We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Clover Central Hotel was in a central location, with great staff and adequate facilities for a week stay in Yangon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Clover Central Hotel was in a central location, with great staff and adequate facilities for a week stay in Yangon.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Clover Central Hotel. We were warmly welcomed by a bevy of friendly staff at this centrally located hotel at the back of Traders Hotel. By their warm smiles and friendly gestures, we had the impression they were pleased to see us. We were told we were upgraded to a good room and were ushered next door to their new hotel The Clover Central Hotel plus, that had recently opened. This minimalistic hotel was clean & functional, though overpriced for similar rooms in other Asian cities. Our deluxe room on the 6th floor was a reasonable size and very clean. The window opened out onto a view of rooftops and alleys, not that interesting. It had basic western amenities, good Air con, a flat screen analogue TV, facilities for tea and coffee, 2 bottles of water, a safe, a comfortable king bed, with crisp white linen, an soft pillows. The bathroom had a shower, toilet, soap, a good supply of hot water and towels. The room was serviced daily. The searing heat saw us retreating back to the Air Con hotel room regularly. Breakfast was served near the lobby and was included in the price. Breakfast consisted of an assortment of Asian dishes, orange juice, sweets and tea and coffee. This was more than adequate to set you up for the day. The Manager and staff all spoke English and were helpful with local information. The service was great. The boys at the door were lovely and would welcome us back like family from our daily explorations. They would get us a good taxi with air con whenever we went out. As the taxis were hit and miss in Yangon this was a bonus. The Manager was always attentive which made us feel special. We throughly enjoyed our week stay at the Clover Central and would recommend this hotel as a good basis to explore Yangon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    210
    165
    31
    15
See reviews for
23
161
102
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are 4 adults staying overnight in Yangon for the first night of our trip on 13 April and last night of out trip on 21 April. We have booked two standard rooms at Clover City Hotel and were pleasantly surprised to discover that the hotel has upgraded us to stay at their newly open Clover City Plus hotel just a couple doors away.

During the first night of our stay, the rooms are spotless and we are quite happy about it. We had our dinner at Traders Hotel which was fantastic and very convenient as it's located just round the corner.

Unfortunately when we checked in again for the last night of our trip, we found the bedroom floor and bathroom a bit dirty. It is definitely not a big deal but the big disappointment is when we discovered two big cockroaches in one of the room. Thank god there was none in the other room. We showed the roaches to the housekeeping and informed the front office staff about it when we checked out. The front office staff just laughed about it....I'm not sure if they understood what we told them.

However I would not fault the front office staff as they have been nothing but polite and courteous to us from the time we checked in till check-out. Even the bell-boys, restaurant manager are extremely nice and eager to please.

By the way don't expect too much for breakfast...it is very simple but adequate.

This hotel is fine for an overnight stay but not more than 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Located in a grubby, but not uninteresting, street behind Traders this is a fairly cramped place. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and are fine for a short stay where you are out and about all day and just need a place to shower, change and sleep. The breakfast area is also quite tight and the set breakfast is OK but a bit weird. As in many places in Myanmar they seem to be hugely overstaffed.
Under-supply of hotel rooms in Yangon means that the cost is relatively very high - we paid £70 per night using booking.com. A better place, and with a pool, near Bangkok airport on the way home cost about £27.
Wi-fi was only in the lobby/breakfast area and was erratic.
Given that the places to visit in Yangon are quite widely scattered so you will need to get taxis (very inexpensive) several times a day you might prefer to stay a little to the north of the downtown area. We stayed at the Alfa Hotel later in our trip - $100 per night (so more or less the same as the Clover City) and we had a better breakfast, there's a rooftop bar with great views and we could see the Shwedagon Pagoda from our room - ask for a room as high as you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saguaro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This little hotel in the small street behind Traders Hotel is half the price of that place, - it is an economy hotel , rooms pretty spartan but very clean, We were on top floor, showers never ran warm but it didn't matter, it was so hot! Air con worked, as did TV, Wifi so slow!
Cooked breakfast hilarious! but fruit, juice and toast fine.
Over staffed, all eager to help, English limited but sufficient.
We stayed a week, during which time they opened a sister hotel four or five doors down, Clover Hotel City Centre Plus!
We used Traders hotel, round the corner as our meeting place, drinks or coffee, and fine dining.
Location is superb, three blocks from Sule Pagoda, St Mary's Cathedral, The big market.
But be warned, take brand new US dollars to pay. There is an ATM behind the Baptist church over the road from the Sule Cathedral, which gives crisp new local notes.

Room Tip: Top floor good views, long wait for lift though. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good location, but so very expensive for Myanmar and terrible, terrible breakfast. The room are small, but really clean. Staff tries very hard to be helpful, but English is problem (not only here). Wifi works only sometimes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel rates in Yangon have tripled or even more in the last year. There is a huge influx of visitors (of course, of which I was one), and not enough rooms. So the law of supply and demand is heavily in favor of those farsighted proprietors who opened hotels before this year.

I stayed here in two different rooms in two visits to Yangon in February 2013. Both rooms were perfectly acceptable. Clean, well maintained. Everything worked. So no complaints there. As a business traveler, don't need or expect much else.

Internet was spotty and unreliable, but that's the case everywhere right now. This will change soon, undoubtedly. (For good internet, you can go to the Trader's hotel cafe one block over and buy a $4 cup of coffee. That place had the only decent internet I found in 2 weeks in the country.)

This quality hotel elsewhere in SE Asia costs about $40-$50. In Yangon, it was $140. So, there's that.

Location is good, in downtown Yangon, you can walk to the Scott market, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Staff is nice, and tries to be helpful, if English is poor.

One suggestion: don't go for breakfast, go to the tea shop right around the corner on the way to Scott market, fantastic Chinese buns and decent sweet coffee.)

Room Tip: I saw no difference between Deluxe and Superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katzistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was very small. enough for the essentials But the room ,linen, and towels were exceptionally clean and in good condition. The air conditioning and TV and WIFI all worked.
The service was also exceptionally friendly and professional. A new hotel which I hope will prosper and set the standard for mid range hotels

Room Tip: There's a upmarket hotel very near by which will serve day guests drinks by the pool :)))!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#42 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Property: Clover City Center
Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, JovagoAsia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing