We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality of rooms not consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality of rooms not consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed two nights (one at the beginning of our tour and one at the end). Service is OK and mostly friendly. We stayed the first night in a room on 1st floor and the room was definitely renovated compared to the room on 4th floor where we stayed on the last night. Also the room amenities provided were different (e.g. one had no mouth wash) and the latter had a very annoying constant beep of the fire alarm sensor (I assume). The pool is not the most cleanliest one as a lot of birds seem to enjoy the pool area from above as well (a pool side clock would also help in respect to check the time as there seemed to be no staff around). Breakfast is nice, especially their Mohinga (which alternates with Kao Shwe noodles). Location close to Shwedagon Pagoda is indeed a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Stefan H,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you like the hotel's location, breakfast and friendly service. We have taken corrective actions on areas of improvements following your review.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    639
    174
    46
    15
See reviews for
159
599
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is situated by a lake side and the view, especially in the early mornings and late evenings are excellent. It's a hotel which is at par with any upper end hotel anywhere in the world (not the Ritzes, but more like the Sheratons). The rooms are clean and comfortable, there are good options for dining in, the breakfast buffet is an extensive spread and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aharol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Aharol
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read you enjoyed the hotel location, rooms, dining options, buffet breakfast and friendliness of our colleagues. We will maintain them try to be better.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is close to everything, but almost nothing is walkable (except for the lake bridge behind the hotel). The lake view rooms are charming, the suits are very large, two T.V.s, lavish bathroom, the whole works.

The fish barbecue night is great fun! Everything from sushi to seviche and then the grilled fish. I much preferred eating outdoors along the wall facing the garden. Indoors was much too cold with glaring lights, suited for large groups but little atmosphere. One has to reserve for tables outside since there are so few for such a large hotel.

The pool is down by the lake and very cozy, but in Yangon one has so little time to just relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanAm-Eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
PanAm-Eater
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you enjoyed suite room with lake view and set-up, outdoor dining near the garden.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was really clean and well furnished. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The desserts in the restaurant are to die for! Highly recommend the Chinese restaurant. Internet access is very good throughout the hotel. The proximity to Shwedagon pagoda make it a great choice. All in all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Wanderer S
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you like the room, Chinese Restaurant, our colleagues, internet connection and location of our hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
136 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Basically a nice local hotel that would like to be a 4 star property, and it basically is! It needs improvements in some areas such as pool and also room setup.
Otherwise everything is there, good food, nice staff.
Seen what you get, 190USD per room and person is too much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Gilles R,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to know that you enjoyed food and like our colleagues. We will look into your comment to improve the pool and room set-up. Depending on rooms availability, we introduce room discount and promotion through agents and our own website. We invite you to visit the web and enjoy the promotion.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of town so you will need to get a taxi to go to the port or old town. There is a very big park near the hotel for walking in and also a long walkway over the lake, popular with early morning joggers. You can also walk to the Pagoda in about 15 minutes or so. The hotel is popular with business conventions and both times we stayed there, business conferences were going on. Because of this there were some company stands set up in the gardens near to the swimming pool and there were lots of staff preparing the outside pool restaurant eating area during the day ready for the evening’s events. The pool is ok with some nice sunbeds in the shade but there was no pool side service at all, all the staff were busy with the construction of the evening conference events. We stayed in a deluxe room with a river view and another time with a pagoda view. The room was large and the hotel quiet. The furniture is a little bit dated, one of the chairs had a broken leg and the handle of the wardrobe came off in my hand. But it is clean and the bed really very comfortable and big. The bathroom is nice with plenty of water. The hotel wake-up service was efficient. The breakfast is truly fantastic with the best coffee I have had in a hotel for a long time. Even though we had a very early flight out from the hotel once and breakfast is not supposed to start until 5am, when we went down at 4.30am the restaurant was full of other early risers eating breakfast and being supplied with hot coffee. They did not have the full range of things at that time such as the chefs cooking to order but there was still plenty of hot and cold food available which is a nice thing to have so early in the day. There is a buffet in the evening which we did not try but seemed popular enough if you want to eat a lot. The a la carte menu is good and tasty and not too overpriced for a hotel restaurant. Beer and wine by the glass also available at reasonable prices (considering it is a 4 star hotel they have not gone crazy with the mark-up price and you expect to pay a bit more). In the evening there is some live music and people sitting around in the bar area listening. An enjoyable stay in Yangon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor do not have a lift, you need to walk up a small flight of stairs to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 765Cassk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
765Cassk
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you enjoyed buffet breakfast, coffee and deluxe room. We have taken corrective actions on areas of improvements after reviewing your feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stay at Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is really like stay at my own home. The people are very nice, warm and they are eager to help me at any time, especially for me who can not read and speak Myanmar.
The food is good and Halal also ! I asked for the pork they said they do not serve the pork meat ( at least during my stay). It was really good ! I do not have to eat my Rendang that I brought from my home. he he
The room is nice although it was not new but they are well maintained.
The view of the lake from my room in the morning and afternoon was unforgettable !
Dinner at the pool side .. something that everybody had to try !
Thanks guys ! you are good !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organization Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
bugie_p
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We are happy to read that you like our colleagues and enjoyed the room with lake view and food.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organization Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings and JovagoAsia so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing