We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generous, homey, and friendly”
Review of Golden Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Guest Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Generous, homey, and friendly”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Golden Guest Inn and would do so again without hesitation. My flight arrived late and I was promptly welcomed, escorted to my comfortable, clean and air conditioned room. The fridge was stocked with complimentary soda, water, and beer and the cable TV allowed me to get my news fix. When I returned to the Golden Guest after my trip around Myanmar, I wasn't feeling well and the owner asked if I needed any more water or anything else. He recommended restaurants nearby and even has coordinated deals with local places to deliver. The breakfast is made to order, hearty, and very satisfying. When he found out my flight wasn't departing until midnight on the evening after my noon checkout, he allowed me to keep my room so I could have a rest and a shower before my flight. The hotel is situated between the airport and downtown, which is great for early/late departures and arrivals, and cab rides are cheap in either direction. The street is lively, but not noisy from the rooms. Thanks, Golden Guest Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    59
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
19
37
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the family-run Golden Guest Inn when we arrived in Yangon for 2 nights in February and again for one night before we left Myanmar. The hotel had been booked by Shan Yoma Travel in Myanmar (I can highly recommend them, speedy replies to emails, polite, efficient service). The family are clearly proud of their hotel/home and rightly so as the hotel is very clean, the rooms are fine, with air-con, and the breakfast is great. It doesn't aim to be a 5 star hotel but what makes the difference, especially for a first-time traveller to Myanmar, is the owner manager's enjoyment in helping his guests with directions and other queries. The only slight downside is the distance from the city centre but this is more than outweighed by the benefits of staying in a hotel whose owner(s) provide such a warm and welcoming service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungalv,Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Situated between airport and downtown in a nice villa.
Rooms are spacious , very clean and include aircon.
The owner Mr Ted speaks excellent english and is very friendly and helpful.I was leaving very early next morning and they provide me a breakfastbox .good eatingplaces nearby and easy to go by taxi to the cityattractions
I warmly recommend it

Jan , Sweden

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Sometimes small, but awesome breakfast! Sometimes breakfast took a while to get ready, but it was worth it.

I really appreciated the friendship and service of the management and all the staff (even with the language barrier). Everyone was so helpful and always ready to help at any moment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Yes, the owner/manager was the bonus for staying at the Golden Guest House - very helpful, excellent English, eager to make the stay comfortable and pleasant. Excellent air conditioning, internet, even a bag of the best coffee with a brewer in the room. Not a bug to be seen. Spacious room, comfortable bed, softer pillows supplied on request, even small meeting rooms available in the building. Great breakfast - fresh local fruit, eggs to order, etc. Not fancy, despite the lovely outside. Pretty central location, but 30 minutes from "downtown". Another bonus: staff will hail a taxi from the street and pre-negotiate a price. They'll also come to the room when you have a phone call or visitor. Only one decent restaurant nearby - carry in service from others was available. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The owner/manager is the highlight of a stay at the Golden Guest Inn. He is very accommodating and attentive. He personally showed my to my room and made sure I understood the workings of the hot water heater, and arranged for a very early breakfast for me on the day of my departure. He can also help you with recommendations for places to eat nearby. He really cares about your comfort and needs during your stay.

The rooms are nice, with comfortable beds, aircon, and large HDTV's mounted on the walls. There are a few satellite channels...enough to keep you entertained if needed. Showers work, and the hotel is equipped with a generator that kicks in when government power intermittently shuts off. There is only a slight delay in their system. The mini-fridge is also stocked with a small assortment of free beverages.

Breakfast is a treat, as you are asked to order the night before. And you can ask for every item if you like, but you will not be able to eat it all. It is all quite tasty. They might even let you order off the menu is you ask nicely...

Overall, this will probably be a place I visit again since I anticipate returning to Yangon in the future. It might seem expensive, but it isn't bad relative to the city as rates have been rising quite rapidly with the influx of foreigners.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Il_Duce73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at the Golden Guest Inn in January 2014 for a business trip to Yangon. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were big and the service was excellent. The manager spoke English and was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was tasty and you could order whatever you preferred.The lobby/breakfast room was decorated with beauiful flowers that made you feel very much welcome. There was Internet (wifi) in the rooms and in the lobby, and there were complimentary drinks (soda, water, beer) in the fridge in your room. The only negative thing about this place is that the location is a bit uncentral. All in all, I definetly recommend this hotel and will probably stay there next time I go to Yangon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#18 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#21 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wai Wai's Place
Wai Wai's Place
#1 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bamboo Place Yangon
Bamboo Place Yangon
#4 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Guest Inn

Property: Golden Guest Inn
Address: No. 182 Insein Road (near Than Lann Bus Stop), 9th Quarter, Hlaing Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Guest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Golden Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Guest Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing