We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best place to stay in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Possibly the best place to stay in Yangon”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had stayed in this hotel in end June 2013 traveling as a group and had booked 15 rooms.
The room rates are expensive, but thats the way it is in Yangon.

LOCATION: The hotel has a peaceful, pristine and 'green' location. It is located next to the Kandawgyi lake which brings in a lot of greenery. It is about 15-20 minutes drive from the city center but since we had transport arranged, it was easy to get around. The hotel landscape is very pretty and makes you feel closer to the nature. The pool next too the lake and the decks facing the lake are ideal places to relax.

ROOMS: The rooms are spacious, comfortable and with all modern amenities that are a part of a five star hotel. The bed was comfortable and even the toilet was clean and good. Yangon has a problem of frequent power cuts but we never felt that in the room. Since the property has so much greenery, a lot of mosquitoes are also in the vicinity. The hotel has repellents to ensure they are kept away. There isn't much of a difference in the garden facing and lake facing rooms. All rooms have a lot of greenery to offer. However, it seemed that the royal villas had a good view to offer.

FOOD & SERVICE: Breakfast on all days was good. The variety was nice and they had a few vegetarian dishes too which most people in our group appreciated. The service was also pleasing and there were no problems whatsoever during checkin, stay and checkout. The staff was friendly and always greeted the guests with a warm smile and a greeting.

Recommended hotel for a leisure trip. If traveling on business, stay here only if your workplace is closely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aayushchokhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Cheif Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
aayushchokhani
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read you enjoyed the hotel's location, room, pool, food and beverage and services from our colleagues.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards

The Management
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    646
    176
    48
    16
See reviews for
161
606
73
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in this peaceful, lodge-like hotel for just one night, arriving late in the evening and leaving in the mid-morning the next day. Still, it was enough time to appreciate the good location - adjacent to a lovely park with a man-made lake and within walking distance of the Shwedagon Pagoda. The hotel itself is right on the lake, which provides a quiet and peaceful environment. The room was spacious and clean, with good wifi that was complimentary. The breakfast was fine, with eggs to order and tasty local selections. As for the service, the staff were very efficient and friendly. I had a look into the shop in the lobby, which had very good quality handicrafts that were better than what is available at the airport, so I would suggest that souvenir seekers buy at the hotel. Of special interest may be the lacquerware - much nicer than what the airport stores offered. Caveat: the store only takes cash, as does the hotel itself. Credit cards have yet to arrive in Myanmar. Another tip: do take the time to check out the park next door. It offers lovely views of the Shwedagon Pagoda. If you are obviously foreign, an attendant is likely to chase after you to pay a Kyat1,000 admission fee. That's only about 1 US dollar. It's very much worth it, but for some reason they only seem to charge those who are obviously not locals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank areopagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
areopagus
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that even though your stay was short you enjoyed location of the hotel, our colleagues' friendliness, room and pagoda view, souvenir shop and breakfast.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, super food, location not so good but easy to get taxis and quite cheap. Breakfast is very good with a great selection. The pool area is overlooking the lake and the view is fantastic. Had some pizza for lunch, very large portions.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Juzar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Juzar A
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read you enjoyed the hotel especially breakfast, pool and pizza at lunch.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards

The Management
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very nice hotel with an excellent breakfast buffet. The only problem is you are stuck eating in the hotel which is expensive compared to the local food. The menu is quite extensive offering continental and Asian cuisine but I would have preferred to be a little more centrally located to have gone out and chosen my own restaurant.

Hotel itself is nice and well-managed. Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom is nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldismyoyster1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
Worldismyoyster1070
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are now running monthly promotions for different food and beverage outlets at discounted rates for our valued guests.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards

The Management
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my second visit to the hotel and I was very disappointed to the extent that I would not stay there again.
The room was damp and the floor was sticky and did not seem to dry out at all. The room had a musty smell and whatever I tried I could not get rid of it and the hotel had no interest in doing anything.

Room Tip: The hotel in general was not up to the standard previously experienced and would not stay again, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mr. John,

Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We have taken corrective actions to improve our services and facilities. However we regret to find that you were not able to bring some of your concerns to the notice of the hotel management during your stay.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kan Yeik Tha Road
Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township
Yangon, Myanmar
Email: zawmyo.tun@kandawgyipalace-hotel.com
Phone: +95 1 382919 (or) 382912
Mobile: +95 9 2034607
Fax: +95 1 382917
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our second stay at The Kanndawgyi Place Hotel and we were not disapointed. The hotel is well sitauted for visiting Shwedagon Pagoda and visiting downtown Rangoon. The rooms are luxurious, the grounds lush and it has a wonderful ambience. An oasis in the heat and hustle and bustle of the city! What really augments your stay is the charm and friendliness of the staff who go out of their way to help and are genuinely warm and friendly. We use this hotel as a feel good buffer before our return home after travelling in Burma. If we are ever in Rangoon again this would be our first choice.

Room Tip: opt for a lake view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
nicki050
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the room, the view, surrounding, the city and services of our colleagues.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards

The Management
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I am actually staying at this hotel as I write this. This place is amazing. The gardens surrounding the beautiful teakwood structure are amazing. There are paths everywhere, leading through lush tropical gardens. If you want a hotel that screams old Burma in modern Myanmar, this is a good option. The rooms are large and decorated with touches of local style including carved doors, furniture and headboards. The bed is comfortable and the free wi-fi works well. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel sits on the edge of a beautiful lake and faces a park, which adds to the beauty of this place. There is a large swimming pool and terrace area with bar, and several restaurants and a gift shop for those travellers in need of a last minute souvenir. The breakfast buffet is substantial and the food is fresh and well prepared. There is a spa on the lower level for those who need to relax. I would certainly stay here again, either on business or with my family. It's one of those hotels that I love the best: traditional atmosphere and style with modern facilities. One warning, they don't accept credit cards. However, I would expect that this will soon change, so wouldn't let it stop you from booking here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rat_race_escapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Madam,
rat_race_escapee
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We have learned that you enjoyed through out your stay. We are working on payment by credit card and it is expected to get by middle of July 2013.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards

The Management
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HRS, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing