We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avery good hotel on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
milano
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Avery good hotel on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very good place, humidity can be a problem for the rooms at the lower level with a terrace on the garden.
The place is big, so you may find some package tours. But the pool by the lake has an amazing view. I recommend to wake up early to enjoy the the view of the sun rising.
Rooms are big and well equipped.
Service is standard. The restaurant in good enough, with affordable prices. Portions are small, and the service is slow.
The Spa is not luxurious but clean and the massage very professional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
bracbull
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read you enjoyed room, pool, restaurant and massage.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    639
    174
    46
    15
See reviews for
159
598
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The guest room I got is facing the lake with very nice view while my friend got car park view so ask for the lake view when booking.
Breakfast is good.
It's the best among the same price. It's extremely expensive in Yangon anyway comparing to hotels in Bangkok. With this price you can get 5-Star.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nratchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Nratchaya
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the room and breakfast. We have time to time promotional rate offered. We recommend to visit our website and enjoy best offer.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid April.In fact our visit coincided with the Thingyan festival and we got soaked like everyone else..The room was good as was the service...always friendly and welcoming.Breakfast buffet was excellent and dinner was provided by the hotel to our surprise and pleasure.The pool was large and pleasant after the Yangon heat.Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Maurjohn,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you liked room and pool, friendliness of colleagues, buffet breakfast and dinner.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here twice on biz, once in late Jan and once in early Apr. Rooms were not bad but the lock didn't work on the second stay. You could see that they fixed the door with some sort of card board. The latch was also very stiff, had to pry it apart to open the door.

Room was decent. Wifi was better during the second stay, didnt drop as often. Pillows were oddly inconsistently, some fluffy some hard. No smoking rooms here btw.

Breakfast was a good spread. Dinner at the cafe was pretty good too.

Service was pretty ok, though most staff didnt speak good english, it was enough to get the message across.

Overall, I thought is was a pretty decent hotel but was a tad on the expensive side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
oven 77
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast, dinner and service of the staff. We plan to upgrade in room facilities and provide training for colleagues to improve English language skill.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This beautiful teak hotel has had several incarations, once even being a museum, hence the dinosaur on the property. Used largely by business people and large tour groups, the independent traveller can get lost in the shuffle, especially at the copious breakfast buffet. We could not find seating in the breakfast room and didn't mind sitting outside until the ravens came and we had to swat them off. The bedroom was spacious with heavy wooden furniture, but rather damp due to the air conditioning. This dampness permeated the clothing in our suitcases which finally dried off when we went to Bagan. We did appreciate the Wi-Fi in the room and the staff was very helpful at the front desk. There are elevators located on either side of the main floor, some of which are suitable for luggage.

Located right on Kandawgyi Lake, it is convenient to take a stroll around the lake on the wooden footpaths, especially at sunset. There are views to the Shwedagon Paya from here, as well as some interesting shrines and a monstrous concrete representation of a royal barge.The admission to the park is $2.00 USD. After we came out of the park, we walked south for a block and found the delightful Garden Bistro overlooking the park where we enjoyed dinner outdoors, and the entertainment provided. It was a short walk back to the hotel along a busy street, but there was a sidewalk. The hotel has a large circular driveway that is convenient for the pick-up of tourists.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
canadakate_11
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you enjoyed location of the hotel, Wi Fi and helpfulness of front desk. We are working on to control birds and placing a dehumidifier in the rooms to solve the issue of dampness.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

In March 2013 we stayed two days in this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel. They have much pretentions: they act like they are afive star hotel but in my opinion it isn't. For instants the swimming pool: the water was milky instead of clear. I think this was because they didn't circulate the water. The pool is old and also the chairs, tables etc around the pool are. Often no fresh towels. The staff is mostly desinterested.

Our travel agency delivered flight tickets at the reception but when we wanted to pick them up, they couldnt find them any more. We had to ask four times before we got them.

The staff that did the breakfast were not attentive too. They didn't watch if weneeded coffee or tea and every time they forgot to put spoons at the cups.

The rooms and the beds are ok but again: some refurbishment could do much and also the hotel and its gardens should mainained much better.

During our stay they organised a big fashion show in the garden and they were rehursing two days long. That made a lot of noise and the only thing we could do is to leave the hotel. Complaining about it didn't have any effect.

When leaving the staff asked in a computerized way we liked our stay. We said: We're afraid not. They looked as if they couldn't believe we told them the truth and didn't make any suggestion for compensation.

So for us its clear that this is a hotel that the money is more important for than satisfied customers. For us a BIG MIN!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
prever
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
We have taken corrective actions to improve our services and facilities. However we regret to find that some of your concerns were not brought to the notice of the hotel management during your stay, as we could have immediately taken corrective action and responded to you swiftly. Our swimming pool was redesigned, extended by the end of last year and we invested on new pool beds. We do carry out daily pool water treatment to keep the water fresh, clean and clear. Perhaps, vacuuming process on the ground of pool was not completed by the time you visited. Water circulation take place 24 hours of the day and in addition vacuuming is done whole day from 08:00 in the morning to 18:00 in the evening and at late night. Fresh towels are provided by the pool bar staff. We carry out regular check and replenish them. In the event of many guest visiting the pool at the same time could result in a shortage and most towels used. However you can request for fresh once and the friendly staff in the pool bar could have got one for you.
With regards to the documents which were delivered to the FO from the travel agent usually are recorded and delivered to guest without delay. In this instance we are investigating if they were delivered and not recorded or were not delivered by the agent at the time you came over to inquire. Service staff at breakfast for not been attentive is noted and we regret for any inconvenience as we do train all staff to be polite and attentive at all times as it is our culture and tradition.
When private events take place by the pool and garden with music & entertainment, we advise the organizer to control the sound in order for our guests to have a relaxing stay. The hotel makes every effort to ensure the guest satisfaction is not at risk whilst these events take place.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your understanding and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.

Kind regards

Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful property located on a park and a lake in the middle of the city. It was previously a British officers club during the colonial times, and had another incarnation as a museum. So a very historical place, and it feels like it. The service was a bit odd though, kind of formal and unnatural, which seems to be the case with all the super-fancy places in Myanmar that caters mostly to western travelers. You get a sense that government money HAS to be involved in running a place a like that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Eleven Bus
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read you liked location of the hotel. We keep on improving our service. The hotel is owned by private company and pays tax to the government.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings and JovagoAsia so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing