We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact room but very new and clean and friendly staff”
Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #42 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Compact room but very new and clean and friendly staff”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed there for one night with my wife on the highest floor facing the back. Our double bed almost occupied the sleeping area with the dressing area separated by a column, bathroom is extremely small and everything gets wet whenever we shower. Our room is furnished completely in white and was spotlessly clean and very quiet.

Location is great being just behind the Traders Hotel, but the access road can only take in a 9 seaters coach, so we have to walk along the back lane to reach the hotel. The place is just a stone throw away from both the wet market and Scot Market, Sule Pagoda and a 15 minutes walk from Chinatown.

The complimentary set breakfast is but horrible but one can always pop in to Traders Hotel for a nice and exorbitantly priced meal. If you want a clean, quiet and centrally located hotel, this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor and facing the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pccheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    211
    168
    33
    16
See reviews for
23
164
104
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

the main problem at the clover city center hotel is the noise from the air con from the opposite traders hotel....worse on the front, a little bit better at the back. we had to change rooms.

the rooms are small, but otherwise ok and clean. staff is really nice and helpful and the breakfast is ok as well. i arrived early in the morning and i could get into the room as soon as i was there, that was really a plus for them.

if it wasn't for the noise i'd give it a ''good, but the noise on the streetside is really loud, so ask for a room at the back!!! not really good value for money!

Room Tip: if it has to be the clover than choose a room at the back and higher floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We only needed one last night in Yangon before our flight home. This hotel was excellent value for money and the staff (as is the case throughout Myanmar) could not have been more helpful and friendly. The WiFi was free and working very well throughout the hotel. The room was small but newly refurbishing and clean. If you like your traditional western breakfast you would be disappointed as this was a 100% asian breakfast buffet but then again this is the reason you travel in the first place. It's got a great location, walking distance to the Shwe Dagon Pagoda.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
375 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

There is lot to say about the hotels in Yangon and their prices. Had this hotel cost about half what I paid, I may have found it acceptable.

The room was small as I would expect single room to be. The TV was mounted on the wall. I didn't like the bedding at all.

The best part of the hotel is that is is right on back of the Traders. You can escape the craziness of Yangon and go to the cafe in the lobby and use the internet there on your laptop. You just need to order something to get a free code.

The service that I received from the employees was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I'm shocked at the generally positive reviews for this hotel. My own experience was vastly different. The Clover City Center Hotel is located on a small, dirty back street--I thought that the taxi driver had made a mistake. The lobby is miniscule and the staff, though friendly, weren't very helpful. They didn't even have a map of Yangon. And I don't mean a free map--not even a map of their own for the guest to look at. Nothing. The room was tiny. The beds took up the entire room. In order to get out of the second bed, I had to slide out the end. The bathroom was bad as well. The bottom of the toilet leaked so the floor was wet the whole time. The sink wasn't attached to the pedestal so I was afraid it would come crashing to the floor. The cleaning staff didn't clear the trash from the room the next day. The view was of garbage on the roof across the street. A really terrible introduction to Yangon. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is in Yangon's old town, near the main sights and markets. It is clean and rooms are a good size. The staff are helpful and welcoming. The hotel is new and modern but needs to improve the following:
-Breakfast, basic and not very good
-Bathrooms: The shower is opened to the rest of the bathroom so after having a shower the floor stays wet for hours.
-Bedsheets: Are made of a weird plastic like material, it is difficult to keep the dubet on...

If all you want is a place to crash while visiting this is fine... but for the price they should offer a bit more...

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to avoid street noise. Skip breakfast, there are better options around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Clover City Center lives up to its name; indeed, it is very central. The one-month-old establishment is a stone's throw away from the market and downtown Yangon's busy streets.
But the amount you will pay here-- up to 130 usd for a deluxe room-- can get you a boutique hotel suite in Bangkok or Saigon.
Instead, what you get here for this price are: a clean room with a view, hot water, satellite channels, and a spanking new elevator. What you should be getting but don't are: a delicious breakfast with a fair choice of menu items (I stayed here for seven days, and my breakfast plate looked identical each day), cotton sheets (the synthetic fiber sheets are uncomfortable), and maybe some nice art work on the walls.
It's a very basic hotel, and you have definitely paid less for the same quality. But this is Yangon these days, bursting in the seams, with limited infrastructure hardly keeping pace with soaring tourist arrivals.
On the upside -- the omnipresent staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigafetta_diary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#52 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Property: Clover City Center
Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, JovagoAsia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing