We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just fine....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Zürich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“just fine....”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

spent 2 nights beginning and at the end of my myanmar trip. everything was ok, spacious room (with shwedagon view), breakfast buffet was really good, lobby aera good, location good, dinner good, bar good, asking 180 USD for a late check out - NOT GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    329
    180
    22
    7
See reviews for
63
174
51
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I must say, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms are far much better in comparison to my 2008 visit during the Nargis emergency. The reception area is very welcoming,spacious! The rooms with a beautiful view if the Shwedagon is perfect! The price of the room has increased a lot, I paid 45$ a night for a suite in 2008, and today we were charged 130$, still the cheapest in Yangon for today's demand!
Breakfast is very good, standard improved, and very generous!

Room Tip: Request for higher floor on the Shwedagon side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There are few choices for nice hotel in Yangon. This is one of them. The amenities are outdated, though compare to other hotels, this property can be considered as top-end.
Facts:
- seems to be favorite hotel among European/American guests, as I met them at the restaurant during breakfast.
- nice swimming pool. It's warm and clear.
- the receptionist was efficient.
- there's a nice restaurant right in front of the hotel, named My Garden. It provides Thai cuisines. The food was delicious.
- breakfast in hotel was nice, as well. The choices are vary. 4star rated standard. They provide superior fresh fruit juice. It's healthy choice!
- the restaurant staffs were nice and could understand my intention very well when I asked for a well-done omelette :)
- the door boy could assist us to find a taxi, and bargain for us as well because taxi in Myanmar doesn't have argometer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Although busy and showing it's age a bit this hotel is good for Burma. The pool is nice, with towels, sunbeds and nearby bar on the patio. Money changer at end of corridor from lobby is reasonable deal. The rooms are decent size and adequate. Breakfast is good and snacks/cakes on the patio are decent enough but food and drink is at a premium price and suggest the restaurant over the road is far better value. Asked for a late checkout and found they wanted half the rack rate for two hours extra...$106!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: High room and ask for view of Pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in 5 different hotels during our trip to Myanmar. As the country has only recently opened up to tourism it is best not to compare with western hotels.

We enjoyed our stay at the Summit Parkview. We were able to check in early, which we really appreciated after a long flight. Our room (no.303) overlooked the swimming pool .

The hotel is on the outskirts of town so if you want somewhere you can easily walk around maybe try the Traders (don't know how this comparas pricewise!)

We didn't try the pool. Although it was large there wasn't any shade and there was also work being carrid out nearby when we were there so weren't really tempted to use it.

Our bedroom was really large and very clean. Carpets and decor were a bit dated. I think it might have originally been 2 seperate rooms. It had a ktichen area with microwave, kettle and fridge (but no utensils or crockery!!!) with a table for 2, 2 sofas as well as the bed. The bathroom was fine although the towels were a bit on the thin side.

We used room service one night and the food was really good and arrived very quickly. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice.

I would be happy to stay here again should I ever be lucky enough to return to Myanmar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLouNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a tour and 2 nights at the end of the tour. The rooms are looking old and need renovating. The air conditioners would often make strange noises. The restaurant food is a little expensive and service could have been better. I was not happy when I was rung at 1pm and told I had to move rooms, no reason was given. I asked them to let me stay as I had been up all night vomiting. They then sent up a porter to move my stuff while I followed still in my pyjamas. The reception staff the next day were very helpful when after checking out I realised that I had left my mobile in the room. If I go to Yangon again I would not stay here, being told to move rooms with no reason or apology is exceptionally bad service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great Yangon hotel. Stayed here twice and thought it was ideal.
Breakfast and pool excellent.
Restaurant expensive at night - but to be expected for such a hotel. Quite a few large tour groups (eg Australians) stay here- not a problem unless they are rude to the staff (which we witnessed on a few occasions- the staff don't set the bar prices, so don't shout at them!).
Staff excellent at all times-so accommodating and helpful.
Good location, but traffic in yangon has become a nightmare-so expect heavy jams during the day and early evening.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loserville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.2 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#19 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Property: Summit Parkview Hotel
Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing