We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit out of the centre”
Review of Hotel Pho Sein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pho Sein
Ranked #117 of 175 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2014

we stayed here on two ocassions in two different rooms. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly. Wifi is available but slow. We didn't notice any traffic noise. The hotel is a bit out of the centre and requires a taxi (+/- 4000kyat) to get there. We attempted a walk, but gave up half way. Breakfast on the top floor is quick and filling.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank marcelrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was the worst hotel of our Myanmar trip. From the outside & the lobby the hotel looks very nice, however the rooms & the service are another matter.

The room is basic (which is no problem), but the hotel is situated on a busy street & the walls are paper-thin, so you can hear everything that is going on in the street outside & in the rooms around you. A plus point is that you don't need an alarm call, as there is a cockerel very close by that will wake you at 5am every morning & continue to welcome the morning every 30 seconds from then onwards to ensure you don't fall back to sleep.

The service is also quite poor. The staff try to be helpful, but their English skills were bad compared to other hotels in Myanmar & instead of saying they don't know or understand, the staff will just guess what you have asked/ordered & deliver what they have decided that you said. So if you order an omelette for breakfast, you may well find yourself with a taxi waiting outside for you.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have read some of the comments of the hotel by others and I have a different view.
Myanmar is a developing nation and just emerging from decades of isolation, trade sanctions and US trade embargoes. Hence there are no Hilton or Sheraton or Intercontinental Hotels here, not yet. Demand outstrip supply hence room rates are high here. The local hotel industry is still developing hence the hotel is not yet up to western standards. However, the rooms are generally alright and the inconveniences (slight noise, dull decor,) are bearable, The rooms are also clean enough. The hotel has a restaurant on the roof top which is a gem of a place. It is generally quiet most nights, serve cheap food and beer and it has a great view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. The staff is also great and they try to do their best despite the language barrier.
And to me the so called outside traffic noise was all culture to me. The hotel is right at the heart of where the normal Myanmarese people live, eat and work. This is why we come to Myanmar, to experience this before it all becomes all westernized.

Room Tip: Choose the smaller Deluxe room if you want quietness, as the room does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scfho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel but rooms at the front really do suffer from traffic noise from the busy intersection outside. We couldn't sleep at all as the noise seemed to go all night long. Thin walls between rooms, and noise from an exceptionally loud television in room below didn't help either. Our room smelled heavily of smoke for the two days we were there despite neither of us being smokers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Dec at the same time as the SEA games. Paid around US$80 per night, way overpriced. This hotel is probably worth $30-40. We didn't have much choice due to peak season.

We booked the deluxe room via an online hotel booking website. In the picture there was a sitting area, but when we checked in our room was way smaller without the sitting area. According to them there were two types of deluxe room. So if you want the sitting area make sure you specify in the booking.
The staffs were very polite and helpful and they changed our room the next day because we arrived late.

We moved to room 602, the room is quite spacious, but their standard of cleanliness is very poor. We had a small kitchenette area with a sink. There were ants everywhere around the bench and the sink. There were stains here and there on the sofa. The blanket was covered by bedsheets top and bottom, but it looked old and dirty. We just made sure it's completely covered by the bedsheets at all times.

The bathroom was TERRIBLE. It was like half done, I posted some photos. The hot and cold water system were separated. There was no shower screen so when you shower the whole bathroom/toilet was wet. The toilet paper was unreachable as the holder is all the way behind you on the wall as you use the toilet. It was just the worst hotel bathroom I've ever seen. But apparently every room is different, so I'm not sure about the others.

Breakfast on the rooftop restaurant was quite decent. Not much choice but ok to start the day.

Wifi was intermittent. Sometimes it's good, sometimes it's not.

Staffs are probably the best part of the hotel. They're all friendly, helpful, some speaks decent English, some not. But they're all nice.

Overall it was an ok stay. Won't return though, might spend a bit more and stay in a 4 star or higher.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank straw610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a bland modern multi storey hotel quite some way from the city centre. The rooms are a decent size but the lighting is completely inadequate for reading. We stayed twice and both rooms had poor quality bathrooms with individualistic systems for obtaining hot water. There is a roof top restaurant which serves adequate breakfasts (very quickly) but there are few restaurants in the locality for supper. Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise (but do have more sunlight)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise (but do have more sunlight)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks for work. It was decent value for Myanmar, at $65 for the superior room. Large room, good aircon, TV, minibar and hot water (but terrible bed). Wifi very weak in the rooms, but works well in lobby and restaurant. Restaurant is average, but there is free room service delivery. The staff are trying very hard to give good service, and were very welcoming and helpful. If coming from the airport, skip the overpriced shuttle and grab a taxi for 8,000 kyat instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,791 reviews
0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#7 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,606 reviews
0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
504 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
508 reviews
0 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pho Sein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pho Sein

Address: 67B Pho Sein Road, Bo Cho Ward 2, Bahan Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $51 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pho Sein 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Pho Sein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pho Sein Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing