We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A park with a bridge !”
Review of Kandawgyi Park

Kandawgyi Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$51.00*
and up
Tradition and Culture Small Group Tour in Yagon Including Shwedagon Pagoda Visit
Attraction details
Chiangmai thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A park with a bridge !”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This park is worth visiting especially in the afternoon. It i so beautiful and peaceful. Take your time walking around slowly and enjoy the view of the park. We took very nice pictures there. There are lots of big trees and flowers around the lake. The restaurant serves good tea and delicious cakes too. A good place for a nice walk for everyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petcharee1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    498
    260
    43
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Watch out as you have to pay three times to walk all around it”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We walked around this very pretty park on the same day that we visited the Shwedagon Pagoda as it is only about one kilometre away. We thought we would walk all of the way around it and it was very entertaining and about 6 kilometres in total, so quite tiring in the heat.
It was lovely but the surprise was that we paid 2000 kyats and got a little lapel sticker.This took us along a beautiful wooden boardwalk along the north side of the lake from east to west. There was nowhere on this section to buy water or food so we got a little anxious. We turned the corner to go south and there was another counter where we had to pay another 300 and there was a sign saying cameras 500 but they didn't charge us this. This is the section with the golden boat mentioned by other reviewers but there were dozens of other places to eat and drink as well.
We somehow missed the entry gate for the third section so had to walk outside along the pavement and i don't know the cost.
For the final section you show your original sticker and get back to the starting point. It is full of beautiful plants and there is a garden centre as well as what i think was an indoor ice rink.
It is easy to lose your bearings and miss the boardwalks so keep an eye out through the trees.
It was quiet and peaceful when we went but i am sure it would be great at weekends to see the locals enjoying themsrlves.

Helpful?
2 Thank chrisdsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Nice for walk”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We did not go there but we saw a part of it from our Hotel (Kandawgyi Palace). A tidy environment. There were also bridges over the lake and many people cross them early in the morning and the evening to and from work.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a lakeside stroll and views of Shwedago pagoda”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Favorite place for locals during the evening. With a popular government run "floating" restaurant and children's play area. Especially good if you're staying at the Kandawgyi palace hotel, and if you're not it's a good place to stop in for a drink.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank docred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“lovely park”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

we enjoyed walking arond in the evening here, lovely views and surprisngly peaceful for a big city. some small places ot eat and shops in the area as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jctokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandawgyi Park also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Kandawgyi Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing