We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Yangon”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on business, and I have used it frequently when visiting Yangon since 2002.

The hotel is easily accessible by taxi from the airport (about 25 minutes without traffic) and the downtown area (15 minutes without traffic). It is well known to taxi drivers so should be easy to get to from anywhere in the city. The Shwedagon Pagoda is 1km away and the rooms on the west wing which face to the east have splendid views of this local spectacle, especially at night.

The superior and deluxe rooms are clean, large, basically decorated, and quiet, so good sleep is possible. The mattresses are a bit firm though. Good for back but not so comfortable for some. The bathrooms are clean and hot water supply is reliable. The TV has the standard international news channels, CNN, BBC, Channel News Asia as well as Al Jazeera.


There is a restaurant near the lobby that gets a bit crowded at breakfast time since room occupancy rates have skyrocketed now that Myanmar is opening up to the outside world. The buffet breakfast is varied including Asian and Western selections of food. The Asian selections include noodles, rice, stir fries and Indian. The coffee is unfortunately standard Nescafe. That needs to be improved upon. There are good selections of Western and Asian food available in the restaurant for lunch and dinner including a wine buffet.

If you want to explore some local eating places nearby, you can try Feel Myanmar Restaurant which is at 124 Pyidaungsu Yeiktha Street. There are other restaurants in that street that serve European or Chinese food. A few minutes taxi ride from the hotel.

There is a bar next to the lobby that serves a wide range of drinks including local beers on tap. This is a good place to relax after a long day in the tortuous Yangon traffic. There are some live bands that start up after 8 or 9pm.

A gym in the adjacent building has some running and weights machines and there is a pool that is kept reasonably clean.

There is a business centre in the lobby with public computers and internet which unfortunately you must pay for and is not cheap. There is Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The internet service is unreliable during the day so best to use after 8pm and before 6am. This is not a problem limited to this hotel but to internet service in general in Yangon.

Staff are incredibly polite, gracious and well-trained.

Overall it’s a good mid-range hotel to use as a base when doing business in Yangon, or as a transit hotel when travelling up country as a tourist.

Room Tip: There are two wings in the building. The rooms in the west wing have a fabulous view of the Shwedag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    331
    180
    22
    7
See reviews for
63
174
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012 at both ends of a 17 day trip to Myanmar and were fortunate enough to have a room overlooking the stunning Shwedagon Pagoda on both occasions. The room was very comfortable although the hotel has the look and feel of a business hotel. We booked through Mr Myanmar travel, who throughout our trip found us good value hotels with the best possible views. The breakfast was what you would expect from a business hotel, the swimming pool was pleasant and the staff were very helpful.

The small business centre had one of the best internet connections in Mayanmar, where internet access is mostly non-existent, but it was still expensive and slow by western standards. Myanmar is not a good place to travel if you need to keep in touch with work.

Room Tip: Tourists should ask for a room that overlooks the Shwedago Pagoda, which looks stunning at night. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A regular to the hotel , does respect guest suggestions - beware of the food you eat ,as i was served uncooked food .Do not leave your belongings as the staff has a tendency to pick up and rooms don't provide a safe .
The hotel services have deteriorated and surely not a value for money.Do a check locally as there a few new hotels who offer better services .

Room Tip: Check well in the city before you decide on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agneloluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itabashi, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

What's beautiful view from this Hotel, if you take a de luxe room, you can have the best view in Yangon, BUT....the Shwedagon Paya, the most beautiful and sacred Pagoda in all indochina.
The rooms are so old and poor...the housekeepers are cleaning a lot but...if carper is having my age...it need a make up...clean it is not enough!
I was been there several time, because the view is incomparable, but now all the hotel seems a godforsaken place...
One time the breakfast was great...now....it's so poor...Where is the nice lady cooking the Paratha?
I loved her!!!
Some staff is very nice, kind and so clever...as the Bell boy, dressed in Karen style..., but other are so lazy and rude.
The price...one time the price was quite good, but now...all over priced and...they changed my room rate during my stay!!!!
I like this place because the view and some confort, as a great and honest money change and it's very safe for a lady alone, are very important for me, but I don't know if next time I'm going back there...
Of course, we are in a poor country,and it's seems to much to be there compared to the local standard life, but the bad management of this hotel is also wasting a very good place where guest could stay very well and happy. It's seems they are looking only your dollars (please...choose the newest...)
Good Gym, with kind people:
the swimming pool is abandoned too...close to the rubbish hotel collector, so the smell is often terrible...arriving on the Terrazza too...
Importand: what is the difference between de luxe and standard room? On first the great View on my Shwedadon,( incomparable!!) and one green fresh pot plant, one or two toilet amenities more, the sleepers and a old but very confortable gown.
Great laundry service, but overpriced.
Business center good...and a decent internet (some time :) )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterPatItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willoughby
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ticks most boxes, large clean efficient if rather soulless modern hotel, well situated for the Shwe dagon Pagoda, and a cheap easily hailed taxi ride ($2) into the Scott market downtown area. Known to all taxi drivers, about $8-10 from Airport. Pool useful in heat of the day but gets busy after school and work, with locals. Drinks expensive but probably the norm in the capital. Good restaurants within walking distance, Indian, Singaporean, Chinese and the Black Canyon with a good buzz to it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

pleasant enough.. there was free wifi downstairs as well as up in my room :)

nice location, walking distance to Black Canyon Coffee and Indian and Singaporean Restaurants.. easy to get cabs from the road.. stayed in a room with a view of nearby Shwedagon Pagoda!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed two night in March. A very nice hotel, in a modern building with views, from the front rooms, to the Shwedagon Pagoda. The staff are very pleasant and all seem to speak good English. My room was of a good size but some might think it was only basically euipped - but I found it comfortable and everything worked and was, like the rest of the hotel, well maintained. Even the tv had a reasonable selection of channels. The place is efficiently run and the restaurant is definitely good, with delightful service. The hotel is classifed as "de luxe" which seems to be about two rungs down from the top but I cannot see any real need for anything better - unless you really need a trouser press in your room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wulfruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.2 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#19 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#21 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Property: Summit Parkview Hotel
Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing