We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green, green, green! Good or bad?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you like the limey-mint green color everywhere in Myanmar, then by all means, stay here. But if you can't stand that color, don't even think about it. We were surprised to find that this hotel was only a few months old since the decor was so dreadful -- sort of early 70's for Westerners but possibly au courant for Maynmar nationals.. But the beds were comfortable, it was very quiet, and the second room we stayed in had a very nice view of Shewdegon Pagoda which we especially gorgeous at night.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room as high up as possible with a view of Shwedagon Pagoda.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Green Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel again by end of Oct and found that the price raised to US$110/night. Wifi is now become complimentary, however, it became virtually unusable. Connection always dropped and whatsapp on iPhone can receive message intermittently. When compared with my last stay three months ago, the internet speed was fair, and this time was unacceptable.

Room rate was come with buffet breakfast and nothing impressive.

Staff were polite and helpful. However, the hotel is filled quickly, and there were package tour group stayed now. During rush hour at 7am for breakfast, I can't find a seat!

I wanted to extend my stay, and front desk just replied me: NO ROOM!

Need to find stay away from this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Low floor with help you to get more exercise and avoid lift, where electricity is unreliable here.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megamushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Clean, friendly staff, excellent service.

But because of useless Internet connectivity I won't stay again. I discovered that this was because the manager selected a cheap Internet package, resulting in me having to go to the Park Royal every day to get online because of their superior Internet service.

I was also charged for a laundry bag. Ridiculous as this is a consumable item so should be absorbed into the room cost. The soap used in the rooms was clearly a cheap substitute as it was pretty ineffective when used. The disposable razors were basically unusable unless you wanted to hack your face to bits. Right idea, but again because of skimping on quality the experience was negative. Pillows were also rock hard.

No pool, spa or fitness centre meant my business went to the Chatrium round the corner.

My stay was also required to be paid for in advance upfront. Very annoying as you are then locked in for the full period whether you like it or not.

The door key card kept deactivating every day after 12 so I had to get it reactivated every day.

Lastly, the bill had to be prepared manually at checkout which meant all my receipts, minibar, laundry, phone etc had to be added up manually. I was handed a hand calculated pile of receipts stapled together, instead of a simple itemised bill. Again I was told the manager did not install a proper hotel invoicing system.

So checkout took about half an hour, other patrons were getting agitated and the process was further delayed by the manager arguing with another guest because he was charging him for what appeared to be the bottle opener missing from the room. Clueless. It was a cheap thing worth a few cents.

My advice: fire the manager, install decent Internet and hotel management systems and put in a business centre. I'll definitely return then because the staff were excellent. Pity their manager has no idea of customer service.

Room Tip: Stay at the Park Royal if you need decent reliable Internet connectivity and efficient checkout
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel, now called Green Hill Hotel, for 6 nights in July 2012. This hotel seems completely renovated recently with all the new room facilities, lobby, modern lift....

In room, you can found 32inch Sony TV, Mitsubishi air-con, small fridge with mini bar. Internet is charged by time, 1 hour for US$1 or 1 day unlimited for US$6. You can use it in room, lobby or in the dinning area. Room is pretty large itself, with a large bed, working desk, 2 chairs and a coffee table.

Beware that, some rooms of this hotel is facing a temple or monastery that I was waked up by the morning class right at 4am some nights.

House keeping is not that efficient that my room was make up every day very late in the afternoon like after 4pm. You can see staff on the same floor to make up other rooms, but I guess efficiency is not introduced in this country, some 4-5 staff to make up a room at a time, and not sure how long they took to make up the whole floor. You can see housekeeping staff are around and smiling to you.

Location is a 10 minutes drive from Yangon city center, like Sakura Tower or Trader Hotel. The area is quite and barely no shops around.

A tip in traveling Yangon in my 7 days trip that I always use US$ to paid. I don't even exchange a cent of local money. Myanmar people do very concise about the quality of you US$ note. It must be new and very good condition. When you get a 100 note for $20 bill, you will be amazed with the US$ note they exchanged, for sure like brand new. It was very funny that I got a $100 note, and the staff told me it is rejected because of the printing margin of that note is larger than other. They are very picky on that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank megamushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 正美 原
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, The Management Team at Best Western Green Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Cris395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, The Management Team at Best Western Green Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jarunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management T, The Management Team at Best Western Green Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#11 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,397 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Green Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Green Hill Hotel

Address: 12 Pho Sein Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $58 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Green Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Green Hill Hotel warmly welcomes you. The hotel is conveniently located for exploring Yangon City and elegance aesthetic charms come together to present a distinctive offering of calm, serenity, peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of the city.The great convenience of location reinforces the hotel as an ideal choice not just for business but also for leisure and pleasure and the freeze comes off Kandawgyi lake takes a good health to those who enjoy jogging in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Green Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Green Hill Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing