We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Central Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #22 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hampshire. UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great base for Central Yangon”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a large hotel built perhaps 15 years ago.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff are charming and the breakfast choice was the best we experienced in Burma. There is a nice shaded garden and pool to escape the city heat. Plenty of sites within walking distance. The internet is the fastest we found in Burma.
The only downsides are the majority of roads that face a noisy main road. Also the place is a little faded and dated and could do with some updating

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WJFHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    331
    180
    22
    7
See reviews for
63
174
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The staff were helpful and the hotel was equilivant in cost and amenities to a Rydges chain hotel. Cheaper alternatives are available however we found the Summit to be a comfortable hotel to begin and end a trip to Myanmar. The hotel was the start and end for our Peregrine tour and was within easy walking distance of the Shwedagon Pergoda and the Museum

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here at both beginning and end of our magical holiday in Burma.
The service was excellent except for a few glitches with rooms overbooked on our return trip.
Weddings are abundant and wonderful to watch the different fashions of the Burmese bride.
Breakfast was skewed towards Asian tastes, with noodles, rice and congee, however the egg station cooked great omelettes. The rooms were spacious enough with two single beds and good bathrooms.
Depending where you were in the hotel free WiFi Internet reception varied from poor to excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well run hotel, convenient to most attractions. Taxis are cheap and always available for visiting attractions too far to walk. Clean rooms, well appointed and cool when needed. We were very happy with the service we received throughout the hotel from the charming and attentive staff. The pool was well used after a hot touring day even though the weather this January has been mild, according to local guides. Gym facilities are available and wifi is free. We thought the breakfast was excellent and it was available inside and outside on a pool facing terrace.The breakfast featured a good variety of choices and we enjoyed our visits to the omelette chef. Check out at noon was appreciated, although you were able to arrange a later checkout if needed for a early evening flight.
As stated earlier the staff were very friendly and keen to make sure we enjoyed our three night stay. Location! Location! Location! wins every time. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Schwedagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here because the location appeared to be good. It was exceptional. We were able to walk to several of the attractions - do not miss the 'Circular Train' for a taste of how rural life interacts with the city.

TIP: Two days before you arrive at any hotel send them an email to confirm your arrival time and pleasantly plead for a good room. This pays off most of the time because it makes a personal connection (you are no longer just a registration number).

For the Summit Parkview ask for a nice room with a very good view of Swedagon Pagoda. The hotel is just two blocks from this amazing site and the Pagoda at night is something to behold.

The rooms need some up dating but they are clean and provide everything most travelers need

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view of the Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really comfortable hotel offering excellent service and facilities.

Customer service excellent (but that is the culture of Burmese people, they are incredibly warm, kind and helpful). The hotel itself offers good facilities; swimming pool, great gym (much better than many other hotel gyms I have seen in other countries round the world), good restaurant and the wifi was much quicker than I had expected (having read reviews that it is very slow).

Hotel rooms were also very impressive - but I would expect that with the price they charge, this hotel is not cheap, but I believe it is competitively priced for other hotels in Yangon. Room was spacious, very clean, had a ceiling fan as well A/C, and cable TV offering an array of television channels. Bathroom was great, plenty of towels, hairdryer etc. I was lucky enough to receive a room with a view of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda, which was awesome to be able to look at! Myanmar has definitely been marked as one of my favourite countries to have visited and that was helped by the good impression given by this hotel...

Definitely recommend staying at this hotel, and remember even though it is expensive, as soon as you travel outside of Yangon you can stay in much cheaper accommodation. We stayed in 'Mothers' guesthouse in Mandalay and it was only $45 a night for a large room.

Regarding Myanmar more generally; remember to travel with crisp and unused US dollar bills (don't fold them! they can be rejected, and with limited ability to withdraw cash this is too risky!) also remember that your phone won't get any signal at all while in Myanmar and it is extremely expensive to try and buy a local SIM /handset while in Myanmar.

Room Tip: views of the Shwedagon pagoda are available from some rooms - do request one as the view is definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfhtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Got great views of Shwedagon Pagoda from our room. Bathrooms are clean, so are the towels and sheets. Breakfast had great variety. Staff was very courteous. Well recommended as a good hotel! Slightly older property but reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Shwedagon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sathyany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.2 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#20 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#21 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
386 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Property: Summit Parkview Hotel
Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing