We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Hotel Yangon
Nearby Hotels
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$136
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$123
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$139
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$242
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$146
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$174
$110
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
19
111
146
25
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
111
146
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssule pagodahot waterwalking distancereally enjoyed our stay heresheets and towelsbest featureseen better daysclean roomsshower headbuffet styleair condowntown areanoodlesmarkettaxiclosetcountry
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 318 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Stayed in the Central Hotel three times 2 or 3 nights in January 2008. The third time, they suggested a discount on the price, on arrival. The location is very central indeed, the service very friendly, it's one of the better places (not the best) to change money and the feel is Burmese/Asian, with ofcourse Westerners to make it complete. Planning to go back to Myanmar next winter, my Yangon basis is for sure the Central!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wishIwerethere54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

A friend and I stayed here twice on our recent trip to Myanmar. We LOVED it! The staff were very friendly and helpful and remembered us on our second visit.

We had a large room (307) with twin beds, long dresser, night stand, round work table/two chairs, minibar, tv, safe in closet, bath with long counter, hair dryer, sink w/hot water, tub w/shower, personal sprayer hose at commode. Two bottles of water/day was complimentary.

We paid $30/night and a huge buffet breakfast was included in their restaurant (Jade Restaurant). We ate at the restaurant twice and not only was the food inexpensive but it was very good.

The hotel is around the corner from the Traders Hotel and near the Sule Pagoda . . . the Scott Market is across the street and about 2 blks away. This was a great location.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed at Central twice during our trip in Myanmar for 2 nights each stay. We thought the hotel was a good value (25 USD per night) considering the location. It's almost straight across from the main market. The bell boys will get you a good price for a taxi to the airport or changing money. The superior room was nice with no frills but it had a nice color TV (with CNN, BBC and a Star Movie channel) and bathtub with aircon. It wasn't too noisy considering it's location. Our room was located facing the front of the hotel on the 4 and 5th floor. The food was ok (breakfast was average) but I personally like to splurge on the food and save on the room when traveling in Myanmar. We splurged on food and ate most of our meals at places like Trader's hotel and the Governor's Residence at Pansea hotel which were both great spots for food.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adfasdfjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

For calls to other cities in Myanmar, the hotels I stayed in, Mandalay, Taunggyi and Bagan charged $300 Kyats for the first minute and $100 Kyats for additional minutes (this equals about 30 cents in US dollars for the first minute and 10 cents for each minute afterwards. This was written for customers to see at the front desk or near the phone. I assumed this was the rate in Yangon. However it turned out that the Central Hotel charges $1.75 US for each minute. This was not written anywhere nor was this explained to us at the front desk. The charge for my 46 minute call to another city was over $82 US!!! They claimed that the front desk told me the cost when I called for instructions on dialing out. I didn't catch this extravagant charge since she spoke in Burmese and referred to the charge as "one point seven five" instead of one dollar and seventy five cents.

We explained that if I understood that the cost was $1.75, I would not have made the call. This was robbery. We argued with a manager for over an hour until we checked out. She explained that phone company charges them this special expensive rate for rooms rented by foreigners. BULL!! She then insisted that we stay for our remaining nights, offered us two cups of Ovaltine and insisted we pay the full charge. She said this was normal for Yangon, to charge US dollars and couldn't compare to other cities who charged Kyats, burmese money. Although this type of confusion had taken place before, they did not update their phone rate listed and placed near the phone in each room. It only list the cost for oversea calls and local Yangon calls which was 25 cents US a minute. She wasted over an hour our time, trying to get more US dollars out of us.

We walked out paying for our room which was $32 a night, and $50 for the phone call within Myanmar. What a rip off. The manager continued to ask for more money. She could careless about customer service or respect, she displayed greed under a facade of hospitality, a reflection of the government and circumstances that rules this poor country.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LSJNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

The hotel was clean and the staff helpful. The only trouble was the air conditioning far too high.
The breakfast was rich and the shower nice and hot. Some rooms face the main road and are a bit noisy.
Overall stay positive

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nutella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews