We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clover City Centre Plus: clean and modern hotel with welcoming staff...”
Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #41 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Clover City Centre Plus which is in the same street as the Clover City Centre hotel.

This was my first visit to Myanmar and the hotel was above my expectations though more expensive than I was expecting. It is clean with air conditioning that almost worked too well, tea and coffee making facilities, free water, refrigerator, hairdryer, a safe (though not attached to bench) and an Internet connection that was good enough to Skype friends back in the UK.

The room décor is minimalist which I like and the bathroom is a wet room so just a bit different so I left my toiletries etc in the bedroom so they didn't get wet. The cleaning staff are very good and whilst you're down at breakfast they'll clean and iron your bed...I'm not kidding!

The breakfast as has been commented on and is, to put it kindly, rather eccentric. Rather than get upset about it I just got used to eating everything lukewarm or cold except the tea and toast which were hot(ish) and the little Burmese banana or coconut cakes delicious.

The reception desk staff are helpful and will change $ into kyat at not too bad a rate if you begin to run out and the young lads on the door are very welcoming after a day's sightseeing and will get you a taxi if you need one. Like others recommended, I just used to give my destination as The Traders and then walk around the corner...easy!

I liked the location and there is a supermarket nearby, close to the Zawgyi House which I also recommend, for snacks and drinks. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Clover City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 472 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Located in a side street directly behind the Traders Hotel within easy walking distance of the city centre. It is clean and tidy with pleasant staff. The breakfast was poor, usually a plate of fruit and an omelette.The 'superior' room is small and so we upgraded to the top floor for a bit more space at an extra $10 per night but it was worth it

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for the top floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longfellow1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our first hotel in Myanmar and it was super clean a the air conditioning worked well. Compared with the chaos outside this was a tranquil oasis. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was a bit confusing as you seemed to have to take what was given to you. Would have been nice to just have a cup of tea/cofee and a roll - but no, you had to have the full works. REally like the location and would return there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonSimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our first accommodation in Myanmar on our two weeks trip. Despite arriving at 7am in the morning we were able to check in immediately!!!! Something we appreciated a lot after more than 20 hours of travel.
The hotel has 8 floors, rooms are equipped with airco, water kettle, fridge, safe and tv. There is one elevator. The rooms are clean, we stayed three nights in that hotel in three different rooms on 8th floor. We also left our big luggage when going on a trip to the mountain top pagoda.
The entrance of the hotel is in the back alley of the Traders Hotel, so that it can happen that you have a window that goes on the terrace with loud music coming from the opposite hotel.
The breakfast is ok, fruit sweet cakes, eggs. Leaving once very early in the morning we asked in advance the staff to prepare for us a take away box.
Since the hotel is at the back of the Traders Hotel, there is a bit of a weird smell coming from the ventilation of that hotel.

Room Tip: Out of three rooms, 804 was my favourite
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a bit pricey but the room & toilet was really clean & new. Basic amenities. My floor was noisy early each morning with slamming of room doors. It's very near to Bogyoke market 7 mins walk. Plenty of food choices nearby from local to western food. There is a Dutch deli which serves decent latte nearby. The new Parkson & supermarket is just 5 mins walk from the hotel. Apparently there are 3 clover hotels within this area so make sure you tell the taxi driver the correct cover hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What was good: - We were very impressed by the good service of the staff. They were very eager to help us bring our baggage to the room after we checked in. One of the doormen walked us out to the main room to get a taxi as the hotel is in a small alley way. - Room is clean and well-equipped (eg. toiletries, hairdryer). - The bed is very comfortable with thick blanket. What can be improved: - Window curtain was not helpful to block out the sun, especially when the sun rises early in June! - The lock to the toilet door was challenging to use. - The hotel is located in a backlane - can be a little dark and unsafe. - The room is not soundproof - we could hear our neighbours' movements at night. - We smelled smoke and sewage on most nights after we returned. Seems like the room ventilation vent is not working so well. - American breakfast at USD5 took some time to be served. There is no selection. It comes with a few courses and the portion is big.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is pretty new, very clean, staff is nice and really convenient to visit the center by walking. We went there for Christmas, so clearly over priced, but so were the other hotels.
Overall pretty happy with it and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl_Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#50 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#27 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $35 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing