We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would have been a 4 exccept for one very sour issue!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Ranked #28 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would have been a 4 exccept for one very sour issue!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean, friendly, accessible to all major sites. Breakfast was adequate, location very safe ,superior room was a corner room .ac was great, room was quiet. We were celebrating 44th wedding anniversary and hotel had beautiful cake and champaigne waiting for us. Nice surprise. We arrived after midnight and hotel was waiting for us. Very reassuring in new city. In 2 weeks in country we used hotel 3 times as base for in country travel .our issue came when we asked for assistance in arranging bus to Ngwe Saung . We were told no bus for day we needed it . We had reservations and needed to get there. We asked about car and driver for round trip( 5 hour trip one way) they found car and driver 350.00 USD. We hesitated but agreed when told again no bus when we need to go.we arived without incident at destination and soon met traveler who also just arrived by bus from Yangon.acbus, ,lunch break ,2 toilet stops in 5 hours...cost 10.00USD. We were very upset to say the least. After returing to yangon 3 days later. The hotel ofered no explanation,and acted like they had no idea what weweretalking about. There was NO.LANGUAGE ISSUE...350.00 USD vs 10.00 USD. When we asked other drivers in taxiswe were given price consistantly of 200.00 USD. QUITEa markup for hotel especially when bus was only 10.00 USD.. THIS TOO BAD toto have this happen especially since all else was good .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Mingalabar! Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel with regards to the location, room, facilities, breakfast and the nice surprise.

Our guest relations team has communicated with you back-and-forth having heard about this issue and even though we understand the issue has not been completely resolved, we hope there is a more mutual understanding about the occurrences. We place integrity and honesty as high priorities to excellent service within our staffs and the problem arose from mis-communication and mis-understanding about the precise times and dates of your following vacation. Our team here also researches thoroughly the best rates for our guests and as you can also research with online agencies, local agencies and forums, the rate provided by our staffs for a private vehicle was reasonable. Please be assured that our hotel takes no mark-ups from agencies and our travel partners, so the rates we provide are directly from these agencies.

Once again, we apologize for this inconvenience caused and this motivates us to work hard to ensure such occurrences do not happen again. Apart from this, it is great to hear that other aspects of your stay went well and we would like to show that we can improve upon the weaknesses mentioned - looking forward to welcoming you in your next visits to this beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    195
    96
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
173
81
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

As a solo traveler this was a bit out of my price range (but where isn't in Yangon), however I felt the extra money I spent was fully justified. I arrived at 7am and although check in time was 2pm and the hotel was full, they managed to get me into a room at 9.30am for no extra cost. And I spent the two hours waiting in the 'restaurant' on the top floor gorging myself on endless supplies of crispy bacon and baked beans. Staff were great, wanted to watch a specific football game so they changed the channel so I could watch it in my room. Location also great Soi 19 in the evening is a cool place to be to meet people and try local food, 3 minute walk max.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall is good. Better than expected. Staffs are very helpful & good service mind. Breakfast is well prepared but the dining room is rather small. Noisy atmosphere but it's normal in central Yangon. Highly recommend for a middle-budget stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmMilikar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in March 2014 and loved it so much that we returned to stay in the penthouse! Wonderful breakfast. Small rooms, but clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful with advice and travel arrangements. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Penthouse has 180 degree view, and worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This small hotel in downtown Yangon Chinatown has extremely friendly & helpful staff; nothing was too difficult for them. When we needed a taxi they were there to hail one for us, whenever we returned they were there to welcome and carry our bags. The air conditioning worked well without a fault and the free wifi was always accessible. We stayed 5-6 nights broken into 1 & 2 night stays and were able to leave excess luggage safely at the Hotel. The rooms are not large but extremely comfortable, very clean and quiet considering that amount of traffic and life in the street below. Breakfasts are in the top floor with a great view across Chinatown and the hotel staff cater well for westerners taste, something we have only found in more expensive hotels in Myanmar. The only drawback for us was that taxi drivers could not find the Hotel. Finally we asked the staff to write in Burmese the location of the Hotel and that together with our own growing familiarity with the location helped!! Would recommend this Hotel as great value for money and tops in terms of friendliness and cleanliness. Thank you to all the staff at Grand United.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from Maharbandoola Road - imagine they could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doveAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Room was clean and spacious, nice bathroom, Wi-Fi reliable, good breakfast better by conversation with other travelers. Staff efficient and friendly, no hesitation to give one a hundred dollar bill to change to local currency. Very helpful with taxis. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tillamookjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor! We are glad you enjoyed staying at our hotel and it is great to hear that you had a positive stay. We treasure warmth and top-quality service offered to our guests and our staffs will be overjoyed they know they met your expectations in this regard. Will be sure to pass on your positive compliments to various compliments and we look forward to your future stays at our hotel the next time you visit this busy and historic city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was a bit concerned about choosing a hotel in Yangon having read all the negative reports on various hotels in Yangon, I was pleasantly surprised with the Hotel Grand United Chinatown. The entrance is not particularly impressive, but the staff were attentive and quickly brought me to the reception on the 4th floor and then onto my room on the 7th floor.

Although the room was smaller than some other rooms I have stayed in, it was better than I had expected. TV, fridge, kettle, good air-con, room safe and free wi-fi which all worked well. The bed was comfortable. I should have asked for a no smoking room (if they were available) as there was a slight smell of smoke in the room, but not sure if Myanmar does no smoking rooms yet!

Rooms were cleaned daily and everything seemed well maintained, particularly when compared to most other places in Myanmar!

Breakfast was also better than expected with a mixture of Asian and Western foods both hot and cold and if anything ran out, a quick mention of this to the staff brought more.

Staff were friendly and helpful, all in all a pleasant experience staying in the hotel!

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are probably better as the surrounding road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank digtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations in several ways with the warmth our staffs offered, the facilities working effectively and the general maintenance of our hotel. It was great to also know that you enjoyed the variety and quality in breakfast.

We will be sure to pass on your positive compliments to our staffs, who will be overjoyed by your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#21 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#16 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Property: Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Address: No. 621 Maharbandoola Road | (Corner of Bo Ywe Street), Latha Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Yangon, a 5-minute drive away from Shwedagon Pagoda (a must-visit place in Yangon) and a 10-minute walk away from Sule Pagoda (the center of Yangon), Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) is located at the most prominent location in Yangon, Myanmar's economic capital. Imagine yourself stepping right outside our hotel and immediately experiencing delicious Burmese food (both street food and local restaurants), unique local shops and most importantly, warming welcome from local Burmese people.Apart from our promising location, Hotel Grand United goes with the vision that your satisfaction is key to our success. Committed to great hospitality and quality service, we genuinely care about your stay at our hotel. Given a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance, along with a panoramic view of Yangon, we sincerely hope you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing