We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and efficient business hotel”
Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and efficient business hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent three nights in Clover Hotel City Center and as a general whole had good experiences her. It is conveniently located and thus easy to find, the internet service is excellent and available in the rroms at no extra cost. Everything is clean, modern and orderly and the staff is great.
Only downsides is the fact that the rooms - though big enough don't contain any storage facilities for clothing (apart for a hanger) and no room for suitcases except from the bed either. Other downside is the plastic-like sheets that leads to sweaty nights. (Later i found out using the towel as an extra sheet. That helped.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteenKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    211
    166
    31
    15
See reviews for
23
163
102
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

You'll have to be very patient with the young hotel staff. Language barrier. The access road which you have to walk through from the main road is smelly, pot-holed and narrow. Could have been better if there are no double parked vehicles. The road is streetfood venue too that make it quite crowded. Room with twin beds are too small, just right for a single bed only. Bathroom is small. Bedsheets are always fresh and clean. Good A/C and wifi. This hotel is for solo budget travelers. Don't stay here for a vacation or pleasure trip. Have new dollars. Even a small marking or tear will be unacceptable. Be ready to received soiled local currency for change when you pay in dollars.

Room Tip: Get the 7th floor or higher rooms facing east so you'll have better views. Really spartan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We paid 80USD for a double room which felt highly overpriced (but in line with similar Yangon hotel). The room was small and very basic, but clean and with AC + fridge. WIFI connection was so so. The bathroom was very small so when you shower everything is wet...

The location is pretty good (walking distance to Sule Pagoda) but don't expect any exciting views as the hotel is in a back alley/muddy road.

Some of the staff were nice, others not as nice.

I would not stay in this hotel again, as I am sure there are better hotels for the same rate in Yangon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsiory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Be aware that there are currently 3 Clover Hotels in Yangon, one close to Schewdagon Pagoda and the remaining 2 downtown on 32nd Street, City Centre & City Centre Plus. This review refers specifically to Clover Hotel City Centre.

We stayed here for one night, and although we found the room to be excellent, very clean, decent bed, immaculate toilet, AC, clean towels and linen, etc., we had an episode which could have ruined the rest of our holidays, which I shall explain.

We were given a back facing room (504), during the afternoon I opened the room window to let some fresh air in, and on leaving for dinner I closed the window but did not lock it.
Whilst in bed Upon returning from dinner later that night I heard a noise coming from the window. I decided to have a look just in case and to my surprise I see a small man/kid on top of our AC box outside and our window partially opened. As I went to put on the light to have a better look he disappeared.

Reporting this incident to reception took a bit of time as not all staff are totally fluent in English. They were very apologetic saying that this had never happened before, but couldn't offer us another room as they were fully booked. As you may imagine this all thing contributed for a very bad nights sleep.

The potential outcome of this was clearly my fault as I didn't lock the window but it still doesn't exclude the fact that the hotel has to deal and should have dealt with this. The room next to ours is a storage room (towels, linen, toiletries, etc) and in my opinion one of their own staff went in the room next door to attempt getting into ours. It is very unlike that he could have come from above or below.

On top of this, although a safe is provided it is not bolted to the wall/desk. In case of a break in the burglar can easily take the safe with him.

Luckily we were in the room and nothing happened but I thought it would be good to share this episode so that doesn't happen to you.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubail
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms were small, clean, and the ac worked wonderfully. The breakfast is just so-so at this point, but it is a new place and may just be getting its sea legs. The price is quite high for the room, but all of Yangoon is terribly overpriced. I wouldn't worry about the hundred dollar bill problem; they're all like that. I would probably stay there again as it is a known quantity and it is quite near the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry-tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I usually stay at Traders across the road. I have reviewed it very positively. Clover Hotel City Centre is 70% cheaper. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. I had English movies and BBC news. Breakfast is the same as I have had all around Asia in cheaper hotels but there was lots of fresh fruit. I ate Dinner at Traders and held meetings in the Traders foyers but had an extra $200 in my pocket on the way home.

Room Tip: Higher gets you above road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RegularOZTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

so I read up all the reviews, confused by the mixed opinions and decide to book one night to test the water... I figure I would hop to Traders in case it was unbearable...

The service is questionable, not that they are rude... the staffs are just inexperienced and spoke too little English to make any sense on what they should do.

The 600 sq.ft. lobby actually stood 14+ hotel staff and not a whole of them were doing anything...

The mix reviews on their room conditions are also true, we booked two rooms, mine (Rm304) was adequate in general. Clean, slow but tolerable internet connection, no safe, and fridge unplugged, probably better as it is right next to the bed (the noise). There's a window but its view to the wall of another building. The 5'x5' bathroom means the shower is an open shower, so make sure you move the toilet paper roll away or you've gonna have to deal with a wet toilet paper.

But my business partners became a nightmare and she ended up moving to Traders on the very day.

Her first room had no internet signal and it reeked of sewer (RM302), her second room (RM312) actually has a city view (though not a good one), it's got a safe (but it not bolted to anything), problem is the bed, perfectly made, but the entire bed was wet! She decided she'd had enough and left

If I knew breakfast was this bad I would've left too... everything is served cold (except tea); one fried egg, beans, a bun, a raisin slice, 2 cold toasts, chocolate donut, some sliced fruits, oj, coffee/tea.

Comments about the narrow filthily alley is pretty much dead on... one way street with cars parked on both side and just enough for a van to pass through, potholes everywhere

A few stairs are required to reach your room so don't be carrying too heavy if you intend to stay here...

I ended up staying at another hotel the following day... and suddenly, the price tag on Traders Hotel seems justifiable.

Room Tip: - even number rooms view are mostly blocked (except for 312, 412, 512 and up) - odd number rooms mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echo-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#47 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Property: Clover City Center
Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing