We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Yangon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really nice hotel, excellent service, nice room especially if you have lake facing and with terrasse to open, fine swimming pool, fantastic breakfast, dinner in restaurant worth a try. Lots of activity going on, weddings etc. Good livemusic in lobby.

Room Tip: Lake facinG with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmp0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organizations Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    639
    174
    46
    15
See reviews for
159
599
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel, sweet staff, even if their english leads to a number of misunderstandings.
However, all extra are overpriced, changing euros to kyat at the hotel and you lose 30% compared to the bankrate. A child bed costs an additional 55 usd.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoankimtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organizations Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Kandawgy is the first hotel my husband and I with our three children stayed at during our travels around Myanmar. Overall, we felt it was a good choice for what we paid, given that good accommodation in Myanmar is actually quite pricey.

The landscaped gardens and pool area are definitely the hotel forte - the view of the lake from the swimming pool (and your hotel room if you plan well) is very tranquil and very Burmese (there is, however, traffic noise from a nearby busy road).
Also to note, food service at the pool is painfully slow and just as painfully over priced. And your margherita pizza will be covered with capers - in case you are ordering for fussy eaters like our children.

The lobby area and restaurant are what lets Kandawgy Palace Hotel down: unwelcoming in their large open spaces, they are reminiscent of large impersonal hotels catering for tourist groups (but there seemed to be none when we were there). Having visited over the Christmas holidays, we also found the Christmas decorations kitsch and overpowering and the constant Christmas tunes over breakfast very annoying (we had, as a fact, just flown half way around the world to escape Xmas). Do have breakfast in the outside tables - it will make the experience so much more pleasant!

The corridors and rooms are inviting with their polished dark woods and, as mentioned, the view of the lake from our room was fabulous (do try and get a room at level 3 or more overlooking the lake).

Service anywhere within the hotel, as to be expected, is faultless and would deserve a full rating.

Cab rides from the hotel to the bogyoke Aung San market is 2,000 kyats (2-3$) and around $10 to the airport. Expect to be stuck in heavy traffic!

The exchange rate at the hotel is not as favourable as in banks or at the International Terminal of the Airport at Yangon (best rate throughout Myanmar, so change there as much money as you think you'll need!).

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view lake from level 3 and above. We had room 312 with two queen beds which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at Kandawgyi Palace - Yangon for a week in May 2012 and loved my week stayed in the hotel!. The room is spacious with a big window and a hugh shower and it's quite well-maintained. I love waking up hearing the sounds of the birds in the morning - which is not very easy to find back home nowadays. So, it was a peaceful experience and stay when I was in Yangon. Would come back again if I have a different opportunity to visit Yangoon, Myanmar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Chief Organizations Officer at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had an awesome stay the first couple of nights here. On the Saturday night, they hosted a huge, I mean, huge wedding that took over the entire hotel. I was alone, and there was no where for me to eat, bummer.
I had a great room,on the first floor.
After coming back with my tour group for one night, I was on the third floor, same room, but dank and dark, not as comfortable as the first 4 nights. Oh we'll, it was just for 1 nite.

Room Tip: Stay in the first floor. Much lighter and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of places in Rangoon, and this is the best by far. The room was clean and large, and the bathroom was good (not a deathtrap like many places). The restaurant was really good, the food was better than a lot of places and on par with the other hotels in this price range.

The poolside service was great, and the view from the pool is cool. The only thing I'd say, is that they were doing construction around the pool for the whole day, which was less than relaxing, but what can you do?

The guy they have singing in the lobby with his guitar is really good too, and plays a good selection of songs... a nice change from the silent lobbies of other hotels. The TV channel selection is good, and the room service is lightning fast!

If you're looking at hotels in this price range, choose this one. You won't be disappointed. The whole country still deals in cash, and people aren't used to online booking yet - so be careful not to be charged twice. This is the only thing to work on really (we were asked to pay upfront for both nights upon arrival). The hotel isn't to be blamed for this though, when we said we'd pay for one night upfront and the second later, the staff kindly allowed it.

The place has a lot of mod cons that others don't. The "make up my room" sign is digital! And when you click "do not disturb", it disables the doorbell on your room - that was really cool. The grounds are lush and beautiful, and well kept by a fleet of really polite and friendly staff. Everyone says "mingalarbar" as you walk past!

After staying in so many dodgy places in Rangoon, it was hard for me to believe this place existed, and how good it was. Stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We had really great time in this hotel. The rooms Are big And clean. The lake view is amazing. At the morning the breakfast buffet is complete. You can have fresh fruit And juice, eggs, croissant etc. I Will go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell B, Manager at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Kandawgyi Palace for your recent stay in Yangon, Myanmar. We have read your comments about the hotel and its services on the trip advisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon at Kandawgyi Palace.
Kind regards
Zaw
Zaw Myo Tun
Rooms Division Manager.
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

and
Russell Blagg
Chief Organizations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings and JovagoAsia so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing