We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful Service; Decent Rooms.”
Review of Golden Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Guest Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The owner/manager is the highlight of a stay at the Golden Guest Inn. He is very accommodating and attentive. He personally showed my to my room and made sure I understood the workings of the hot water heater, and arranged for a very early breakfast for me on the day of my departure. He can also help you with recommendations for places to eat nearby. He really cares about your comfort and needs during your stay.

The rooms are nice, with comfortable beds, aircon, and large HDTV's mounted on the walls. There are a few satellite channels...enough to keep you entertained if needed. Showers work, and the hotel is equipped with a generator that kicks in when government power intermittently shuts off. There is only a slight delay in their system. The mini-fridge is also stocked with a small assortment of free beverages.

Breakfast is a treat, as you are asked to order the night before. And you can ask for every item if you like, but you will not be able to eat it all. It is all quite tasty. They might even let you order off the menu is you ask nicely...

Overall, this will probably be a place I visit again since I anticipate returning to Yangon in the future. It might seem expensive, but it isn't bad relative to the city as rates have been rising quite rapidly with the influx of foreigners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il_Duce73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Golden Guest Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at the Golden Guest Inn in January 2014 for a business trip to Yangon. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were big and the service was excellent. The manager spoke English and was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was tasty and you could order whatever you preferred.The lobby/breakfast room was decorated with beauiful flowers that made you feel very much welcome. There was Internet (wifi) in the rooms and in the lobby, and there were complimentary drinks (soda, water, beer) in the fridge in your room. The only negative thing about this place is that the location is a bit uncentral. All in all, I definetly recommend this hotel and will probably stay there next time I go to Yangon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Golden Guest Inn was a good stopover in Yangon for us for two nights. The owners were remarkably friendly and helpful. The inn was clean and had everything we needed. It didn't have any of the ambience or nice touches of many smaller inns we stayed at elsewhere. The rooms could use a bit of a makeover - more comfortable mattresses, get rid of the fluorescent lights, provide reading lights, make the bathroom a bit more attractive, etc. The rooms were very basic. Breakfast was good though with wholewheat bread and freshly brewed coffee. At $120/night we thought it was expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a short stay here, but they were very friendly and accommodating. When my friend needed to go home early for a family matter, they were very flexible and the wifi connection was really good. The breakfast was great, just be careful you do not order to much because the servings are quite big!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I just spent 5 nights at the Golden Guest Inn in Yangon, Myanmar. We very much enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast was very good and the room was very clean. The personalized service was without equal. I cannot say enough good things about the owner and his family. We are thinking about another trip to Yangon next year and if we are able to go we will stay at the Golden Guest Inn. Thank you Ted and family for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temple104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A beautiful colonial villa on the way to the airport, a quarter of an hour and 3 dollar taxi drive from the center. A very friendly family will help you with everything you need, makes good breakfast and speaks very good english. Large rooms, clean showers, free WLAN and TV with CNN. Good place to stay and start your trip through Myanmar.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my first visit to Myanmar so I didn’t really know what to expect, but what a positive experience staying at this family-fun establishment turned out to be. Although accommodation in Myanmar is noticeably more expensive than in Thailand where I arrived from, the Golden Guest is competitively priced. Moreover, as other reviewers have rightly said, the hospitality is second to none and Mr Wynn the manager and his family went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, providing lots of useful information and early breakfasts without a second thought.

The building itself is like a time-warp and dates back to colonial days, having been built by the British as a residence whilst they were also constructing a nearby university. It has a really authentic and quaint feel and in our room the bathroom was somewhat old-fashioned but serves the purpose just fine, once the procedure to work the shower has been explained!

The location is midway between airport and city centre and most places, such as the magnificent Schwedagon pagoda complex, can be reached within 20 minutes by taxi. The Golden Duck restaurant near the pagoda is very good, by the way (and for me, the old Myanmar Airways Fokker Friendship airliner displayed in the park adjacent is also not to be missed!). There is also a nearby station on the city circular railway and I would definitely suggest a trip on this for the more adventurous (you’ll have to count you way through the stations using a map if you don’t read Burmese!). It’s a 10-minute walk through a busy back neighbourhood to the guest house and it seems quite safe.

So I can heartily recommend a stay at this property, particularly if you want to get away from the formulaic luxury hotels downtown for a change. Quite delightful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvaviaslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
4.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 92 in Yangon (Rangoon)
139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wai Wai's Place
Wai Wai's Place
#1 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Guest Inn

Address: No. 182 Insein Road (near Than Lann Bus Stop), 9th Quarter, Hlaing Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $36 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Guest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Guest Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing