We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Burma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #22 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Super hotel and glad to return later in holiday.
Pros
Fantastic location within sight of Shwedagon Pagoda. Very special view. Large spacious fully equipted rooms with bath and comfortable bed. Lovely friendly helpful staff even by the high standards of Myanmar. Excellent competative money changer down hallway. Good traditional massage facility in complex. Good restaurant serving lovely cakes and high tea as well as the usual meals. (PS for spurge try the Strand Hotel for high tea as well). Good pool area
Cons
Some way from city centre but that's also a blessing. Noisy new restaurant on right hand side from front, not connected with hotel.



Cons

Room Tip: Ask for upper front rooms for view of Pagoda. Avoid right side overlooking restaurant next door
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Summit Parkview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 639 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a typical tourist hotel which seems to cater to either Western tourists or the occasional Chinese business type. It is well located if you wish to spend time exploring the Shwedagon ( a ten minute walk). It is a little out from the center of town but in a more quiet neighborhood than those in the middle of things further south. At any rate a taxi ride for a few dollars US will get you down town in 15 minutes or so. Have the doorman get you a taxi since it may take you time to flag one down on the street. It is good value for the money, but do not expect 5 or 4 star standards for the price. The reception area and ground floor was quite lovely with an average, but overpriced restaurant, some interesting souvenir shops, a bar and a very helpful business office where we met a lovely young lady who graciously purchased bus tickets for us to visit the Golden Rock. You can also purchase time on the computers ( for a nominal fee) in the business office to (functionally) access the internet which is a real treat after being in limbo for most of our trip through Burma (not Myanmar as named by the junta thugs. Let the people decide what to call their country when they experience a modicum of freedom and free expression. I suppose that this diatribe puts my chances for future visas in jeopardy. But at any rate, Burma might just well be a once in a lifetime kind of thing). Back to the Summit Parkview: The room we had was clean and relatively modern with a clean bathroom with hot water. It overlooked the Shwedagon ( at least the very top of it), which is lit up all night and quite a lovely sight when falling asleep. Definitely ask for a room with a view of this marvel. The service in the hotel was quite good without fault. Everyone from the front desk to the doormen were helpful and courteous. Basic English was spoken by many of the staff. The breakfast buffet was expansive with food appealing to all palates. We prefer congee ( rice soup or gruel), which was in evidence with all of the proper toppings, but omelets or fried eggs with sausages as well as pastries or cereal could also be had for those with more Western leanings. The hotel restaurant was just average and overpriced for other meals. I would recommend Feel Myanmar a few blocks away or Pandanmar, a 5 or 10 min cab ride, for your lunch or dinner needs. Although both are within walking distance, I would suggest taking a taxi, especially at night , since the roads there have no sidewalks and it would be a rather dusty and dirty walk. All in all, while this hotel is not exceptional, I think that you will find it to be good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalevipoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Smart large hotel. Good location. Nice pool. Good rooms from 40$ per night. Noise from the nearby park road if at front and from the local dog if at the back.
Beer expensive (6$ US for a bottle, the highest price we found anywhere in Myanmar, usually 2$)

Room Tip: Earplugs might work
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our return to Yangon before flying out of Myanmar specifically because of its position. The first 2 nights of the trip we had stayed at the Strand (fabulous) and did all the downtown sightseeing from there. We had a room facing the Pagoda and we found it comfortable and more than adequate. The breakfast buffet was great but we did not have any other meals in the hotel as there are quite a few good choices around the area. Service was good and the internet was the best we had in the whole of Myanmar well worth the small cost involved. The money changer in the back of the hotel was very convenient and had as good rates as anywhere else. The benefit is you can easily walk to the Pagoda and the area is much more pleasant than downtown Rangoon with wide roads and parks. We were only there two nights but would recommend it for value and convenience. The choice is you can stay in the city centre and taxi out to the Pagoda or stay near the Pagoda and taxi into the city!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaBeachbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here at the start of a tour for one night. Large room with good hot water supply, unfortunately not with a view of the Shwedagon pagoda but the pool, which was good. Some of our party persuaded the manager to take us up to the rooftop to get a really good view of the pagoda at night. Free wifi too.

Near to several restaurants and of course the pagoda but not the centre of town.

Excellent buffet breakfast with a huge variety of western and local staples. Did not eat in the hotel apart from this.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was my first stop in Myanmar and I felt lucky to get a room facing the pagoda as requested. Seeing it light up as evening darkened into night was delightful. The hotel had everything I needed including reliable in-room Internet ($10/24 hours).The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet just fine. However dinner was beyond slow and the food we ordered disappointing. Breakfast is obviously their forte. The money changing facility in the back (past the hotel shops) offers the same rates as the airport and is quite handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the pagoda.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is reasonable good with good view toward Shwedagon. Ask for room from 4 level facing the pagoda. View is fantastic. Room is tidy. Breakfast at the bar cafe restaurant at 1st level is basic however service is slow during the lunch period. Even though there are no crowd during lunch, it took nearly 20mins to serve my set of fish and chips meal. The distance from the city is a minus. You need to get a taxi which cost 2000kyat to town.However it is within walking distance to Shwedagon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#21 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#23 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing