We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bike World Bed, Breakfast & Bike
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It is not exactly a cheap option to stay, however the excellent hospitality does make up for it. As my wife puts it, Soesoe is like a mother to us: she applied mosquitoe cream for her when she realised that my wife got some bites on her, she offered all the medical plasters she could find in her messy office for my sprained ankle when we were abt to go.

It may not be exactly in prime location but how often do you need to get to downtown? There was a local food stall just round a corner (no pictures no English menu) and we managed to walk to dinner the 2 other nights we were there (Soesoe sent 2 of her girls with us to show us the way on the first time). And it was just a rickshaw ride away from one of the station on the circular line. The staffs were very attentive too; a night we were sitting in the lobby for wifi use, they offered local green tea. Another time Soesoe herself offered to make us some food if we are hungry, which we decline as it was only just after dinner! We were also given plenty of bottled water too. Soesoe collects information from traveller so that future travelers can benefit from them. The guesthouse is able to help arrange for us taxi, rickshaw; we got itinerary recommendations from Soesoe too. She also helped us with Myanmar phone calls to aid our trip planning without extra charges.
Oh and last I absolutely love the communal living here; breakfast on a round table with other travelers, common room, lobby where we made friends and even travelled with some of them later.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chiucheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    18
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
65
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love staying at Bike World Bed & Breakfast. I really (really really) enjoy their super hospitality and caring they have shown to their guests. When I first booked this place through Agoda.com in May this year I didn't expect an excellent service at the price of US$ 50 a night for a single room. Maybe I didn't expect anything for that cheap price. It turned out to be the memorable trip for me. I stayed there 5 nights. The room I've gotten was cozy, namely "Tube". It was a row house. Despite it was small but it was very well equipped with wonderful bed, attached bathroom with amenities, flat screen TV, fridge, table for writing, and air-conditioning. The bed was excellent. They chose good quality mattress and pillow.

Breakfast time was great too. There was no fixed recipe so I've gotten a chance to try many Myanmar dishes. Aimee (the manager) gave me big glass of juicy banana milk shake. Everyday was the same with excellent food, a variety of choices. Some times they bought food from well-known restaurants like Sharky's, Cafe Dibar, Ma Phyu mohinga to eat themselves and extra for their guests.

Aunty Soe Soe (the owner) was wonderful. I saw she was busily taking care her guests. After she was free from receiving new guests. She came over and told me (since I was a solo woman traveler) that she would take me around if I was comfortable. She took me around to many tourist places but I wasn't interested much to see those places. I preferred eating so aunty Soe Soe took me to many eateries which served delicious dishes at the amazingly low prices (when I calculated back to my currency).

I loved staying at Bike World Bed and Breakfast. In my review with Agoda, I also stated that it will be my first choice whenever I come to Yangon. Since my first stay with BWI in May 2013 until recently September 2013, I revisited 6 times. The longest stay was 12 nights. I am no longer their guest but I become one of their friends. The people there did good job. Aimee and her fellows worked their way to make my stay comfortable.

Aunty Soe Soe and Uncle Jeff and their sweet dogs Fi Fi and Collie were a wonderful proprietors. They made their small-sized bed and breakfast a wonderful place at the affordable price you can ever find in the heart of city. It is not easy to find a US$ 50 - US$ 60 a night for a wonderful hospitality opposite Inya Lake and with embassies as neighbour.

Another great thing about this place was that I've discovered later that aunty Soe Soe didn't surcharge me when she booked a tour, hotel, and transportation when I visited Mandalay, Bagan, Mingun, Sa Gaing, and Inle. And the prices she offered was a few dollars lower than I booked through Agoda.

I will continue to stay at Bike World Bed and Breakfast when I come to Yangon. I used to stay at Chatrium and Savoy too. They provided excellent hospitality service which I could find at a much lower price here. Except that I didn't have to pay extra money for laundry and high speed internet connection when I was sitting elsewhere. Expensive hotels asked my guests to pay extra fee for hi-speed internet connection when we sat at their lobby and found out that only me (guest) can connect to the service. At Bike World Bed & Breakfast, my guests need not to pay for internet fee regardless wherever we sat.

Room Tip: Any room has its unique character. I like to stay close to the ground so I asked for a row house. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie_nimm_still
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

US$60 for a single room the size of a closet! This isn't Tokyo or Singapore!
When a last minute problem with my girlfriends flight meant she had to stay with me for the night, we get a bang on the door with a lovely lady shouting "She stay, Pay more". They insisted on us paying an additional $20 for her few hours stay, and she didn't even have breakfast.
So US$80 for one night, I don't think so.

On the plus side, the room was very clean, bed comfy and staff helpful (except for, I'm guessing, the owner)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeStringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My review echos most of the reviews I have read about Bike World. One of the owners, Auntie Soe is an amazing hostess. We arrived around 9PM, and she took us out on bikes right away to help us find a place to get some dinner. She and I sat around her table one evening eating cereal and taking about love and life.. she really is unlike anyone I have ever met. Jeff, Soe Soe's husband and the owner of Bike World is a funny and down to earth guy who sat with us at breakfast and chatted with us over coffee. Our room was spotless and the bed was wonderful. Our flight out of Yangon wasn't unitl 1AM, and they let us hang out in the common area for a few hours before we left for the airport. This is the place to stay in Yangon.

Room Tip: We saved 10USD and stayed in a room with a shared bathroom. Worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night, before starting my trip around Myanmar. Soesoe and Jeff are great hosts, but I found the guest house too far out of town - you had to take taxis and the traffic in Yangon is mostly very heavy and you move at a snails pace - and sometimes not at all! There also weren't any eating places within walking distance. I also thought that US$50 for a room with shared bathroom (or a very small room with it's own bathroom for the same price) was expensive - and i was travelling in the low season.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ookie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We love Auntie Soe (thanks very much for taking care of us!), very hospitable and adorable. Her place is located close to Inya Lake (great for evening walk) and in a neighbourhood of many embassies (feel safe).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bike world is the best guest house I have stayed at Soe Soe is like a mother - she always makes sure you are well fed and you're well taken care of. She knew my name as soon as I arrived, and mapped out my entire trip in Myanmar. She even got me a last-minute plane ticket to Bagan at a reasonable price. Her staff is great too, and works tirelessly.

The entire guest house is spotless, the beds are comfortable, and they have eggs and toast ready as soon as you wake up. Bike World is ideal for a solo traveler like myself. I ended up meeting other guests in the common area who I spent the day with. I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: The rooms with a shared bathroom are bigger and more comfortable, and you only share the bathroom wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capital202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
4.0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
317 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 167 in Yangon (Rangoon)
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Guest Inn
Golden Guest Inn
#5 of 167 in Yangon (Rangoon)
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 87 in Yangon (Rangoon)
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pickled Tea Hostel
Pickled Tea Hostel
#1 of 87 in Yangon (Rangoon)
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bike World Bed, Breakfast & Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bike World Bed, Breakfast & Bike

Property: Bike World Bed, Breakfast & Bike
Address: 10F Khaboung Street,6 and half miles,Pyay Road | near Swiss Embassy, Hlaing Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bike World B&B is located in a quiet area away from traffic noise but still handy to public transport. There are several good restaurants nearby including establishments serving Indian cuisine, seafood, fast-food as well as many good tea shops. The Nga Glass factory is also in the neighborhood plus Inya Lake is walking distance from the Inn. Several local banks are in walking distance, these banks offer currency exchange plus ATM's. The B&B is half way between Yangon's International & Domestic Airports and downtown Yangon. Embassies representing Australia, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland, Israel, United States of America and South Korea are nearby. Shopping complexes are also in walking distance from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Bike World Bed, Breakfast & Bike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bike World Bed, Breakfast & Bike Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing