We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrogant General Manager” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arrogant General Manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed in this property for a couple of nights on business. Although the facilities were, on the whole, adequate (given the relative lack of international hotel chains in Burma), the attitude of the General Manager left much to be desired. I had an early morning flight to catch on my last day, and had been assured the previous night that a full breakfast service would be available from 5am. However, on the day itself, the restaurant bore a deserted look as late as 5.15, and there was no one to offer an explanation, much less an apology, for the sorry state of affairs. When I insisted on speaking to the GM, I was confronted by an arrogant man who, being peeved by the fact that he had been woken up unexpectedly, stated, among other things that he was 'not God' to be able to ensure that guests were provided with the breakfast that had been promised to them (and for which they had paid good money). Not a hotel I would recommend to discerning travellers. It took me many frustrating moments to draw out a grudging apology from this GM - and the promised breakfast did not materialise even by 6am when I had to leave the hotel or risk missing my flight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan W, General Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Let me begin with an apology for the inconvenience concerning early morning breakfast arrangement on 30th March.
Having conducted a thorough investigation to your concerns (Discussion with the night manager and the recording of our CCTV), we wish to respond to your review as follows.
It is the policy of the hotel to provide guest the service of continental breakfast from 4.30am in our 24 hour café for the convenience of early morning departures. However the full hot buffet with show cooking egg station is operated from 5.30am. It is true you were incorrectly informed by a member of my team that you would be able to have your favorite egg with muesliaround 5am (As you mentioned to me due to your preference) and which was offered by the restaurant the previous day. However when you arrived at the restaurant and found the egg station was not opened at 5.15am, you approached the night manager who met with you and made every effort to full fill your request.
I give everyone in my team that I work with enough respect to view them as having ownership and making their decisions accordingly. Since you were not happy with the alternative arrangements the night manager was making and trying his best, you insisted in speaking with the General Manager immediately.
At no time was the conversation I recall having with you was in any way “Arrogant” and I believe I was rather speaking to you in a more assertive manner. My conversation with you was fair to both yourself and my staff given the circumstances. However I did offer you my apology when you spoke to me for the 2ndtimes before leaving the hotel.
I thank you for your support and understanding.

Sincerely,
Jehan Wick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    629
    170
    46
    14
See reviews for
154
587
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
292 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Rooms are nice especially those facing the park with a balcony, breakfast is very good, the French Restaurant is not to be missed, service is good, coffee shop meals good, Chinese restaurant has an enormous variety of dishes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I can really say that, you see places like this on TV, but to see it first hand is really an experience. I would go back, the Kandawgyi was fabulous, employees were very helpful, room service was good

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the lake was fabulous, I was on the third floor, south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingalaba2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Now where I should start from , this place is truly the one to stay if u want to be away from the crowd , near to nature . Old styled hotels(its USP) with lots of teak wood work unlike western style hotels then this is the place. Spacious and well maintained rooms , excellent breakfast , amazing location & nearby lake/garden/pagoda . there are several small places to sit , enjoy and relax . All in all on a business visit you will enjoy the evenings here!!!! Honestly hotels are expensive in yangon and I found this place little on higher side but I was happy to stay here and come back....

Advise - take room facing the lake , which gives you amazing view from the room's window.

Issue - there is no gym but so can make it via running on joggers track in the lake..

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sherry220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, an oasis from the crazy busy streets of Rangoon, Myanmar. When we arrived in the spacious lobby someone was playing the grand piano! Delightful! Our room was also spacious, with a walk out private patio garden on the Kandawgyi Lake The breakfast choices were great. The staff were terrific and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanPurdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's my second stay there and I will definitely return to this hotel. Set on the Kandawgyi Lake amongst luxuriant vegetation whilst being in town, it offers stunning views of the Shwedagon Pagoda and the lake. Not many hotels offer this privilege. The location is very convenient to move around and the staff is always very helpful and very efficient. I highly recommend it.
Colette Whittaker

Room Tip: A room with a view over the lake and away from A/C units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan da Cunha
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days as part of a delegation

We found this hotel fantastic. The breakfast spread was also good. They also served Indian breakfast.The only adverse comment is that the pooris they served wee a tad too crisp.

The staff were also very courteous

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uday3027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing