff at Grand United.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from Maharbandoola Road - imagine they could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doveAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#21 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Property: Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Address: No. 621 Maharbandoola Road | (Corner of Bo Ywe Street), Latha Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Yangon, a 5-minute drive away from Shwedagon Pagoda (a must-visit place in Yangon) and a 10-minute walk away from Sule Pagoda (the center of Yangon), Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) is located at the most prominent location in Yangon, Myanmar's economic capital. Imagine yourself stepping right outside our hotel and immediately experiencing delicious Burmese food (both street food and local restaurants), unique local shops and most importantly, warming welcome from local Burmese people.Apart from our promising location, Hotel Grand United goes with the vision that your satisfaction is key to our success. Committed to great hospitality and quality service, we genuinely care about your stay at our hotel. Given a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance, along with a panoramic view of Yangon, we sincerely hope you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, JovagoAsia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing