We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in the center - Hotel OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Hotel Yangon
Ranked #72 of 154 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Clermont-ferrand, France
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good Location in the center - Hotel OK”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Do not expect anything special.
This is just basic.
We booked it from abroad and were charged 40USD for a double which is far too expensive but when negociated around 25/30 it is OK.
Rooms are quite large and a bit tired but very clean.
Hotel is very well located in the centre :
- 5 minutes to railways station
- 5 minutes to Bogyoke market (safe place to change money)
- 5 minutes to Paya Sule

Staff is OK.
Restaurant is not to be recommended !

Clearly not a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    102
    142
    24
    17
See reviews for
37
91
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I arrived in Yangon from Bagan at 4.50am in the morning - I initially planned to head straight for the airport for my 12.30pm flight but it was pitch black and I was too tired to stand up straight for another half a day. I chose Central Hotel for the key reason on which I can bet that the taxi driver knew where it was (I already knew it was established and at a centra location). and True enough, the taxi driver did know where it was. This was very improtant as I did not want to go looking around for alternate hotels at 5am in the morning.

They offered me USD 25 for 5 hours use (which, of course, isnt a very good deal). I was of course, in no position to argue. The room I had was had twin beds and a clean toilet with bath and aminities. The decor is a dated and the hotel can definitely use some refurbishment. The coffee in the breakfast was very good and it had a nice selection of porridge, noodles, toast, eggs and fruits. The staff was also very helpful. They have internet service for USD1 or 1000Kyats in the lobby. Dialing IDD is USD 3 per minute.

All in all, it was really kind of average for me. Comparatively speaking, USD 25 isnt a very good deal as I have gotten the same kind of room in Thailand (outside Bangkok, however) for USD 15. Not having stayed anywhere else in Myanmar to be able to compare and reading the other reviews provided however gave me the idea that this was as good as it got in Yangon for USD 25. In conclusion you should be able to stay at this place without much complaints.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We booked through a local travel agent and got a room for US$25 instead of $35 a night. Great location and service, and rooms are okay as is breakfast. Has all the stuff you need - hot water TV aircon - for a good price. After a hard day of sightseeing try the $5 massages upstairs, but ask them to be gentle as the girls are extremely strong.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwinAvidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

for 24 usd is very good for money

Location almost opposit Boyoke market and walking distance to Train station. u can visit Sule pagoda in 5 mins walk
Room with all facilities include toohbrush!!! ,hair dryer , cable chanel from thailand and HBO
Clenliness is acceptable
Due to early mornning flight did not try Breakfast in the hotel but there can prepare a box set include 2 eggs 2 toast and watermelon. (not good test)
staff is ok

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacnarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We paid US$25 through Exotic Myanmar tours, the cheapest hotel throughout our trip in Myanmar. Very good value for money, staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was decent we loved their samosas! There were 3 or 4 big round tables and it was a bit strange eating with other people on our table. Traders hotel is just around the corner and there's a nice coffee shop on the same road. Zorji's restaurant is on the across the road by the market where many tourists go to eat. The Sedona hotel by Inya lake 10 minutes or so by taxi has a fun Irish bar with an excellent western food menu.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This hotel ticks all the boxes - there is a perfectly good restaurant attached that offers local cuisine and as most Myanmar hotels, breakfast is included. The 3rd floor seems to have the best rooms. Mr Tay is a charming gentleman who will help with holiday itineraries. It is good value and in a central location, two doors down from Traders Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Compared to the May Shan (as recommended by the Lonely Planet) this is paradise. It is clean, friendly, good inclusive breakfast, doesn't smell, no bugs and isn't run by the government.

Compared to anything else you will find in Yangon this is up there for how affordable it is at $30 per night for 2 people.

The in house restaurant ain't bad and the Diamond White dim sum restaurant (that doesnt sell dim sum) round the corner gives a real feel for the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richstokoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Yangon

Property: Central Hotel Yangon
Address: 335/357, Bogyoke Aung San Road | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 154 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Central Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing