We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location”
Review of Hotel 63

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 63
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel 63 is not located in the best part of town. To get into town, you first have to walk through a stretch of unpaved and unlit street. Not much activities around either.
On the plus side, it is reasonably clean and the staff are polite and speak some English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joaquin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 63
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is my second time I stayed in this Hotel. The manager of the hotel is a very nice person, the staffs are very helpful and polite, the rooms are really clean the breakfast is good and 24/7 free Internet in the room. And also hair dryer and coffee facilities are available in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SulaimanPopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel 63, located abit far off the city centre, has a good variety of breakfast. The hotel staffs are generally very helpful and informative. Rooms are basic, kept clean. For what I paid, in general, it's to be expected. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 218gordonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1night only booked because those dishonourable people at the classique inn told me they had made a mistake and cancelled my already confirmed email booking.hotel 63 is around a 35/40 minute drive from the airport we arrived at around 10 pm and could not believe were we where,there was almost a moat of water around 2sides of the hotel and it was jamed with old lorries it was like being in the middle of a scrap yard.once we found a way inside it was ok to our relief.the desk staff were very nice,the room was ok for one night clean air con ok.we were woken early in the morning with lorries trying to start and belching smoke.the view from the room window was dire. Breakfast included was ok with a fair choice for the money staff all very friendly.to sum up hotel cheap for yangon other hotels there are ridiculous prices,but i think you could do much better for you money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristtony2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

In a country where travelers far exceed hotel rooms Hotel 63 was a decent deal. If you forget that you are in Myanmar and think in terms of USA prices, then it was worth every penny. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. The location isn't so great, but Yangon is a spread out city so it was okay that we had to take taxis everywhere. We could walk to a beautiful pagoda and there were some really neat old colonial buildings that you could take a walk to see, but other than that we took a cab for everything. I was so happy with my experience that I stayed there twice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this hotel because many hotels I initially planned to book were unavailable. I chose this hotel since it's newer and the room and overall amenities looked ok from the photos, at least better than guest house in that price range. Airport to this hotel taxi fare was $15-17. I found one outside airport and paid $10. Hotel to the must-see pagoda $3, pagoda to national museum $2, museum to inya lake $4, lake back to hotel $4. Bad location in the container and truck area along Yangon river mixed with residential. A little bit far from the city hub but close to the pagoda. I only spent 1 full day for sightseeing and went by taxi anyway so distance was not my major concern. Outside the hotel it was not pleasant but inside it's ok. Staff spoke ok English but very friendly and helpful. Breakfast so so. Room clean and spacious with window facing a tree view on 4th floor. A bit noisy during the day but quiet at night. In Yangon a hotel within the price range is hard to find, this one deliver reasonable quality in terms of service and accommodation. Hotel Internet 1st night only at lobby, but 2nd nite room Internet worked. We just checked in thante u in bagan, hotel 63 service much better.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laopimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Arrived via Yangon airport(where the ATM accepts all western cards) and negotiated a 5000 kyat taxi ride to the 63. The journey is approx 30 mins and great value for $6, the driver did struggle to find the 63 but we got there eventually.
Very surprised by some of the negative comments, my experience was only of a positive nature. Yes the hotel is in an industrial area due to its proximity to the docks and whilst the main road is quite bumpy you can enter and exit the hotel from the side road which is fine. There are lots of bars and restaurants close by if you exit left up to the dock road. Getting around by Taxi is so cheap that location is not an issue, a trip to Shwedagon Paya is $3 and from there you can walk to the Kandawsyi nature park and central station etc.
The staff and the Manager are always on hand and speak very good English, mosquitos could be an issue but a Mozi coil worked fine for me.
Rating the facilities out of ten>
WIFI 9
ROOMS 9
CLEANLINESS 9
AC 9
BREAKFAST 7
BEDS 10
BATHROOM 10
SECURITY 10
HOSPITALITY 10

Room Tip: South side rooms will be quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peterjames0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.9 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#28 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
90 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#54 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#18 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Check In @ Downtown Yangon
Check In @ Downtown Yangon
#41 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#62 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 63? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 63

Address: Merchant Road Between 62nd & 63rd Street, Botahtaung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#14 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $31 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 63 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel 63 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 63 Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing